We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”
Review of McMurdoston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auldgirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McMurdoston House
Ranked #1 of 3 Auldgirth B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We arrived after long day on the road to find this beautiful house nestled in the hillside, overlooking a peaceful valley with its very own rainbow! The bedroom was spacious, bed very comfortable, huge bathroom and decor throughout the property tasteful and calming, a proper country house retreat. Spotlessly clean throughout. The breakfast was excellent with locally sourced produce (even home made apple and pear jam) and very nice haggis included! The owners, Sarah and Steve were fantastic company and we really appreciated the personal passion that they invest in making this an amazing place to stay. We will definitely be returning and honestly can not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Delightful views all around the property as it is beautifully secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Not at all surprised when signing in to Tripadvisor to see that McMurdoston House only had excellent reviews. In our opinion this is the B&B by which all others should be measured. It's a perfect antidote to the anonymity of chain hotels and knocked spots off some of the average if adequate B&Bs experienced on a quick trip to the highlands.
The house itself is characterful and set in lovely countryside and within a short drive of Auldgirth where there is a friendly pub in which to eat. The rooms are very well decorated and all the usual facilities provided in spades. there is also a very
Breakfast was excellent but what made it for us was the wonderful welcome provided by Sarah and Steve. We were made very welcome and immediately felt comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. They've only recently started providing accommodation are are also in the process of converting a barn into two holiday apartments. We will definitely return at some point and in the meantime we have no hesitation whatsoever in providing the highest recommendation

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I found McMurdoston House the perfect place for a little getaway. I stayed for four nights and I was welcomed and taken care of the moment I arrived. Sarah and Steve offer you amazing hospitality and not only that, their knowledge of the surrounding areas if you want to go and explore is second to none. Warm and comfortable (If you stay in the "Curlew" room, be prepared for a nice long sleep), everything you need is provided and more, great places to go out on your own adventures and peaceful when you return. Everything you'd want for a break away.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Curlew", I haven't slept as deep in a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_B_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our Daughter found this B&B and we stayed for just 3 days, we wish it had been longer, everything about B&B is really excellent, the breakfast really fills you up and the rooms are nice and cosy, the views are spectacular and the wildlife is superb. if you want a bit of peace and a stress free holiday this is the place to come, the owners well i cannot praise them enough, they really go out of their way to provide everything you will ever need. we will be coming back if we can get in that is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have just stayed at this B & B and had a wonderful time. The house is very spacious but has only the two guest rooms so was great for us as we wanted peace, quiet and privacy - and we were able to treat the place like home, and it has a sitting room for guests to use so that was a huge plus. The area was lovely, really quiet and yet only ten minutes from town. The rooms are of really high quality, comfy beds and all of your needs are catered for! Fantastic bathroom across the hall for our sole use - I really didn't want to leave.
This place has character, charm, and the added bonus of the barns which are going to be converted to self catering holiday lets - we will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fab - one double and one twin, so will depend on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent five nights at McMurdoston House, which is in a beautiful valley with wonderful views, away from it all but in easy reach of Dumfries and Thornhill, both of which have excellent restaurants. The service from Sarah and Steve could not have been better, both went out of their way to make us comfortable, the rooms are excellent. There are excellent walks in the area as well as bike routes and the house is only a few miles from the beautiful north shore of the Solway Firth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyB734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just been back to this bed and breakfast for the second time and could not have been more pleased. This is just what we want from a b & b. The house is huge but cosy and offers two rooms so it has a homely feel. Guests have access to their own sitting room so can spend a comfy night in - good for us as our little boy goes to sleep early. Lovely bedrooms and a really gorgeous large bathroom.
The owners have just the right balance of being approachable and friendly, without being overbearing, and nothing was too much trouble.
The garden is lovely and surrounded by farmland, great views and loads of wildlife - even saw a red squirrel!
Lots to do around Dumfries which is only about ten minutes away.
Will be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
1.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
5.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
6.7 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 48 in Dumfries
144 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 48 in Dumfries
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMurdoston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMurdoston House

Property: McMurdoston House
Address: McMurdoston House Coldside Road, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming ex-farm-house dating from 1540, situated peacefully but conveniently 15 minutes north of Dumfries.One double and one twin bedroom, both with private facilities.Guests have exclusive use of a cosy sitting room. Full Scottish breakfasts served in the light-flooded hall with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and well-frequented bird-feeder. Two new holiday cottages are across the court-yard, each sleeping up to four and offering glorious views from the patio area. Walks and cycling from the door and comfortable beds to relax and recover in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McMurdoston House Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing