We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Smithy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Smithy Cottage
Old Smithy Back Yard Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Old Smithy Cottage
Old Smithy Back Yard
Living Room
Kitchen Area
Dining Area
Family Bathroom
Double Room
Twin Room
Glenmidge
Walks around Glenmidge
Garden for Old Smithy
Owners House
Hamish and Margaret
Grape picking at Glenmidge
Salmon from the Nith
River Nith views to Thornhill
The Old Smithy
Glenmidge
Sunset at Kippford
Old Smithy Garden
Red Squirrels are in abundence and can be seen from the cottage window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Auldgirth, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jajM85
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ideal cosy cottage for our young family. The owners provided a cot and a high chair which was beneficial. The cottage is well equipped with everything that you need to have a relaxing time. Plenty of castles and historical places around. One of the highlights was the dino park that's about half an hour away.

The pictures do not do the cottage justice. It is spacious and bright even on a wet day.

Would love again to come soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and warmth
Liked least: Misleading picture- thought there was a garden right outside.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael r
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Tranquil, Relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 5 day stay in Scotland was supported by the stunning location and facilities provided by Margaret and Hamish. The old converted blacksmiths was more than adequate for our needs. All 4 of us slept well throughout our stay and to wake up each morning was a joy listening to the freshwater stream and the birdsong. We even caught sight of a red squirrel. The location is great to explore the south west of Scotland, we travelled up to Loch Lomond with no issues and the journey was memorable (the rolling hillside and meandering streams, so quiet and peaceful when driving off the main roads.). We cannot thank Margaret and Hamish enough for their hospitality and kindness without which our stay would not have been as enjoyable. They even loaned out family fishing equipment so we could fish in the stream. Before you leave be sure to bring back with you honey from Hamishs bees, so sweet and natural. I expect we will return here again as there are many local areas of interest we have yet to explore. Margaret and Hamish, Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the mornings
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didierg40...
roeselare
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“central and clean”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is exellent and well located once you find it :-) . Glenmidge was not nown in our GPS !! so sort it out in advance where you have to drive or contact information point dumfries, they now how to give you the right direction. Rooms are clean, kitchen full equiped. Quite place and 15 min from dumfries where you find everything from shopping, pubs,restaurants

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1847mac_1...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Welcoming and great location”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the smithy for a month owners are very welcoming and helpful would recommend to anybody who wants to walk fish hunt or just chill out great place

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael p
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It was more than we expected everything was there for us nothing was a trouble for them , the cottage was lovely and roomy and comfortable and views from the cottage was fantastic.the birds came on to the tables also the red squirrels were quite tame, every credit to Margaret and Hamish who made our stay really enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it easy access
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali_tabar...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stunning location, very cosy and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for a few nights whilst attending a friend's wedding, and we brought the in-laws to look after our little baby while we went out celebrating. Everyone had a lovely time, and we were very grateful to Hamish for his warm hospitality.

The cottage is situated in a stunning location, with great views of the countryside from every window. The place was warm and cosy, and had everything we needed. The decor is a little dated, the shower is by no means a power shower, and the wifi is a little weak at points of the house, but then again nobody comes to Scotland for added luxuries, do they? The beds were good, the kitchen facilities were everything we needed, everything was extremely clean, and it was spacious enough that nobody ever felt hemmed in at all.

There are some lovely walks to go on nearby, and Hamish's home-made honey is a real treat. We didn't get time to go on a fishing trip, but we understand there are plenty of opportunities for that kind of thing. I would thoroughly recommend staying in this cottage if you are staying in this beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hospitality
Liked least: Shower (but by no means bad!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace & quiet, wildlife
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing