We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fabulous hotel in the most wonderful surroundings.
Food was great & staff were wonderful.
Take your walking boots, the countryside aroung the hotel is perfect for a bit of rambling!
Will return soon I hope.

Room Tip: We were in Pine, it has beautiful views. Toilet a little noisy when flushed didnt bother us, just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborahjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I (together with our dog) recently spent 3 nights at Friars Carse, after having previously experienced the other Hotels run by Classic Hotels i.e Waterhead (Coniston) and Dumbleton Hall (Evesham). We had no complaints whatever. The hotel is in a beautiful location with its own salmon river running through the estate. Room was spotless and they had even taken the trouble of putting a new dog bed, water bowl and treats in the room for our dog. Naturally, we couldn't take our dog into the dining room (we wouldn't have expected to do so anyway). When we had our evening dinner, a table was laid for us in a room they use for smaller wedding functions. The table was in front of a bay window which had lovely views of the river, and we were treated to a lovely candlelit dinner - with the dog lying at our feet. We also had the option of having our dinner in the bar lounge. Also, the staff at all levels are polite and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel, as we do the other two hotels.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, overlooking the river. Gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillymint_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A three night Groupon deal brought us to this hotel and we admit to wondering if we had done the right thing, but it was a very good deal. However, we need not have worried. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful. Our room was delightful with a glorious view of the gardens running down to the river. The bathroom was huge and very modern and the double size jacuzzi bath an added bonus. The dining room was very pleasant, again with views of the grounds and the food was excellent. The menu changed every night so over our three nights there was plenty of choice. Breakfast was equally good. If we were in the area again we would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hilaryandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was given a gift of hotel stay with 3 course meal and breakfast and chose Friars Carse Hotel as we were spending the weekend viewing all the artwork through the spring fling at Dumfries and Galloway. The location of the hotel is superb and should you enjoy fishing I am sure it would be wonderful. The grounds were lovely for walking. The exterior of the hotel would benefit from some huge tubs of flowers or ornamental sculptures. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and the food and restaurant service was excellent. The public areas were very traditional and well appointed. The bedroom however and the second floor areas were in a very sorry state with damp coming in through the hall ceiling and the whole feel was of neglect. The bedroom was clean but tired and needed updating while the ensuite had a damp smell. Great place just needed a lot of money invested to make it exceptional

Room Tip: the room Holly looks out over the lake and is quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistjul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were gifted a two night Groupon deal at this hotel. The room was adequate in size although very dark and could have done with some pictures on the walls. Sadly the plumbing was very noisy- on occasions it was like a drill being used on the wall behind the bed! The building is beautiful but would benefit from some TLC in places. Staff were extremely helpful if somewhat busy. The setting is exceptional on the banks of the Nith with wonderful walks.

Room Tip: Noisy plumbing on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was treated to Mother's Day lunch at Friar's Carse with my family and would say that it is exactly the sort of hotel we all love and would like to live in full time! It is such a beautiful building and we would have liked to explore further. It's quite local to us, so we're not likely to stay overnight which seems a pity! Lunch was delicious, the price was extremely reasonable and the service was top-notch with very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them - even when my daughter dropped some sweets all over the floor! Would highly recommend this hotel for meals and for the surroundings - their own loch, beautiful gardens, ducks waddling about in the gardens - it was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I were enticed to book this hotel through Groupon so we were not sure what to expect. It is a lovely building with the "Country House" atmosphere without the usual "Country House" price tag. The setting is excellent, just down by the river with lovely walks and not far from the Heritage where Burns wrote some of his poetry. We upgraded to the "Willow" room which was spacious and had lovely views from the two windows. The staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Wifi is free and the food was good while not exceptional but very good for the price.
We were impressed and would have no hesitation in booking again.

Room Tip: The "Willow" room is spacious and excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,103 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
5.6 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
13 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range: £49 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing