We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub, Food was great.”
Review of Griffin Inn Pub

Griffin Inn Pub
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Rossett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Griffin Inn trevalyn is a traditional country pub serving award winning cask ales. Traditional pub grub will be back on in March. Camping and caravan site will be up and running in a few weeks too. As the new landlords we have been working tirelessly improving the and renovating the venue.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Food was great.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have been in The Griffin many times, its a lovely friendly pub. Very cosy.
My family eat there for the first time last week since new management had taken over.
The food was fantastic, four of us shared two of the Platters to Share. They were delicious with loads to eat.
Our friends had The Griffin burger and the Salmon fillet. All plates went back to the kitchen empty. Good sign !!!!!! And the Waffle with caramel sauce fudge pieces and honeycomb ice cream is a dessert I may have to try again and again.
Will be going back to eat without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BevD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    24
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely pub meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a lovely meal last week at the griffin inn. There was something on the menu for the whole family, and the food was prompt and hot. We had the griffin platter to share for starter and it was very generous, and for main 2 steak pie and chips and a burger. Nicely presented, piping hot and tasty. Very good pub grub and very generous portions too, and a nice busy and bustling atmosphere as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Change of management - shame!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Apparently this pub relaunched/reopened on 31st May 2014. My aunt booked a table for 4 for 1st June. They had no record of the booking (and we were not the only ones according to the conversation I overheard). The food was a great let down. A "healthy option" baked potato was slathered in butter! And no vegetables appeared with my meal despite the menu claiming there would be peas. The cost of the meal was way out of proportion to the quality of the food. £62 for 4 people for one course and drinks is not what I would expect to pay for pub grub, and that was all the meal was. Shame the new management could not keep the previous chef! Someone should tell the chef about "healthy options". We will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinInnTrevalyn, Owner at Griffin Inn Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As we have recently taken over at the Griffin there may be a time period where the diary may not be correct, unfortunately I can only go on the information given in the diary. Our new booking procedure is now robust and records all the relevant information directly into the diary at the time of booking whilst the customer is still on the phone. This will greatly reduce any errors in future. As for the food issues you raised, if the staff had been made aware at the time we could of very easily rectified these issues for you. The two chefs who prepared your food are the same chefs as previous, they have remained at the Griffin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We waited well over an hour for our food! Waitresses were very apologetic but no apology from management. Being charged over £2.50 for a diet coke is daylight robbery! Very disappointed and will definitely not be going again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinInnTrevalyn, Owner at Griffin Inn Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I apologise for your food taking some time to reach you. The date in question was an extremely busy weekend and as you state the staff are expected to communicate to everyone the expected time for their meal. We are a small country pub, our kitchen produces quality fresh food to order, for this reason at busy times there may be a wait. We are not a fast food restaurant, unfortunately on this particular day we did not meet your expectation and again offer an apology. I'm sure if you returned you will have a better experience. At the time you where dinning the waitress that served you was the manager in charge and responded as trained. The cost of a pint of diet Pepsi is £2.50 which is reasonable, many other restaurants charge this for a normal size drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Cosy village pub”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is an old fashioned village pub .It has a small caravan park at the rear of it so it's a handy place for lunch and evening meals. The food was good and the atmosphere, on the night we went, was warm and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank se262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Griffin Inn Pub also viewed

 

Been to Griffin Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing