We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swellies

The Swellies
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Swellies is situated on the historic Port Dinorwic Marina, serving you fantastic breakfasts, delicious light lunches, beautiful home-made cakes, treats, and quality coffee. The Swellies is ideal for a quick pit stop on your way to work or while walking the dog, it's also the perfect place to fuel up with some quality food before embarking on a sailing trip (you can even double check the tide times using our free wifi!). For those with busy schedules The Swellies offers takeaway sandwiches, toasties, soups and hot drinks. We are proud to source our ingredients locally wherever possible. Our dry cured bacon and hand made-sausages are from Anglesey, we only use free-range eggs from happy hens and our bread is from a local artisan baker. We're sure you'll find something to take your fancy so come down and check us out :)
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Visited for lunch and really enjoyed sitting in cafe. Food very nice - had sausage and bacon bap. My 2 year old loved the chunky chips. Nice cake for afters. Friendly and helpful staff. Working very hard! Nice spot to sit outside. Will visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We visit "the swellies" most weekends and have found it very welcoming .The food is always delicious and the young staff very polite and attentive plus some of the best cakes I've ever tasted,looking forward to our next visit.Christine,Carl,Christine and Bob x


Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfair Talhaiarn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a camping holiday and went on the cycle track from Caernarfon and came across this lovely cafe, we visited twice during our stay and great value for money, clean, quick service. Thank you will call again x

Helpful?
1 Thank megmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Many thanks for a lovely breakfast in beautiful Surroundings - poached eggs were lovely - Would recommend the hot chocolate - Very welcoming to my 5 year old daughter - will visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've been meaning to come on and write a review for a while now as we live in the Marina so have been using this cafe since it opened a few months ago. I have to say I am astounded by the negative comment at the top as it has absolutely no basis in reality. Swellies has not been open long, the owners Lucy and Eddie are just getting in to the swing of things and the interior of the cafe has been gradually improving since it opened. Give people a chance!

Anyway, my own opinion is that the food is excellent, the side salads are always crisp and interesting, not just a few pieces of lettuce, but real effort goes in to serving good salad next to good food. The coffee is excellent, far better than anything you will get in a chain cafe, and much cheaper! The location is perfect for anyone taking a local walk, or driving through the village, but especially good for those of us who live in the Marina! The owners are a brother and sister team, and a genuinely lovely people who go out of their way to welcome everybody through the door. We often go in with our two year old daughter who can make a racket sometimes, but Lucy always makes the effort to play with her and make us feel relaxed. And for parents with small children it's important to feel like you are welcome somewhere.

I definitely recommend this cafe, for the service, coffee and of course the food!



  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielleFriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swellies also viewed

Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
 
Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Swellies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing