We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rural hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the family room. Be warned the wifi only works in the lounge! The family room is large. It has 3 single beds on one side and a queen bed on the other with a separation in between. The beds are comfortable and it has a private bath/shower. We ate dinner at the restaurant, which was good and reasonably priced. Most meals are about 11 GBP each. The food was good. They also have a small bar. There are no other restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joe451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The setting for the hotel is quiet and scenic. The hotel itself was very clean. Staff shortages meant that the lady who waited at table, prepared the food and serviced the rooms worked really hard. she was very pleasant and obliging. The food was decent, well prepared and tasty even if there wasn't a huge choice. Breakfasts were tasty and well prepared. We would have preferred better quality coffee and a teapot for tea rather than using a tea bag in a mug. However you get what you pay for so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
We did have a very squeaky bed which was disconcerting we feared it to be on the point of collapse.
The entrance is rather overgrown so some secateurs might be useful if you don't want your car scratched.
A basic hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 30sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Although the hotel has a great location, this, in my view, is about all that it has going for it - unless of course you like instant potato, instant coffee, and rather aloof staff on reception (but a very pleasant waitress). We stayed here while walking the Cambrian Way, and also stayed in a number of B&Bs which provided much higher standards of room and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 992Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Once again this hotel has been thoroughly amazing! Loved every second of our stay here, every time we come we are welcomed by the most friendliest of staff who feel they can never do enough for us! Food was everything we needed and we can never quite get over the spectacular views!

Couldn't fault the value for money, recommend to anyone, will definitely be returning again and again!

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Room Tip: Room 10 is perfect for families!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have just had an entire weekend ruined as the owner has just rung up to say they were overbooked and we will not be staying there this weekend now (also said he's e-mailed us, but there is no e-mail of cancellation) . We booked via expedia on the wednesday before travelling and today less than 48 hrs before travelling the owner rung up to say a previous booking had gone through before our booking (If that is the case then may I suggest updating your booking link with expedia). What makes this more frustrating is we had cancelled our original hotel booking with a hotel chain upon seeing the reviews for this hotel. Now we are left with staying at home as finding another hotel 48 hrs before bank holiday is a non starter. I can only imagine in reality one of the owners frequent customers tried booking afterwards and we were pushed out the door to speak. Even more frustrating is the fact as both my wife and I work shift work over bank holidays in emergency services we don't know when our next weekend away will be.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thomas102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is an out of the way hotel in a beautiful location by the river. The rooms a sizeable and very comfortable and clean. There is a bar that opens later in the day and the restaurant serves good quality food. There are really no other dining options in the vicinity that I'm aware of. The riverside in the evening is a very nice place to sit and sip on a can or two or in my case more. In summary this is a great little hotel in a quiet location. An ideal base to use while touring the surrounding countryside. I almost forgot to mention, the staff are great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely setting, enjoyed a glass of wine by the river. The staff are friendly and helpful and made our dog, Bruno welcome.

Rooms clean and fresh and comfortable, although bathrooms a little tired.

I liked the lounge with the lovely fireplace, I felt quite at home. Would come here again if staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmad715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
10.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
69 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
7.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel

Address: 470 A, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: £82 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dolbrodmaeth is a country hotel set in a stunning riverside location close to machynlleth & dolgellau in southern snowdonia.It has 11 charming ensuite rooms with a bar & restaurent making it the perfect place to relax & unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing