We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthdaystay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“birthdaystay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here for overnight after a friend's birthday.lovely hotel, beautifully situated with stunning views.Very good room , spacious with seating area. Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    198
    51
    30
    34
See reviews for
194
230
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We and 5 other couples stayed at this marvelously placed hotel, and what a find, not far from Caernarfon just off an easily accessed road with plenty of parking, the hotel staff couldn't have been more obliging. All our rooms where spotlessly clean and fantastic views. The cost was extremely competitive with even the large chains and you felt a very unique experience. The breakfast was excellent (full English) with self service for cereals, toast etc. Will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view its fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of 18, in 3 bedroom apartments and a penthouse suite, each sleeping 6. The rooms were great value for money and the location was ideal for both snowdonia and zip world. The staff were really friendly, would definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris_laura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked this hotel as a base for a 3 day cycling trip and climb up Snowdon. Beautiful location, hotel has everything you need and the staff couldn't be more helpful! Would definitely stay here again when back in the region!

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very comfortable!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ross1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here as we planned to visit Zip World the next day and found the place utterly charming. After having crossed the manually operated bridge that spanned the canal, we found this beautiful pink hotel on top of the hill. There wasn't much space to park out front so we followed the signs that directed us to the parking at the rear.

We were told upon check-in that we had been upgraded from a Double Room to one of their one bedroom apartments, Deck 3. The room had a large living room with two couches, a kitchen area and a spiral staircase leading up to a viewing area (it got quite hot up there because of the windows).

As they had a function on in their restaurants, we had dinner in the bar. They warned us that it would take about 20 minutes but I thought that was an acceptable time to wait for food to come out. I've been in restaurants where it's taken longer.

The hotel felt like a home away from home, with lovely views. A few people whom reviewed this hotel earlier had mentioned things like the place was shabby and that you could hear cars in the car park. This hotel is not full of pomp and grandeur and if you are expecting that I wouldn't recommend staying here. If, however, you are looking for a cute hotel, with bags of character and friendly welcoming staff, then I would recommend here.

We were met with a large variety of continental options with a lot of different kind of cereals. I had the cooked breakfast where they could not do more to please you. It was all air-fried so there was no grease which was great if you're watching what you eat.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it was just a shame we could not stay any longer. We would definitely go back, as it was a wonderful place situated in a beautiful part of Wales.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel for better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My fiance and I had a weekend at this hotel, to get away from it all, and had a fantastic time. The hotel complex is in a wonderful spot, on a hillside with lovely views over the Menai Straights. There are a number of different buildings with self contained apartments and suites as well as the main hotel building. We had a courtyard room, and were amazed to find that it also contained a small kitchen area with fridge, sink, microwave and cuttlery/crockery for two. Fresh milk is provided for tea/coffee. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever had, and we had a fantastic sleep here. We were also surprised that the hotel had a swimming pool and sauna, and we very much enjoyed using this facility. We had a great evening meal in the hotel restaurant, lovely quality and portion size, excellent service, and a table with lovely views over the Menai Straights. This was followed by drinks on the terrace, while watching the sunset, and then time in the cosy hotel bar. Breakfast was served in a separate conservatory room, also with great views. Once again, the food was excellent quality, and staff were really friendly and helpful. We had an absolutely wonderful time here, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 'lighthouse' apartment outside of the hotel which is right on the beach front, overlooking the water. The apartment itself was lovely, with all the amenities necessary including hob and microwave, fridge, central heating etc.
The bar and hotel were staffed by the attentive and friendly Mandy and Hayden , who gave us lots of advice about places to go and things to do.
There is a large indoor pool, a restaurant area and a lounge, everything is clean and well looked after.
We're already planning our return for next year, and hope we're lucky enough to get the sun again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Y Felinheli
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
4.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Dinorwic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Dinorwic

Property: Hotel Port Dinorwic
Address: Ffordd Siabod, Y Felinheli LL56 4XA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Y Felinheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Port Dinorwic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Port Dinorwic is an informal and friendly hotel with a varied selection of accommodation types. These include double rooms, twin rooms, suites, apartments and cottages, all at affordable prices. Its location overlooking the Menai Straits gives it un-paralleled panoramic sea views. Each room at the Hotel Port Dinorwic is individually styled and laid out. Room capacity varies from single occupancy double rooms, to six person suites. All accommodation is en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, free view TV and free WIFI. Please note that not all rooms have a sea view. The hotel also boasts a range of facilities, such as a heated swimming pool, sauna, restaurant and function rooms. The hotel is perfectly situated between the university city of Bangor and the historic town of Caernarfon. The Snowdonia National Park is located only 15 mins away and the Isle of Anglesey only 5 mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Port Dinorwic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinorwic Hotel
Plas Dinorwic y Felinheli
Hotel Port Dinorwic Y Felinheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing