We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value dining”
Review of Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchinleck
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value dining”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have used this place twice with Itison voucher both times we had excellent meal , we're a little inexperienced but in someways all the better for it they don't really have wine list house red white or rose but beer was cool and fresh did the job during the July heat wave will return

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    39
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited for first time as had an Itison voucher Impressed from arrival to deaprture ! Lovely grounds Beatifully decorated inside Great staff Drinks very reasonably priced Beautiful spacious restaurant Excellent speedy service Good sized portion of haggis neeps and tatties and battered chicken starters Generous portion of steak pie and roast beef and pud with all the veg and a bowl of chips as well Finished off wtih good old sticky pud and custard and a very refreshing lemon merangue cake Highly recommended will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here after buying an itison voucher. The lounge/dining room looks recently refurbished. The lounge was very comfortable & relaxing. The lighting in the dining room could have been a little better and more subtle. It seemed very bright and formal and not the ambience suited for a dinner for two. The food was plentiful and we both enjoyed it. I had the chicken wrapped in bacon, which was a little dry and chewy but the overall taste was good. My partner had the chicken fajitas which he enjoyed. Staff were friendly and attentive. Not sure I would rush back as it's a little out the way for us but happy with the deal we had through itison. The menu provided for the main courses didnt have prices on it so it would be useful for itison customers to know what to expect cost wise if planning a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went for lunch at the railway yesterday afternoon and we were not overly impressed.
Bar service was slow, and when we ordered cocktails they didn't have all of the ingredients required.
When the meal arrived, the main courses didn't look all that great with the chicken being dry and stringy. One lady in our party waited 15 minutes for her dessert, after ours had arrived.
Not once did the staff ask if everything was ok with our meal.
We were a party of 17, spending rather a lot of money, however we felt rushed as a function was taking place that evening.

The new lounge area is lovely, and the function hall is great too, however just feel a bit let down by this trip to the railway .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyrogers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Tempted by an Itison offer, we tried the hotel for a meal last night and we were very pleasantly surprised by the (largely modernised, just the dining room to be updated) décor, the food and the service. Good, safe rear car parking was a bonus
With the voucher our menu was extensive and varied, around 8 starters and 10 or so main courses, with vegetarian option, fish, chicken, beef and two or three curries. We had Lentil Soup, Prawn Cocktail, Breast of Chicken Curry and Chicken wrapped in bacon, served with cream and leek sauce. It was faultless! And even though I am a big eater, we had to leave some food because portions were generous. In particular, my prawn cocktail had sufficient prawns to make two normal portions - thank you
The normal menu is competitively priced, and extensive. Not pretentious, but clearly stated and what we saw in the dining room looked very good, so we will return for the normal menu
Finally, a word about the staff. We rarely have been served better, more politely, more efficiently or in a more friendly manner. Hazel is a gem, and very, very efficient and helpful with dietary requirements. This backed by a very competent chef - well done the Railway Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Took my dad today using an Itison voucher. We were able to park right outside entrance which was great as my dad has restricted mobility. Staff very friendly and decor was lovely. Food was delicious, my daughter had food off the regular menu which was also lovely. First visit but we will definitely return! 10/10

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brownpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Got an Itison voucher and of we went. You go into the lounge and you can have a drink, they take your order and when meal is ready then they will sit you at your table. Staff really friendly and efficient, Food was really good and would reccommed to all, lounge area is relaxing to sit after your meal is over. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchinleck
1.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
8.1 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Property: Railway Hotel
Address: 232 Main Street, Auchinleck KA18 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Auchinleck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchinleck
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Auchinleck, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing