We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway.”
Review of McMurdoston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auldgirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McMurdoston House
Ranked #1 of 3 Auldgirth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I found McMurdoston House the perfect place for a little getaway. I stayed for four nights and I was welcomed and taken care of the moment I arrived. Sarah and Steve offer you amazing hospitality and not only that, their knowledge of the surrounding areas if you want to go and explore is second to none. Warm and comfortable (If you stay in the "Curlew" room, be prepared for a nice long sleep), everything you need is provided and more, great places to go out on your own adventures and peaceful when you return. Everything you'd want for a break away.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Curlew", I haven't slept as deep in a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_B_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our Daughter found this B&B and we stayed for just 3 days, we wish it had been longer, everything about B&B is really excellent, the breakfast really fills you up and the rooms are nice and cosy, the views are spectacular and the wildlife is superb. if you want a bit of peace and a stress free holiday this is the place to come, the owners well i cannot praise them enough, they really go out of their way to provide everything you will ever need. we will be coming back if we can get in that is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have just stayed at this B & B and had a wonderful time. The house is very spacious but has only the two guest rooms so was great for us as we wanted peace, quiet and privacy - and we were able to treat the place like home, and it has a sitting room for guests to use so that was a huge plus. The area was lovely, really quiet and yet only ten minutes from town. The rooms are of really high quality, comfy beds and all of your needs are catered for! Fantastic bathroom across the hall for our sole use - I really didn't want to leave.
This place has character, charm, and the added bonus of the barns which are going to be converted to self catering holiday lets - we will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fab - one double and one twin, so will depend on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent five nights at McMurdoston House, which is in a beautiful valley with wonderful views, away from it all but in easy reach of Dumfries and Thornhill, both of which have excellent restaurants. The service from Sarah and Steve could not have been better, both went out of their way to make us comfortable, the rooms are excellent. There are excellent walks in the area as well as bike routes and the house is only a few miles from the beautiful north shore of the Solway Firth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyB734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just been back to this bed and breakfast for the second time and could not have been more pleased. This is just what we want from a b & b. The house is huge but cosy and offers two rooms so it has a homely feel. Guests have access to their own sitting room so can spend a comfy night in - good for us as our little boy goes to sleep early. Lovely bedrooms and a really gorgeous large bathroom.
The owners have just the right balance of being approachable and friendly, without being overbearing, and nothing was too much trouble.
The garden is lovely and surrounded by farmland, great views and loads of wildlife - even saw a red squirrel!
Lots to do around Dumfries which is only about ten minutes away.
Will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were so lucky to find McMurdoston as a stop off for a trip further North; but unlucky to have only booked one night there. Sarah and Steve are so friendly, a cafetiere of coffee and fresh sponge cake and biscuits on arrival, and then booking a table at the local pub for us. There is a lovely relaxing lounge, beautiful bedrooms, and although not en-suite, the bathroom next door was just immense and robes were provided if needed. The view from the gardens is outstanding, if you don't mind the cats butting you for a bit of a fuss whilst you are sitting on the bench in the sun. Steve mentioned hoping to get the barn converted for self-catering, and if so, we will definitely we looking to stay for a while longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The enthusiasm of the owners and their genuinely warm welcome made this an unforgettable stay. We were sad that we could only stay one night in this beautiful and tastefully decorated house. We can recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RagnaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
1.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
5.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,075 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMurdoston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMurdoston House

Address: McMurdoston House Coldside Road, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auldgirth
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming ex-farm-house dating from 1540, situated peacefully but conveniently 15 minutes north of Dumfries.One double and one twin bedroom, both with private facilities.Guests have exclusive use of a cosy sitting room. Full Scottish breakfasts served in the light-flooded hall with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and well-frequented bird-feeder. Two new holiday cottages are across the court-yard, each sleeping up to four and offering glorious views from the patio area. Walks and cycling from the door and comfortable beds to relax and recover in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McMurdoston House Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing