We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner for a 2 night stay in September. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after! Nothing was too much trouble for Rob and his right hand woman Mandy. The room was clean and everything we needed provided, the breakfast was both good and plentiful. The hotel is set in lovely and well maintained gardens. We really rated this hotel and the overall experience and would have absolutely no problem in recommending to others!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and tidy and fresh clean towels every morning. The TV was small but we didn't mind as we needed to get away from watching TV anyway.
The Kingsize bed was comfortable and bedding clean and fresh. The only issue would be the heating, there wasn't any and the view over the river and mountain was obscured by condensation in the mornings. However on the last but one night a small electric heater arrived in the room, much better.
Mandy, the member of staff seemed to be always around with a cheery smile and welcome, she also offered information on were to visit.
Breakfast was more than enough to last for the day and was well cooked.
The heating throughout the hotel needed to be on as sitting in the lounge at night was rather cold.
Would return but please have the heating on as guests do need to feel comfortable throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river also include mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishermanTotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I visited the hotel in early August 2012 to have a short break following quite a busy period at work. We booked the 4 poster room which is described as romantic to help us have a good rest. I have to say we were extremely disappointed by the standard of the accommodation.

Overall the room was very tired and dated. The bath room was1970`s style with a simple shower fixed to the taps. The bath panel was broken. The bed was just a cheap looking pine 4 poster but at least matched the rest of the furniture. The lights had shades missing and I wonder if the light sticking out between the curtains of the bed could be considered a fire hazard. Certainly not a room you could relax in.

We stayed in the room for about 5 minutes and drove the 90 mils back home.

To be fair to the owners we did not say anything to them. We were just too disappointed and wanted to go. This meant they did not have the chance to move us elsewhere, but in many ways in business you have one chance to make a good impression, and they failed. Incidentally on arrival the key was just plonked on the counter and I had to ask directions to the room.

The manger (Rob) did phone up for feedback but unfortunately was very defensive and unprofessional in his approach. He did later apologise about this but sill refused to give us a refund. He did however say had would have given us another room had we told them.

Some of the feedback for this venue is positive but our experience was very poor. I am sure Rob will respond to this message – but at the end of the day his comments come from the manager of the place so he is unlikely to agree with me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiekiree, Owner at Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We are all very disapointed with this review.
The room in question is very popular with our guests,but we have taken these comments on board & refurbished the room...
The couple in question stayed for 5 minutes & left without telling us.
We only found they had not stayed the next morning.As this was a saturday night in August many guests were turned away as we thought we were full.
Had they let us know at the time about these issues with the accommodation , we would have either moved them to a more modern room, or given them a no quibble refund under the hotels strict policy of customer satisfaction.
Can we ask all prospective guests to read all our reviews from last year & then come to an informed decision..
Many thanks for taking time to read this...Rob Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had an enjoyable three night stay at this hotel. The location is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful but we felt that with a bit more effort this hotel could be so much better. Things were old and tired - like a very small tv which was impossible to see, lumpy mattress, extractor fan in the en-suite struggling to clear the condensation. The wi-fi access was great, though, so as long you don't expect too much "luxury" this is a good hotel for a stopover or a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdlover735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Beautiful building in a tranquil location.
As we were a large group, we were asked to order dinner a few days in advance of our visit which seemed a little odd but the food was fine and the hot and cold breakfast selection was excellent.
We all had the feeling that perhaps this hotel had been a lot better in the past although there were no specific complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

well just back from 3nights visiting friends in wales we were lucky to have found this hotel online the appearance from outside and the scenery suggested a tranquil stay it did nt dissapoint hotel was very clean ,fresh towels every day +bed made, comfortable,manager and staff very pleasant and informative buffet style hot and cold breakfast evening meals were nice and averaged price nothing more to say other than this is a phone number that will be used again and would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garner1redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great staff, good food, comfortable accommodation, ideal for family of five. Top location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
10.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
10.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
10.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
71 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Derw Country House B&B
Ty Derw Country House B&B
#1 of 5 in Dinas Mawddwy
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B

Address: 470 A, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dolbrodmaeth is a country hotel set in a stunning riverside location close to machynlleth & dolgellau in southern snowdonia.It has 11 charming ensuite rooms with a bar & restaurent making it the perfect place to relax & unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside B&B Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing