We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Highland Way Sleeper
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I wouldn't recomed it to my worst anemy. The owner was very rude and anoying. He charged me more on my credit card without informing me and when asked about the only explanation I got was that the price went up. General conditions were horible. Dust and dirt everywhere! If you can I will advise you to avoid this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mariusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

My sister-in-law and I are in our 60's, and we were the only people to stay here besides a 30 yr old man 2 weeks ago. We were so disappointed because we had been looking forward to this unique place to stay. 5 years ago we did the Camino and we had free accommodation better than this! We were stuck in the same tiny room where there was nowhere to sit at all even to put on your boots. I was awake all night but couldn't sit up to read because of the height of the bed. The room stank of sewage (Interestingly, it was the only place on the whole WHW where you couldn't drink the water) and the only heat was from a little 2 speed heater. Construction on the rail line 50 feet from the door with heavy equipment from 10:30 PM to 3 AM kept us awake. Breakfast was a croissant... yes...a croissant... to begin our 14 mile hike. The owner was very drunk by the end of the night, and he went on and on about all the CEO positions he'd held (including P&O!) and how he did this for fun - didn't need the money, etc. Fortunately, our roommate was good fun and we all played Scrabble in the evening.

Oh yes... lucky us - we were actually forced to spend a second night because we couldn't get into Kings House that night and all other accommodation in Bridge of Orchy was booked! It was the only place during our entire time in Scotland that took both nights' full cost instead of a cc # or small deposit. On telling others about our misadventure, some laughed and said they'd peeked in and thought it was derelict. Another (very nice) hotel owner was surprised to hear our tale - she thought it was closed!

It should be shut down - it's a health hazard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just back from all the rain and midges that four days in the magnificent Glen Etive hills could throw at us, this was a perfect pace to stay. We spent the evening in the common room - presumably once the waiting room - with self-service tea and coffee and great views to either side, while chatting with other visitors. The proprietors, Steve and Helen, chatted happily with us, before producing a very good three-course meal, finished with fresh muffins, strawberries and cream. They seem in effect to run a community service for hikers: while we were there, the lost, the hungry, the drunk, the slightly injured, and the train-missed were all taken care of one way or another. Quirky, clean, friendly, fun, convenient: thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our group of 13 stayed at the sleeper at the end of July. We had a ball! Yes Steve and Helen are a bit eccentric and had had a drink but it made for a very entertaining stay. If I had been on my own it may have been a bit off putting. Didn't think the owners would be able to surface to make breakfast the next morning, however we were greeted with a fabulous feast of porridge, cereal, croissants, toast, juice, preserves etc. Wasn't too keen on packed lunch but I'm easily put off and had seen the kitchen the night before!! We were allowed to have a BBQ on the platform (we took our own equipment) whilst trains were passing, where else could you do that? Wouldn't say it was exceptionally clean but it was the 1st hostel I'd stayed in so can't compare. Main prob was the beds (we had to make them up ourselves) very itchy during the night, felt as if they were full of creep crawlies. This place could be exceptional due to the location and unique accommodation if it was given a good clean and the drinks cabinet was kept locked!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

At the time seemed a good place to stay. Good location, good food, bunks adequate. However this was two weeks ago and we have not had a refund for the over charging. Having been charged twice we were further upset by being charged more than the web site stated. We now have to go through the banks to get a refund. Beware. If you have to stay here pay cash.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zztrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here in early June. Had a lovely time couldn't fault it, nice couple running things and met a lot of nice people too :-).

P.S amazing sandwiches the next day ... never had camembert & apple sandwiches before but after walking miles on the moor were a big treat!!!

Thanks again

All the best & we'll see you again soon Andy & Wee Joan

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wee_Scottish_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We met a very friendly couple, after a day's walking on the West Highland Way. Okay, you had to make your own bed and we slept with 7 people in the bunkroom. But the food was very good and it was a great experience to sleep on a railway station that is still in use. (the last train ran at 21.30 and the first in the morning at 8.15; no problem for us)

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank 333j10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The West Highland Way Sleeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Highland Way Sleeper

Address: Fire Station Bridge of Orchy Station, Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bridge of Orchy
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The West Highland Way Sleeper Hotel Bridge Of Orchy
The West Highland Way Sleeper Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing