We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alexherse...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our family really enjoyed our stay here. The property is very spacious and there are plenty of different areas. The kitchen easily accommodates all and is really well stocked. Having a hot tub, pool table and dart board was a real treat. We had some lovely weather and there is a huge bench out the front with great views and gets the sun all day. The owners were friendly and helpful and even let us help feed the lambs. The owners dogs were really friendly and gentle and were always up for a cuddle if you called them, even the members of my family who are nervous of dogs loved them. The area is perfect for walking, cycling, real ales and pub grub. I really recommend the cycle route along the old railway line by the estuary starting in Dollgelau and 'Dolgellau cycles' bike hire was really reasonably priced and well managed. I recommend Ysgubor to all:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianvin...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a very nice place to stay in”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Upon arrivel we were met by the owners who were very frindly and welcoming,the cottage is very big and pleanty of room for everyone to move about in.The cottage was very clean and tidy.There are pleanty of walks around the area to do and the local pubs and food are great too.would deff go back as having a hot tub is a right treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having a hot tub to chill in after a days walking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAvon
Avon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful home & stunning location”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is set in a beautiful location and is within walking distance of Dinas Mawddwy, where there is a great little, dog friendly pub that serves lovely food (open fire too). It is surrounded by mountains and there are walks straight from the cottage.

The cottage is set within a farm where there are other dogs and livestock but the cottage itself is enclosed and if you take your own dogs they are unable to get out of the garden unless they are determined. The farmers dogs have worked out how to get in but they tend to sit close by and just look in, which may drive some dogs crazy. The farmer, who lives in an attached cottage is extremely friendly and really helpful. We also got a lift up the mountain (at the back of the cottage) and walked down..it is a truy amazing sight but remember this is where slate originates and our dog cut her food quite badly (great, cheap local vet) so bare this in mind whilst wandering back.

The cottage itself is incredibly spacious: you enter the front door to the games room and then it divides left and right. The kitchen is to the right with a lovely large bedroom above this and the remaining bedrooms and the stunning living room is to the left. The kitchen is a true farm house kitchen, with an aga, log burner, massive wooden dining table and slate flooring (the farmer replensihes the wood whenever needed at a very reasonable price). The living room has lots of seating and there are lots of games and brochures about the locality. The hot tub was a mega hit and requires no real effort to operate on your behalf. The garden is quite small and is mainly patio but the grassed bits are elevated and provide stunning views. There is a little table and chairs set up high too , which proved to be popular for a late afternoon glass of wine. (if you want bigger wine glasses or cups then id advise you take your own as the ones at the cottage are quite small) The fridge is a normal freezer fridge, which isn't that big if there's loads of you so an ice cooler or similar may be useful for drinks etc. We left our wine outside the back door but obviously in summer that would be useless! You also have to be careful how long you shower for. I believe there was a five minute rule - something to do with the pressure and the number of people using it.

There are walks near and far and it's worth exploring this before arriving as the internet/mobile signal is pretty poor. Dolgellau is a short drive away and it has everything that you need, such as a large co-op, an amazing cake shop (the best cheesecake we've ever had!), chemist etc and one of our favourite walks around Cader Idris. There is another great walk (the torrent walk) which is between the cottage and Dollgelau.

You will not get bored!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage itself
Liked least: The brief showers but this is no real problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Reviewed 27 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing