We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of The laird's life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A taste of The laird's life”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel has such a lovely lounge! Everyone wanted to sit near the wonderful open fire. The welcome smell of wood burning greeted you on entering and it was all very relaxing. Food in the restaurant was scrummy. Couldn't fault it at all. Great views over the fields and down to the river from the restaurant too. Having enthused about that I'm sorry to say I can't be as complimentary about the bedroom. We stayed in larch (all rooms are named by trees). Definitely avoid that if you can as the window overlooked the back entrance where deliveries are made.. Some of the rooms must have the same view as the restaurant or overlook the river to the front. However, we only paid Groupon price, so were happy with the deal. The room did have what seemed to be a recently refurbished shower room (disappointingly no bath), which was spotlessly clean. I thought the mattress was going to be uncomfortable as you could feel the springs as you ran your hand over the bed, but we slept really well - and I often have difficulty sleeping. Take your own hair dryer though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the restaurant or overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    280
    82
    39
    24
See reviews for
82
485
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is in a lovely setting with nice walks along the river, our dog liked it. It was good to be able to take her and probably worth the extra money ,£10 per night.Our rooms were nice but small and the shower was very weak.The actual shower room was great for my elderly mum.The lift is good too.The big lounge area is a bit dark and the furniture aging but it was comfortable enough. The service was very good, really pleasant and helpful staff all round. Breakfast was good, fresh and well cooked but dinner was disappointing , it started well but main courses were poorer and really not worth the money so we ate out the second night at the terrific Buccleaugh Arms in Thorrnhill . Overall a nice stay but not top notch

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opinion1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have visited Friars Carse three times, one about a year ago the second visit we spent Christmas with them and the recent one was with our good friends and it gets better every time.The staff are so friendly and would do almost anything to make your stay memorable, NICK the duty manager is amazing nothing is too much for him, he is there when you want him and not a one to hover when you are relaxing in front of the log fire ( you can put another log on when you choose ), the rest of his staff are polite and hard working and again very friendly to all the guests. I have thought hard to find something to say negative but sorry nothing comes to mind so try for yourselves and see if it lives up to your kind of relaxing holiday. ( we booked for next Christmas too.) trust me the food is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the ones at the rear have great views over fields, the front ones have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIG-TREV-DERBYSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ok so the living room & fire place is nice. But we got one of the cheaper rooms via booking.com and this was unacceptable. Shower hardly gave any water, window sills full of mold, smelled of cigarettes. Worst part was that we aksed for a refund and said they couldnt do anything for us because "booking.com has the money". Which obviously isnt true because they only have a percentage of the money. Very customer unfriendly, dont advice going there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in febuary and we found it again a lovely comfortable stay.T he food was fine and enjoyable the grounds and location are superb.This is our 3rd stay and we shall be returning.A lovely stay relaxing and cosy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went on the Groupon deal. Hotel in a lovely setting. Staff slightly aloof, customer care lacking somewhat. We were promised a room overlooking the river, got a room looking at a stone wall. Room was spacious and clean but dated and definitely not luxurious, bed was rock hard. Food was not bad, but menu a little dated with vol au vents and brandy snaps. Hotel has all the potential to be 5 star but needs money spending on it. I was not given the bill to check and on asking for it found I had been overcharged. No apology given and no 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. Would not go back as disappointed in the room and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestreviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I arranged to stay for a surprise treat for my boyfriends birthday. I arranged for him to learn how to fly fish whilst there which he thoroughly enjoyed. We got an amazing deal through KGB deals. The staff were lovely, really helpful and welcoming. The room was great with stunning views. We also took our dog along who seemed to enjoy it just as much as us. We had walks around the grounds and the surrounding areas. There's so much to see and do whilst there. The food was beautiful and the service the best we've ever received. Overall one of the best breaks away we have ever had. I cannot recommend it enough. We hope to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooba_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
5.6 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
7.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Property: Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing