We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gluten free” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rossett Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rossett Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
wrexham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“gluten free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Nice food, but do not order gluten free, i ordered a gluten free meal in advance(in one of their christmas parties) basically what i got was a bit of veg, two roast potatoes and 2 silces of turkey - no gravy - no sauceage (easily obtainable) no bacon (which is gluten free) complained by email and never got a reply - they promised on the phone that it was not a problem, but served the meal and said 'sorry no gravy' how difficult is it for a chef to make gravy with flour!!! will not visit them again on principle

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    163
    89
    49
    25
See reviews for
118
225
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Hotel had good parking, was fairly quiet and rooms reasonably comfortable. Bathroom was very large, with narrow bath and shower over - design layout needs improving. Beds were comfortable but not made up properly.
Food in the restaurant wasn't too bad, but buffet breakfast poor.
The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

I wrote a review about this hotel in September 2008 and wrote about the lovely time we had there. Unfortunately our recent stay was not as good! We stayed the same weekend for our anniversary and to go to the races. This time we took two other couples with us. I booked the rooms 12 months ago asking for 3 executive rooms at £95 each and i also asked if we could have the same room we had last time. On arrival we just put our bags in the room and came straight out as we had a minibus waiting to take us into Chester for the races. We returned at around 7.15pm to find the following wrong with our room; toilet had NOT been cleaned it had sick around the bowl from the last guest, bathroom floor not swept or mopped, carpet not hoovered as we found a sweet wrapper, a toe or finger nail and other bits, tea and coffee tray not filled up correctly, a carrier bag in the hairdryer draw, on the plus side a pound coin. I went down to reception and told the young girl there. She said that the housekkepers had finished for the night and just gave me an apology. ON departure it was another receptionist so i told her, again i just got an apology and she said that the receptionist should have come and cleaned it. We were not offered another room as the hotel was full with a wedding party and were not offered any kind of refund.
Last year the hotel was owned by Best Western but that doesnt seem to be the case now. The food however was very nice and the restaurant manager was very eager to please as he was last year.
We were going to make this a annual trip but next year i think we will be staying at the hotel next door that is run by Best Western.
Very dissapointed!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed at Rossett Hall with my partner just after Christmas in 2008. I couldn't fault our room and the staff did everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. We had a lovely meal at Oscar's Restaurant too, the steak was fantastic. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Chester and the North Wales countryside.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjimino87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Having stayed in the hotel many times before, my girlfriend and I booked a weekend away in North Wales.The hotel is very clean & tidy and the staff are always on hand to do anything they can for you. We stayed in one of the new executive rooms which were great as they had a fridge in them! The restaurant was also very nice, it's been done up since the last time we came and looks a lot better now, very modern. The food was as nice as always, I remember the portions used to be quite big and I was happy to see they still are! Although my girlfriend couldn't finish her meal, I took great pleasure in helping her out! Would certainly reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happymadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

The hotel has no air con and only one medium sized window to ventilate the room and couple this with a very hot winter duvet option, it did not deliver a pleasant 2 night stay. The air was stale and the bathroom smelt of wet dogs. The size of the room was good and the shower was really poweful and breakfast was the usual selection. There are other options nearby and would investiagte these in the future, if you wanted to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britney2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We booked this hotel after trawling through the internet ,and what a choice !!
We arrived late on the friday evening and were greeted by a very polite night porter who sorted out all our needs.
The room was beautifuly decorated and the bathroom was huge, the shower was very powerful and we also had a bath !!
The breakfast was a buffet style but there was ample choice,our evening meal was truly exceptional.
The whole package which was labled under "summer sizzler" was well worth the extra few pounds.
I would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossett
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossett Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossett Hall Hotel

Property: Rossett Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Rd, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 ODE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Rossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rossett Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossett Hall Hotel is a fine Georgian Country House Hotel, situated in the idyllic village of Rossett, just minutes from Chester Business Park and the Motorway network. All 49 rooms are fully equipped with telephones, tea/coffee, facilities, trouser press and there are two conference rooms. In the evening you will find that Oscars Brasserie provides the ideal venue to relax and sample the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Lastminute so you can book your Rossett Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Rossett Hall Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing