We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for one nights dinner, bed and breakfast, the food was very nice and the bedroom comfortable.
The Hotel was full mainly with guests who were attending a wedding the next day however we didn't hear any noise after retiring for the night.
All the staff we dealt with were very friendly.
Lovely location.
Highly recomended.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a corridor meaning no one was passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller175England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    280
    85
    39
    24
See reviews for
83
489
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights on DBB rate this was our first time and the stay was everything we had wished for.Lovely location comfortable room and enjoyable food set in its own grounds with the river Nith at the bottom of the garden,lovely walks in the grounds, in beautiful countryside, it gave us everything we needed for a quiet and restful stay,service was good no complaints.Shall return.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for just one night with a Travelzoo Voucher. We were warmly welcomed by the staff, told about all amenities and offered help with our luggage (very unusual nowadays). The hotel was very traditional and cosy. The room was nicely furnished with all amenities and a bottle of bubbly and chocs. We had a lovely walk with our dog (allowed to stay) along the river which is at the front of the hotel. Dinner was in the dining room. A good choice on the menu and the food was delicious. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

It would be a great place for a wedding. We have already recommended it to some friends and would definitely go back.

We saw a red squirrel in the trees in front of the hotel, a big bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliB365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed with Travelzoo voucher, excellent value for money. Tha hotel was in a spectacular setting, the room had a wonderful view and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here one night on our way home from further North and were very impressed with this hotel. It is situated next to the River Nith in it's own grounds and is a perfect country house hotel with many original features.
Our room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable and although the ensuite bathroom could do with a spruce-up everywhere was generally clean and tidy. The evening meal was very well cooked with generous portions, (as was the breakfast the following morning) and the service was faultless, . All the staff were polite and very friendly, making for a relaxing night's stay.
We would not hesitate in returning to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we were given a travelzoo voucher for my birthday so stayed on the sunday night
the chocolates and wine was a nice surprise
the staff were very friendly and professional
the evening meal and the breakfast were special
my wife fell in love with the 16 guinea fowl and the setting by the river
we will definitely return

Room Tip: we had pine and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

An excellent Travelzoo value for money bargain. Chocolates and Bubbly in the freshly decorated room. with outstanding view, a very pleasant walk by the river, an excelent dinner, a sound sleep, and a hearty breakfast. Staff were all friendly and helpfull, All that a country house hotel should be. We stayed only one night on 14 March after visiting friends locally and went on to Visit Dumfries House the next day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
5.6 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Property: Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing