We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Arms Hotel(New Abbey)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
310
302
90
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
310
302
90
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriars carseguinea fowlsnooker tablebanks of the riverlounge areagroupon dealdining roomrobert burnsroaring firegrounds are lovelywedding venuerelaxing breakevening mealsalmonpublic roomsself cateringold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We couldn't have chosen a worse day to travel.There were terrible floods in East Ayrshire and
Dumfriesshire. Reaching Friars Carse, the River Nith was very high. Our room was lovely and
warm, and spotlessly clean. As usual all the staff were welcoming and friendly. A log fire was
burning, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homely. This was a three night Hogmonay break
which was excellent value. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff in this hotel are a credit
to the company, they certainly work very hard and are unfailingly polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room which overlooks the beautiful river view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went on a magical stay at this country house which appear to have a rich heritage and high quality!

The rooms are massive, and very clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff continuously cleaned and replenished the room supplies.

Check in was swift and so was the check out.
The hotel has its own "mini forest" and there is a river that runs by the hotel.

If you love to walk or take amazing photos, this is your chance! The hotel can be a base for great walks for the city executive who sits by a desk to get that well deserved exercise !!!
(we went on this holiday to relax ourselves after working long hours and it sure did the trick!)

This area is one of the few locations in Britain that has the least amount of light pollution! Which means, its pitch dark during the night! (for all you star-gazers!) and it is in easy reach of Dumfries which is a vibrant town on its own.

Food was well presented in a very nice restaurant with great views of the garden and the river!
(possibly there is slight room for improvement in terms of taste)

Would definitely recommend for couples (with dogs) and we hope to return and try out the cottage next time round!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from those that accommodates dogs (with owners) or one of the top floor rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have spent a wonderful few days with family and dog celebrating Hogmanay in true Scottish style. My husband and I had one of the cottages within the hotel grounds whilst family stayed at the hotel. The cottage was very well equipped and kept beautifully clean- good for dogs. Service at the hotel was excellent - staff are very friendly and attentive. Food is fantastic with a varied menu every night. We saw in the New Year in great style. There is a marquee within the hotel grounds so it began with us being piped into the marquee, a sumptuous buffet and then true Scottish dancing. Even the staff joined in with the ceilidh dancing - Alessandro was a natural! There was a spectacular fireworks display just after midnight. This hotel certainly knows how to host an event! We will certainly be back. The dog enjoyed herself too!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Westwestbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

was here for the weekend and left this morning(30th dec 2013)-loved this place!! beautiful grounds, lovely staff ( especially Charlie, and Claire) nice rooms and lovely food-brilliant value for the money!!!!!! will be back when the weather gets a bit better!!! LOVED IT ALL!!!! Janice and James Howe :)

Room Tip: get a room with a view-stunning views!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I haven't seen other reviews for the self catering cottages at Friars Carse so thought I ought to write one. This was the Second year that I have stayed at the 1 bedroom self catering cottage and perhaps by coincidence, the second year that I they tried to bill me at some extortionate rate of £100 per night for 7 nights rather than the weekly tariff.

Be aware that if you take a dog they will also charge you £10 per night per dog ie £70 for 1 dog for 1 week. This has to be the most expensive rates for self catering cottages I have ever seen - the norm is £10 - £20 per week. This isn't shown on the web site for the self catering cottages at the time of writing but is for hotel.

It is a pleasant little cottage with a small fenced in garden and some grass. Take some wellies and a torch if you want to venture out of the cottage at night and over to the hotel as it is muddy and dark - it is a country hotel!

Unfortunately like the hotel things are getting tired in the cottage. The sofa and arm chair have seen better days and getting a little saggy. The evenings entertainment was usually trying to work out the cooker which has lost all of the lettering from the dials and is a bit of guess work. You will get the hang of it after 4 or 5 days and after some very charred or very slow cooked meals!

The shower in the corner of the bedroom was, I'm pretty certain, fed by one of the streams from the nearby hills because it isn't much more than a dribble but if you ran around you could get wet. Also don't be tempted to flush the toilet or run the water in the attached bathroom as the water pipes rattle and vibrate for a good few minutes after the event.

This year they have installed coin meters for the electric in the cottage and so you will need a supply of £1 or £2 coins to feed it - this is mentioned on the web site. This will make you more aware of turning the heating down and turning lights off which I expect in true Scottish style is the reason they have installed them. We reckon we used around £18-20 for 7 days.

We never used the restaurant this year due to the mixed reviews from the rest of our group who were staying in the hotel but the prices seem very high for an average menu. Also be sure to check the prices for drinks because again the hotel seem to be taking advantage of a captive clientele.

Overall it is a pleasant little cottage and hotel in nice surroundings but really does want tidying up and bringing up to date. It's a shame that with the unexpected charges for dogs and the additional electric the weekly rate is considerably higher than you expect to pay. I tried discussing the charges for dogs with the manager but he seemed to think they were not unreasonable. For this reason I will not be using the hotel or cottages again - with or without dogs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews