We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, friendly, great location, a very rare find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, great location, a very rare find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is not a modern, perfectly formed chain hotel but don't let that put you off. This hotel suits couples, families or groups and is ideally located for Anglesey and most of the places you want to see in north Wales. The views down Menai straits are outstanding but not as pleasing as the people that look after you. If being treated liked a VIP by people that care passionately about hospitality is what matters to you do not look past this hotel. Full of character with the benefit of a nice little pool for a dip we absolutely loved it and will be taking our 3 girls back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsingleton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    196
    50
    30
    34
See reviews for
187
228
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The setting is fanastic, in an old harbour on the Menai Straits. The hotel the a much extended Harbour Master's house. It sits on a little point on the shore. The panoramic view down the Strait from the room we stayed in, really an apartment known as 'Deck 3', and its balcony, was outstanding. The food was fine. The decor is a bit on the aging side and parts of the hotel look a bit like a work-in-progress, but the whole thing is charming. The staff, Hadyn and Wendy, were as helpful and as friendly as could be. We had hoped to stay two nights, en-route back from Ireland, but had tio change this to a single nights stay due to external circumstances, this meant I had no chance to sample the swimming pool. The staff were very helpful re- the alteration of duration.

Room Tip: Our 'room' was the top part of a tower; it had a large lounge with kitchen area and panorami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The main selling point of this hotel is the situation - the views over the Menai Straits are stunning and sitting in the garden with a cold beer on a lovely sunny evening was a delight (and somewhat unexpected in Wales!). Our room actually looked in the other direction so we got a view over the marina up to the mountains beyond, which was also very pleasant. The room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Wifi access was free. The staff were all friendly and helpful but not intrusive.Breakfast was excellent and on the one night when we were late back from the hills and didn't fancy going back out, we were offered dinner cooked to order - not exactly Michelin starred but very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Surprised by my husband who had booked the weekend away at Hotel Dinorwic two weeks ago. Second visit to this lovely hotel (first time with all the family 3 teenagers stayed in a brilliant appartment) This time just the two of us. Excellent staff who are extremely helpful.Lovely room, excellent weather. You cannot beat watching the sun set over the Menai Straits. this hotel is so convenient for visiting Anglesey and they serve a really nice breakfast with fantastic views.

Room Tip: Ring and talk to the owners to discuss what you need. They are extremely helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here the night before our wedding with my son and on our wedding night along with 10 other guests. Clean tidy rooms with free wi-fi which satisfied my son. The service from the staff was excellent with nothing too much trouble for them. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order; the views were stunning, what a way to start married life. Highly recommended and no doubt we will be back to celebrate our anniversary in years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGJones220567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit here as a group of 5 people. The staff here are fantastic nothing is too much trouble. It is so nice to check in late and get a warm friendly welcome. Rooms are clean, comfy and have everything you would want in there, including foc wi-fi.

If you are looking for a hotel within the Snowdon area look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulgd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delabole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for a very comfortable three nights. Living in Cornwall we are used to beautiful, spectacular views, but the view from our room at the Plas Dinorwic, equalled anything to be seen in Cornwall.
The staff and family are friendly and helpful, the room we had was very spacious and clean and the bed was the most comfortable out of all those that I have slept in at any other hotel, privately owned or chain, including the one advertised on the TV.
Snowdon, Caernarfon and other attractions are easily reached.
We were very sad when it was time to leave, but we will certainly be back to this beautiful part of Wales, and we are looking forward to another stay at the Hotel Plas Dinorwic.

Room Tip: I am partially disabled, and there is a room on the ground floor which met my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Y Felinheli
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
4.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Dinorwic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Dinorwic

Property: Hotel Port Dinorwic
Address: Ffordd Siabod, Y Felinheli LL56 4XA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Y Felinheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Port Dinorwic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Port Dinorwic is an informal and friendly hotel with a varied selection of accommodation types. These include double rooms, twin rooms, suites, apartments and cottages, all at affordable prices. Its location overlooking the Menai Straits gives it un-paralleled panoramic sea views. Each room at the Hotel Port Dinorwic is individually styled and laid out. Room capacity varies from single occupancy double rooms, to six person suites. All accommodation is en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, free view TV and free WIFI. Please note that not all rooms have a sea view. The hotel also boasts a range of facilities, such as a heated swimming pool, sauna, restaurant and function rooms. The hotel is perfectly situated between the university city of Bangor and the historic town of Caernarfon. The Snowdonia National Park is located only 15 mins away and the Isle of Anglesey only 5 mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Port Dinorwic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinorwic Hotel
Plas Dinorwic y Felinheli
Hotel Port Dinorwic Y Felinheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing