We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My Husband Sister and myself stayed at Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel.The views were stunning.The Host was 1st class she could not do enough for us, she made us feel very at home for the duration of our stay.The food was fantastic with plenty of home cooked food.We rate our stay exceptional value all round and full marks to the Host.
J Safi

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbyfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

A lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Very quiet location, but not far off the beaten track. Very friendly couple, and very helpful. Breakfast brilliant, plenty of toast! Lovely grounds to wander in, right beside a beautiful river. Lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a walking weekend. The couple who own / run the hotel are fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, and the service was impeccable.

The breakfast brilliant - good quality, freshly cooked, buffet style and was therefore plentiful. Hot toast on tap. Cereals, juices, tea / coffee etc were all self service, therefore we could help ourselves to seconds if we had wished to.

Our only gripe about the hotel was the bedroom we stayed in (Room 6). Our friends were allocated a fantastic room - they arrived before us! : )

My husband is 6'2" and his feet hung out of the bed (you would expect hotels to provide king sized beds as standard?). Consequently neither of us had a good night's sleep, on either night - even after a full day's walk on the mountains. The ensuite bathroom was a throw back to 1970's avacodo with a shower curtain, which was about 2 foot too long and blocked the plug - it also had a slight musty smell.

Hubby took a bath after our walk and said it was the smallest bath he'd ever used.

It's probably down to the location, but TV quality and sound were really poor.

This review seems a little harsh, so I'd like readers to know that if we had stayed in our friend's room (Room 3) we'd have given the review a far higher score. Likewise, as typical Brits, we didn't complain about anything, therefore we didn't give the hotel the opportunity to rectify anything.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6. Room 3 - HUGE comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mljohnson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Having passed the hotel on numerous occasions we decided last year to drop in and take a peek from the outside.
Being pleased with the external view we booked the hotel for a birthday trip for the wife.

Our room was very well presented and overlooked the garden and hills to the rear.
The hotel is ideally situated for Machynlleth and Dolgellau and nestles in a valley by the river

Breakfast was lovely and consisted of the usual cereal and yoghurt buffet followed by full monty which is just how we like it.

We were the only guests as it was the quiet time of the year. The lounge, dining room and bar are very large and I am sure would make a busy hub when the hotel has more guests.

Rob the owner made us very welcome and spent lots of time chatting to us.

A bonus is that the hotel is dog friendly and we always take our dog's cage which she sleeps in.

Room Tip: Room 3 with ensuite bathroom,huge bed with a firm mattress and a beautiful view to the river and mou...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Came to chill out and walk the aran mountains, rob and mandy really friendly, great service and food. Room comfortable with lovely views. Hope to return in summer to fully enjoy the grounds and river. Ciaran and Julie, birmingham.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kegBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A last minute booking that turned out to be most enjoyable. I wish I had taken my Spaniel as she would have been very welcome and would have loved it. Lovely setting, plenty of birds,buzzards, pheasants etc. to be viewed whilst eating your hearty breakfast, nothing too much trouble, extra heaters added to our room as temperatures were low. Would like to visit the hotel again in summer. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My girlfriend booked a 2 night break here for my birthday. We arrived after a 5 hour drive to find we were the only guests at the hotel for the first night. We were greeted by Mandy who instantly made us feel very welcome, she showed us to our room which she had brought a second heater into to get the room nice and cosy for us. We were looked after throughout our stay, we had dinner cooked for us at the hotel both nights and even though the bar wasn't open the night when we arrived we were still offered drinks while we were sat in the guest lounge by the open fire.
The hotel itself is very traditional and very homely, it isn't made out with all the mod-cons that people come to expect with hotels but it isn't what this hotel is about, it's supposed to be a home from home, a place you can come into and relax after a long trek. Mandy and Rob were both very knowledgeable of the area and are happy to give advice on sights, walks, restaurants and anything else you can think to ask. We will definitely be coming back again later on in the year for a longer stay, it is very reasonably priced and the service is outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster room which had views out across the garden, river and mountain.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
10.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
69 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
7.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel

Address: 470 A, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: £82 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dolbrodmaeth is a country hotel set in a stunning riverside location close to machynlleth & dolgellau in southern snowdonia.It has 11 charming ensuite rooms with a bar & restaurent making it the perfect place to relax & unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing