We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to explore from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good location to explore from”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just stayed 3 nights and found the staff very helpful, nice and quiet area with good views. Bed was comfy and facilities in room were adequate.

Close to Snowdon, Anglesey, ZipWorld and shopping close by. Good bus service from y felineli to Bangor and Caenarfon.

Swimming Pool on sight available for 'refreshing' dip.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde-and-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    203
    51
    30
    34
See reviews for
195
234
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Port Dinorwic the week before Easter.
We wanted an apartment with enough space for the 5 of us.
We got that and more. The accomadation is fine - reading the reviews about tired level of decor - i would agree to an extent but this is functional and the service is exceptional.
The staff are extremely friendly and do go out of thier way to help an advise on the local attractions and other points in the area.
The breakfast is filling and cooked to order.
The location for Snowdonia and the north wales coast is superb.
We got a sea view and more.
The place is warm and cosy - it is worth a look. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and our apartment offered us the flexibility of being in a hotel whilst still having cooking facilities when we required them.
This is not the plastic feel of a chain hotel which can be the same the country over - this is a family hotel and for that it should be commended.

Room Tip: Ring them up and talk to them. They are extremely friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Adults3kidsNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from our first getaway together and stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights. The hotel has a lovely feel to it and is situated in a great place. When we arrived we received a warm welcome to the hotel by the staff who are happy to help you with anything you need. On one of the nights we fancied a late night swim and sauna after a long day walking and the staff were happy to open the pool up for us to enjoy a late night swim! The hotel staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your visit, they gave us suggestions on places to go in the area and anything we asked for was never too much trouble for them (this includes giving my greedy boyfriend extras with his breakfast). I've stayed in many chain hotels and never received the same hospitality as I did here. It's a lovely place to stay and we will be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie-swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I fail to see how the reviews of this place are so positive.
Everywhere you look the place is in a state of needing fixing including a missing balcony with a chair on it to the tower with doors that don't lock to toilets in the rooms!
The positive reviews must come from people who have never stayed away from home!

Room Tip: Don't go to the tower - it is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Definitely a touch of the Basils about this cartoon character of a place.It sits on a promontory above a marina and with a stunning view of the Menai Straits. Its pink-washed walls give it its nickname, the Pink Palace - but you half expect the Pink Panther to show up they way it's run. The design seems to be by Billy Bodger out of B and Q, with carpets laid without joining strips and cheap,ill-fitting doors. Outside, one of the balconies has done a runner but no-one seems to have noticed.But there is a certain West End farce charm about manager Mandy and her team, who have lots of fizz but little sophistication. Food was decent enough, though and our room was clean. Lots of potential. And you've got to hand it to the indefatigable owner. At 90 she'd just completed a 100mph zip wire adventure up the road in Snowdonia. Give it go. You'll have a laugh.

Room Tip: Avoid the Tower. It's by the sea but surroundings are scruffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Adeje, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed in the hotel portdinorwic for 3 weeks, really lovely place to stay, the manager mandy Williams, and the bar staff samantha williams, .were very helpful thoughtout my stay , ;) the rooms were very clean and cozy and warm and very spaceious, loveit ;) would deffo go again ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prestatyn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked in for two nights into the tower. First impressions were great. But unfortunately not to last. The staff their are great. But the recent storms and there is a lack of basic maintenance. No pool for whole stay and this had been one of the reasons for selection. The winds were high on our first night and little sleep was had as the glass wall/doors onto the balance were broken and made so much noise throughout the night we were convinced they were going to come through. The next day when we informed the hotel of the problem there was no surprise and straight away they offered to open another part of the tower for our second night. Others maintenance issues broken window in bathroom, rope banister coming away from wall, two loose steps, leak in bath, loose tiles on bathroom floor, no tv signal on second night- due to water in the box? All of these are quite minor and could easily be fixed it is a real shame that no one seems to care.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Y Felinheli
4.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Dinorwic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Dinorwic

Property: Hotel Port Dinorwic
Address: Ffordd Siabod, Y Felinheli LL56 4XA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Y Felinheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Port Dinorwic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Port Dinorwic is an informal and friendly hotel with a varied selection of accommodation types. These include double rooms, twin rooms, suites, apartments and cottages, all at affordable prices. Its location overlooking the Menai Straits gives it un-paralleled panoramic sea views. Each room at the Hotel Port Dinorwic is individually styled and laid out. Room capacity varies from single occupancy double rooms, to six person suites. All accommodation is en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, free view TV and free WIFI. Please note that not all rooms have a sea view. The hotel also boasts a range of facilities, such as a heated swimming pool, sauna, restaurant and function rooms. The hotel is perfectly situated between the university city of Bangor and the historic town of Caernarfon. The Snowdonia National Park is located only 15 mins away and the Isle of Anglesey only 5 mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Port Dinorwic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinorwic Hotel
Plas Dinorwic y Felinheli
Hotel Port Dinorwic Y Felinheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing