We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't visit, you will miss out on this gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McMurdoston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auldgirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McMurdoston House
Ranked #1 of 3 Auldgirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you don't visit, you will miss out on this gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

McMurdoston house is beautiful, outside and in. It boasts spacious rooms, with character dating back to the 1500's, yet has a warm, homely and contemporary feel. The holiday cottages were having their finishing touches when I visited, I was allowed a sneak peak. Wow. Designed to high spec, every detail considered carefully, even down to the cushions on the window seats, and the ever so useful dishwashers. The decking with the view of the mountains and forest was a selling point for me. I will be booking my return for summertime. Steve & Sarah are perfect hosts - boundless knowledge of the area, genuine enthusiasm for their amazing house and much dedication and hard work into creating such a beautiful place. They should be proud. Sarah is an amazing cook. You will not be disappointed. And for those of you who are fussy, don't fret - you will be accommodated for. I stayed in the en suite room on the third floor. Gorgeous view. Spotlessly clean. Tea, coffee, biscuits, hot choc. And, the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The walks around the area are endless. The views spectacular. And only a 15 min drive from Dumfries station. It really is a small bit of Scottish heaven. Thank you steve and Sarah.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We came to McMurdoston after spending a few nights in Edinburgh and Glasgow, looking for a taste of the Scottish countryside. We were the priviledged first guests in the beautiful Swallow Cottage which was comfortable and private- you can tell that a lot of thought has gone into making the cottage feel warm and homely. We had the best nights sleep, a lovely snug bed and it's wonderfully quiet. Sarah and Steve were brilliant hosts, not only welcoming us with freshly made scones but also giving us tips on the best walks in the area.

One thing we didn't expect was just how much wildlife we would see on our walks - wild deer, herons, red kites, dog-sized hares(!) and even a red squirrel that we spotted from the kitchen table at breakfast! Aside from the wildlife, these walks also offer impressive views of the surrounding landscape. Overall it was the perfect end to our first Scottish getaway.

Thank you Sarah and Steve!

Room Tip: We loved Swallow cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We used McMurdoston house as a stopover point both to and from Mull. We mostly selected it because of good reviews and the fact that it's almost exactly halfway between our place and Mull. It turned out to be a fantastic find – Sarah and Steve are very friendly and excellent hosts. Sarah's tasty homemade scones on arrival were delicious.

We had the only room which doesn't have an en suite but instead has sole use of a bathroom next door. Don't let the lack of an en suite put you off - it's the biggest and best bathroom I've seen in a B&B for a long time! The bedroom itself was very comfy indeed and well decorated - no complaints at all there!

In fact, the whole place is has been really well renovated. Work was still in progress for the nearby self catering apartments, but there was no disturbance or noise from there and they look like they'll shape up to be pretty nice places too.

Needless to say, the breakfasts are really tasty with a lively fruit salad and fried breakfast - and if you're a veggie like me then you should certainly take Sarah up on the offer of her vegetarian haggis. For evening meals we tried the local pub which did fairly typical pub grub - nothing fancy but perfectly decent. On the way home, we tried the "The Buccleuch and Queensberry Arms Hotel" in Thornhill and were decidedly unimpressed - it sets itself out as being very upmarket but frankly the food's just a bit bland and boring, I'd recommend experimenting with somewhere in nearby Dumfries instead or maybe the Thornhill Arms.

Seriously, one of the best B&B's we've been to - very happy indeed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were driving in from Edinburgh and were surprised to find ourselves on a one-lane road surrounded by farms. The location is breathtaking - this area of Scotland seems to be an undiscovered gem for tourists! We stayed in the double room which was clean, large and had a great view. The bathroom was huge! It had a shower and a full bath tub.Sarah and Steve were fantastic hosts, they were extremely friendly and we were sad that we couldn't stay another day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a journey of over 230miles all but about the last 30 in heavy rain we were very pleased with the beautiful sight of McMurdoston House sitting in the hillside,the pleasure was even greater on meeting Steve & Sarah who were friends in minutes.I went with my granddaughter and stayed in the twin room.The room and the bathroom was large and well maintained the guests lounge was equally good there was an excalent choice of tea, coffee etc in each of the rooms.There was a choice of breakfasts we both had full scottish anh both enjoyed our first haggis.Sarah & Steve are perfect hosts even helping find places to go and even baked us a cake. There was a red squirrel on the feeder every day [the first i have seen in the wild] swifts ,swallows and house martins also nest there.In over 30years of B&Bholidays this was the best B&B.Health permitting i will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stunning B&B. The house is a farmhouse (though not a working farm), and the surrounding buildings are associated farm buildings, some of which are being renovated to provide self catering holiday accommodation (though there was no noise or disturbance from this). The rooms were excellent, the bathroom was huge, and the welcome from the hosts was lovely. The property is in a lovely quiet location, and the parking is very much away from any adjoining properties and away from the road, great if you are travelling on holiday with a laden car.
We arrived late, and the hosts were very accommodating, and still offered and provided tea and home made cake on arrival in our private sitting room. We took both rooms, and so the sitting room was private to us.
Breakfast was the finest I have eaten at any B&B, and better than almost any hotel I could mention.
The wildlife that can be spotted from the B&B was incredible: there are swifts, swallows and house martins nesting outside, we watched red squirrels and tree sparrows during breakfast, and we understand there are deer that can be seen from the B&B and nearby, and two colonies of bats which live in the adjoining buildings including a large number of brown long eared bats (they were no trouble, and we didnt see them, though if we were earlier, we would have loved to see if we could spot any emerging).
We were just there for the day, but I am tempted to return just for the fishing, as the burn that runs through their property is good for trout, and salmon when they are running.
This house is lovely, and the location is great for those like us who wanted to stop off before heading up for the ferry to Arran at Ardrossan, and also is convenient for those heading across Scotland from Stranraer. I would not hesitate to return, and would be very happy to stay here for a few days next time, and to explore the surrounding area. The couple who run the B&B are lovely.
The attention to detail was amazing, at every turn details presented themselves at the moment of need. The beds were sumptuous!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sqwawking_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Owner at McMurdoston House, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Your wonderful review is much appreciated - as are all the photos. Thank you. Just to point out, however, that the River Nith (which contains both trout and salmon) is a 5 minute drive away from McMurdoston - a good friend caught a 23 pound salmon there last week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A long trip in the rain to find a lovely B&B and the rain even stop. The house was beautiful and the decor inside is fantastic, it makes you feel nice and calm. I went with my granddad and we stayed in the Curlew the twin room. The room was a good size and plenty for two people, the tea tray had a lot to chose from. The bathroom was huge and beautiful maintain, couldn't ask for better. Breakfast was lovely especial for someone as picky as me, never try haggis before but was lovely. Sarah and Steve are the best B&B owner I know, we arrived as strangers and were friends in minutes even help us find places to visited. We even got three steps away from a red squirrel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
1.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
7.3 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rivendell B&B
Rivendell B&B
#8 of 51 in Dumfries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#15 of 51 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMurdoston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMurdoston House

Property: McMurdoston House
Address: McMurdoston House Coldside Road, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming ex-farm-house dating from 1540, situated peacefully but conveniently 15 minutes north of Dumfries.One double and one twin bedroom, both with private facilities.Guests have exclusive use of a cosy sitting room. Full Scottish breakfasts served in the light-flooded hall with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and well-frequented bird-feeder. Two new holiday cottages are across the court-yard, each sleeping up to four and offering glorious views from the patio area. Walks and cycling from the door and comfortable beds to relax and recover in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McMurdoston House Auldgirth, Dumfries And Galloway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing