We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discraceful”
Review of Rossett Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rossett Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Rooms very cold no heating food not cooked properly was sick for three day after I stayed view not very good staff disrespectful ask to see the manger one more then one occasion witch said he didnt want to see me if I was complaining

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dgoodall1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin E, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear reader

This review is not genuine, the author has not stayed at Rossett Hall and his comments are not true or correct. Rossett Hall has been subjected to a campaign of hatred postings over social media and Trip Advisor of which this is one. Although Trip Advisor has removed most of the posts they cannot remove this one because it meets the required criteria.

We hope our customers both current and future disregard this comment, and trust that Rossett Hall is a quality hotel with great hospitality.

Regards

Martin Elliott – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

the food and staff at this hotel were excellent
the room was of a high standard but housekeeping could dust more and the cups in the room could have been cleaner
the hotel is in an excellent position for chester, the zoo, and Cheshire oaks as well as sightseeing in the local area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89ajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Used to stay here regularly and loved it. Staff now can't be bothered, rooms are worn and not clean . Great deals, wonder why??

Even the executive rooms had badly stained carpets and dirty bathroom.

In a small village with another large hotel and a premier inn within 5 miles something radical needs to be done.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin E, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your response on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Rossett Hall Hotel.

Firstly, please accept my apologies for the disappointing experience you encountered and our standards, which on this occasion did not meet the quality we are striving for. I will be taking all your comments and discussing them with my team to ensure future guests do not have a similar experience.

Convivial Hotels purchased the hotel at the end of 2013 and since then we have invested greatly in improving the building and guest facilities, obviously this is a huge task and work will continue, hopefully correcting any of the decorative issues you felt lowered the standard of your accommodation.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and I do hope you will consider using Rossett Hall in the future when I am sure you will have a much improved visit.

Yours sincerely



Martin Elliott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our family attended the hotel for my mother-in-law's 80th birthday. There were nearly 20 of us including a teen, small children and a baby. We had the Boydell suite to ourselves as well as the bar and the adjoining room with comfy settees. I can only say that the special birthday dinner went with a bang. The room was just right for us all, the tables were laid out beautifully, the pre-ordered food was outstanding (congrats to the chef) and the service was impeccable. The staff couldn't do enough for us (special mention here for Lynn). There was another much larger birthday celebration on at the hotel as well but you wouldn't have noticed it from our perspective as we were served our food and drinks on the dot and without having to wait. We must have made some noise as the younger adults serenaded their beloved grandma with a few songs but no-one said anything and we all had a riotous time. It was such nice weather that we sat outside talking until 1am - hard to do normally in late September. The room my wife and I had was excellent, with plenty of space, a large comfortable bed, nice decor and a decent bathroom. Breakfast on Sunday morning was a more subdued affair (given the amount we had to drink) but it was good quality, hot and plentiful. The hotel seemed very popular as Oscars Restaurant, where the breakfast was served, was bouncing on Sunday morning. Then as we left around midday people were beginning to arrive for the popular Sunday lunch. All in all a great weekend with the family was made all the more special by the quality of the venue and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Myself and my partner spent one night here. The hotel is in a lovely setting close to Chester and access into North Wales.
In the reception area and corridor it looks like they have recently painted and re-carpeted but on entering our room (No.2) it looked like it could do with updating.
Television very old, limited channels and poor reception certainly not as described in the room guest info book( LCD T.V with full freeview)
Carpet threadbare in places, chairs had marks on them, duvets very lumpy. Despite all of the above would still have returned except for the noisy heating system that came on in the early hours and and the radiator in the bathroom not turning off (sooooo hot in there).
We found Oscars (Restaurant attached to the hotel) a joy. Great food, ambiance and service.
Breakfast also in Oscars was a lovely surprise, more than enough choice (cereals, fruit and full english).
On checking out the receptionist seemed disinterested and didn't ask if everything was ok with our stay.
(Take a leaf out of the guy who served us breakfast who was more than helpful. )
In closing just update the rooms and heating system please Rossett Hall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent one night at Rossett Hall Hotel , Staff friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with everything you could need for your stay. We dined at Oscars restauraunt ,the food was excellent and the service very good. Breakfast was good and plentyful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin E, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Rossett Hall. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotels facilities and your experience in Oscars Brasserie.

I look forward to welcoming you to Rossett Hall in the future.

Kind regards

Martin Elliott - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Staff ..great they would move the earth to help they don't have to but they did. the room was clean (too much wood for me ) but its ok the bed was soft walls and bathroom clean smell of pain in the hall ways so they are trying . I didn't eat dinner but I will try breakfast and report back must say well done A++++

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvandfilm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin E, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your Trip advisor review and sharing your enjoyable experience at Rossett Hall. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal, as we have recently refurbished Oscars Brasserie and our new chef has spend a great deal of time perfecting his menus.

I look forward to welcoming you to Rossett Hall in the future.

Kind regards

Martin Elliott - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossett
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
5.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#4 of 10 in Wrexham
638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
395 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
189 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossett Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossett Hall Hotel

Address: Chester Rd, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 ODE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Rossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rossett Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossett Hall Hotel is a fine Georgian Country House Hotel, situated in the idyllic village of Rossett, just minutes from Chester Business Park and the Motorway network. All 49 rooms are fully equipped with telephones, tea/coffee, facilities, trouser press and there are two conference rooms. In the evening you will find that Oscars Brasserie provides the ideal venue to relax and sample the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rossett Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Rossett Hall Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing