We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friars Carse- R&R in abundance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were suitably impressed when we pulled up to this hotel- the building and grounds are lovely and it looked so inviting. There is limited parking in front of the hotel itself, but the big car park is so close it doesn't matter a jot! We were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff who booked us in and directed us to our room (the keys come on a MASSIVE fob!!) , which was on the top floor- we were brave and took the stairs! There is a fairly new looking lift as well, which is clean and runs smoothly.
Our room was a little underwhelming- clean and functional but in need of a bit of updating. The bathroom more so, to be honest. The tiles and bathroom suite would benefit from renewing, but everything worked well and the toiletries provided were very nice. The bedding was clean but the mattress was a bit on the firm side. However, it was comfortable enough and we were happy to stay there. Tea/Coffee facilities were provided, along with freeview T.V and free Wi-Fi.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it- a lovely 3 course meal for £24.95 is more than reasonable, Choice and service were good- the staff in particular were very efficient and friendly.
Breakfast was also lovely- we opted for the full Scottish on both mornings of our stay. Portions were very generous and the haggis was to die for! I have to say that the choice for the continental option was a little limited though we did go for breakfast towards the end of sitting times.
We also sampled the hotel bar's offerings- if you are a whisky connoisseur you won't be disappointed! Again, service was good and the lounge was pleasant to sit in. On the second night the fire was lit which was lovely.
We also ventured into Creetown (about 50 miles away) for a reminiscent trip to the Gem and Rock Museum- well worth the minimal entrance fee! and stopped for dinner in Dumfries at the India Palm restaurant. The food was amazing, but frankly, we nearly rolled back to the car, we were so full!
It's well worth having a stroll through the hotel grounds. We walked along the bank of the River Nith and thoroughly enjoyed it. The wildlife is abundant and I'm sure the ample fishing spots would be appreciated by any fishing fans.
Our stay was comfortable and very enjoyable, made more so by the excellent service- the staff really are the hotel's biggest asset. We found the facilities to be more than adequate and we would stay again in a shot!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koalabottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

Spent 2 nights at friars carse in the honeymoon suite. Couldn fault it at all, very friendly and helpfull staff, the room was amazing with a beautiful view over lookin the river! Really cant say enough great things about the place! Will definately be visitin again in the future and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I booked the hotel purely because of the DBB rate I was offered, the rate was so good it concerned me that the quality would be really poor. But we were perfectly happy with what we got. The room was large, spotlessly clean and had all that we needed. I suspect the room had been decorated recently as I caught a hint of the smell of paint.The food was reasonably good, I've had a lot better but at a much higher cost, so fair enough, no complaints there, you get what you pay for. The hotel staff were always polite and helpful, couldn't fault any of them. A bonus for us was the lovely weather we had which made walking around the lovely grounds so pleasant and relaxing, I would visit again but next time I'll have my fishing rod!.

Room Tip: My wife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We are a group of 4 couples who spent a weekend at Friars Carse. We received a friendly welcome and were served dinner the first night in a spacious room (overlooking the river) which had been set up specially for us. We had booked 3 twin rooms plus one double, and 2 of the twins were at the back of the hotel; the other 2 were on the front.
There is a grand piano (donated by Kathleen Ferrier) in the very spacious lounge/bar area and we enjoyed sitting on the leather sofas taking tea/drinks whilst one of us tinkled the ivories for a while.
We also enjoyed exploring the historical connections of the hotel to Robbie Burns and walking by the river.

Room Tip: A good base from which to explore the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We drove into the grounds of the hotel and were amazed at how beautiful the building and grounds were until we got inside.

The reception,bar,dining area and pool room are very dated and could do with some major decoration. Our room equally was dated with a very old fashioned bathroom a broken toilet seat unclean bedding a curtains.

The breakfast was barely adequate with no vegetarian option so i had to suffer cereal and very weak tea.

The staff were very helpful and cheery and an absolute asset to the hotel.

On the downside the evenin meal was something we didnt fancy on both nights so we decided to venture into the nearest down being a fifteen minute drive on the search for some food. Dumfries proved to be an eye opener clearly very deprived and lacking any sort of restaurant so we ended up in tesco to stock up on supplies.

Dont go if you have a young family. Nothing is close at hand and everything is a drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hayley032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Pros - Beautiful location, beautiful old building and friendly staff

Cons - Rooms in need of serious refurbishment - flaking paint in plaster in the rooms. Decor dated. Bathrooms desparately need modernisation. We had a double room yet bed was 2 single mattresses pushed together. These mattresses shouls have benn replaced several years ago.

The food in the restaurant is of a poor standard especially at £25 for 3 courses for dinner. Steak pie my wife had the pastry was soggy and not cooked. Roast potatoes and chunky chips with my steak were not properly cooked. The cooked breakfast was generally badly prepared.

In summary this is a beautiful location with masses of potential to be a great destination but is completely ruined by an ownership who simply seem to not care.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RFHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Had a lovely, quiet stay here on a very rainy Valentines weekend. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location on the banks of the river Ae. The hotel, overall, is slightly tired looking aesthetically, however, still was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.
Our only complaint was that the food, although well executed, was poorly conceived. For example, pork stir fry served with potatoes dauphinoise, vension served with chocolate sauce and chocolate and chilli ice cream was too heavy on the chocolate. Less would have been better.
Overall, excellent value for money and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,080 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
675 reviews
18.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range: £48 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing