We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Friars Carse for 2 nights from the 7 th July. This is a lovely hotel.The surroundings and grounds are magnificent. We ate the first night in the bar from the lounge menu. The food was of a high standard. The hotel manager Xavier and all the staff were very friendly and took the time to chat and enquire about your stay showing a genuine interest. Dumfries and Galloway is a great place to explore and we were lucky the weather was sunny. I would highly recommend this hotel. In addition the hotel was full on both nights we stayed which is always a good sign. We look forward to visiting again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat1ricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Visited as a small group to have afternoon tea, which we prebooked. On arriving early we had a few drinks in the lounge but the tables were still sticky from night before . Moving into front room for tea we were met by two round tables stuck together with paper napkins and chipped crockery. Across on another table were a few flat plates with a selection of sandwiches (meat and veg mixed together!), nachos!, big slabs of carrot cake and rocky road. The only other thing on offer was a plate of microwave defrosted scones sprinkled with icing sugar!!! There was absolutely no atmosphere or service. This was not the birthday treat we had anticipated with china cups, delicate delights and friendly service . When it became obvious this was it, we did express our disappointment and requested a quiet word with the manager. Unfortunately he didn't arrive and left the job of apologising to the compassionate receptionist who told us we didn't have to pay. Despite the apology and not paying for this experience we certainly will never be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was large enough for myself, my wife and our two Labradors, the bed was small but comfy. Food was really nice. There was a lovely part of the stream for our dogs to swim in to the right of the rear hotel entrance. Beware if you are prone to insect bites, although no fault in any way of the hotel the Scottish midgees are ferocious, I was eaten alive even though others in my presence were reasonably untouched.

Room Tip: Doggy travelers are better suited to lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

fantastic setting lovely walks along the river nice lawned area at front could do with more seating not enough garden chairs inside great setting again with furniture that gives it that country house look. we were there on a three night groupon deal and booked an extra night. b edroom good could do with a bit of refurbishment but beds comfy and wonderful view from the window.

we had one evening meal with deal and the meal was excellent, but next time we ate in i felt it was poor value for money scotch broth, steak and ale pie and cheese cake £25 could have had better in a local pub so we did not eat there again. breakfasts were very good and very pleasant staff

the dumfries area has a lot to offer and we have been up a number of times over the past three years, may is about the best time for rhodendrons.

would possibly consider staying again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Although our dietary needs were forwarded in advance of our stay, there was only one choice on the menu. We were told the hotel would make anything for us for our evening meal but when we suggested what we would like we were asked to buy the food and they would cook it for us. We were then charged the full price for the evening meal

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

let me first say I read all the reports posted on this web site!
This is a country retreat in a fabulous location.on arrival we were greeted by friendly staff The room we were allocated was the Hawthorne with views overlooking the lawn and river The decor was as befitting a property of this design and age.This is a period property The room was excellent and the water was piping hot.The public rooms some have described as tired and in need of replacement I would describe it as In keeping with the nature of the property style and age The evening meal was excellent food ranging from Pigeon breast ,Smoked Salmon ,and more traditional Roast Beef and an excellent range of deserts.a compliment to the Chef.Breakfast had excellent choice and the full Scottish breakfast would set you up for the day. The only disappointment was the fishing caught nothing not the Hotels managements fault someone a bit higher up the weather was excellent and on the last day saw the red squirrels Will return as soon as the river rises Give this hotel a go you will not be dissapointed

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayedat the hotel 6 years ago for one night, and were sadly very disapointed with the room we were given then. When we saw a deal come up we decided to give it another try, as the location was so perfect and we just hoped it wouldn't be a repeat of last time - thankfully it wasn't!!

The room we had this time (Oak) was beautiful, and what we expected the first time. It was a great size, with huge windows overlooking the fields to the back of the hotel. The two couches were very comfy, and great for watching the world cup!!

The bad points only two small bad points were the matress was very old and had no padding on top of the springs. It was fine as long as you were on top of the duvet, but by the morning I woke up very sore. The shower was shockingly bad - went from ok to scalding hot, to freezing to scalding hot constantly which was very dangerous. It also majorly lacked any power, and I think it's really time the hotel was upgraded to electric showers before someone is badly burned.

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel badly needs money spent on it, but other than the two small things above we really couldn't find fault. The staff were very welcoming, the rooms spottlessly clean and the food in the resturant was one of the best meals we have had in a hotel!!! We would definetly return to the hotel as it was the most relaxing break away we've had.

Room Tip: The Oak room was fantastic (if you took a blanket (the one provided is made of camel hair I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
681 reviews
5.6 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth
Friars Carse Country House Hotel Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing