We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Groupon deal”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went on the Groupon deal. Hotel in a lovely setting. Staff slightly aloof, customer care lacking somewhat. We were promised a room overlooking the river, got a room looking at a stone wall. Room was spacious and clean but dated and definitely not luxurious, bed was rock hard. Food was not bad, but menu a little dated with vol au vents and brandy snaps. Hotel has all the potential to be 5 star but needs money spending on it. I was not given the bill to check and on asking for it found I had been overcharged. No apology given and no 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. Would not go back as disappointed in the room and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestreviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    280
    82
    39
    24
See reviews for
82
485
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I arranged to stay for a surprise treat for my boyfriends birthday. I arranged for him to learn how to fly fish whilst there which he thoroughly enjoyed. We got an amazing deal through KGB deals. The staff were lovely, really helpful and welcoming. The room was great with stunning views. We also took our dog along who seemed to enjoy it just as much as us. We had walks around the grounds and the surrounding areas. There's so much to see and do whilst there. The food was beautiful and the service the best we've ever received. Overall one of the best breaks away we have ever had. I cannot recommend it enough. We hope to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooba_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at this lovely old hotel this week - what a find. Many parts of the hotel look as if it has not changed for many years but that provides its charm. Comfortable Chesterfields in the hall/lounge with an open fire. Great for relaxing after a hard day. Small selection of malts available at the bar - although a bit pricey. Breakfast was first class and the staff we met were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately it poured and was blowing a gale the entire time we were there and the windows rattled a bit and we did not get the chance to enjoy the grounds. Would love to go back in good weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ewenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I can't understand some of the negative comments this hotel gets. We visited here for a couple of days away from work and had a great time. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable, food was great and reasonably priced, staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the lounge area with the log fire. If you go make a point of enjoying a nice drink from the bar in front of the fire. A nice way to wind down. There are enough grounds to walk round after dinner. All in a very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 40forty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a bit of a belated review, but better late than never!
My husband and I were married at Friar's Carse in September. We were married in the hall and reception in the marquee. We had a fantastic day, we definitely chose the right place.

Nick and Christine helped arrange the day, and the were very accomodating.
All the staff (from chambermaids to bar staff) were extremely helpful on the day, especially Xavier. Unfortunately I don't know the other staff members' names ... but if you were working on 14th September, THANK YOU!!


The food was lovely and the chef did his best to make a Bosnian dish that we liked.We worked with the hotel to make a package that suited us.

We hope to be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: If you can get the honeymoon suite, it's worth it! They have recently put in a huuuuge bath, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeredjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrived at Friars Carse Country House looking forward to a family wedding. Where did it go wrong - on check in. Had booked a room weeks ago, so thought it would take a couple of mins max - not half an hour. Name wasn't on the list, had to check computer, gave my booking reference and oh dear, they had given my room key to someone else, took far too long to resolve.
Wedding service got off without a hitch, then we had to move from one room, into another via a doorway to collect a "bucks fizz". well it definitely had orange in it, something to gave it a bit of fizz, but as it had been poured over two hours earlier (it was sitting on the entrance table when we arrive, it was covered over). Then we had to hang around for about 3 hours before the main meal was served, word kept coming through and then time kept moving.
The marquee was very cold and I sat and shivered my way through the meal, if it had been a bitterly cold day with temperatures around freezing point, it would have been unbearable.
The meal was acceptable, however putting barley in vegetable soup does not create Scotch broth, the main course was good but a bit if butter over the potatoes and veg would have been better. the raspberries missed the cranachan and RAW oats is not what makes cranachan, the clootie dumpling had never seen a "cloot", and the tablet to go with the tea and coffee was chocolate covered mints - for the price that the wedding organiser were paying, definitely not worth it.
My room was large and well decorated, even if a bit cold.
Breakfast took half an hour to come, ordered my cooked breakfast and then was told that the kitchen had made a mistake and it was coming.
The hotel needs to look at what package that they are selling because what was being sold on the website certainly was not delivered.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank May P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We couldn't have chosen a worse day to travel.There were terrible floods in East Ayrshire and
Dumfriesshire. Reaching Friars Carse, the River Nith was very high. Our room was lovely and
warm, and spotlessly clean. As usual all the staff were welcoming and friendly. A log fire was
burning, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homely. This was a three night Hogmonay break
which was excellent value. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff in this hotel are a credit
to the company, they certainly work very hard and are unfailingly polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room which overlooks the beautiful river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
5.6 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
7.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Property: Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing