We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Meal and Service”
Review of Fairyhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairyhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First Class Meal and Service”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Took my wife here for a meal on her birthday. Just a fantastic experience from the moment you put your feet through the door. The lounge area is lovely and you can enjoy a nice drink here whilst deciding what to eat. The food we had was outstanding with a nice interval between courses. Your table appears to be yours for the night so there was no sense of being rushed. Whilst some would say the food is on the expensive side I disagree. You get what you pay for and the portion sizes are perfect allowing you to enjoy all 3 courses! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    60
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
215
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Fairyhill for just one night to celebrate our anniversary. A beautiful Georgian mansion surrounded by 24 acres of park/ woodland, this hotel is situated close to Oxwich Bay on the Gower Peninsular. Service was exemplary- champagne was waiting for us on ice in our room. We sat on the terrace to enjoy our liquid treat and took in the autumnal splendour of our surroundings. Beautiful! A perfect bolt hole.
We explored the gardens and walked around the lake and kitchen garden too- all very impressive, although not as extensive as we'd expected 24 acres to be. It only took us 30-40 mins to cover the whole area.
Our room (room 1) was classically furnished with huge sash windows framing that fantastic view! The bed was huge and fantastically comfortable- although a little short for both of us. The bathroom was modern and spacious.
Food was outstanding in the restaurant. Both our evening meal and breakfast were well cooked and offered a good variety of choices. The fresh fruit salad and yoghurt was particularly good as was the full Welsh breakfast. Our first taste of laver bread was not so well received.
Would recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. If you want to stay for 1 night only, wait until a few days before to make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Fairyhill last week for 3 nights and contrary to a previous review about it needing more polish, we loved the relaxed atmosphere... please Fairyhill don't change anything it strikes the perfect balance for a restaurant with rooms. Food delicious, staff helpful, charming without being at one's elbow all the time. We loved it! We can't wait to return - the perfect retreat from the hurly burly of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joollew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our visit to Fairyhill restaurant started badly with a difficult approach including a reverse in the dark for on coming traffic down a lane with no passing spaces in a 4x4. The welcome was very friendly and the gin and tonic with Brecon Gin was excellent, this helped to calm the nerves. The service was efficient and whilst the food was first class the portions were modest for the price. The wine list was amazing and my only regret was having to drive.
Fairyhill had been recommended by friends and whilst it is an excellent restaurant we didn't feel we had really had value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Nice enough but service levels fall far below what you would expect given the prices charged......just a bit more polish needed. Top prices warrant a bore more attention to detail TNT was lacking on the day we called in......

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardenjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Well. I am not sure whether this could count as a review or not because we never actually got there for our treat of the week of afternoon tea! Or more accurately when I phoned to find out if they were still offering it in 1st week of October I was told quite coldly I should have pre-booked at least 24 hours in advance, given a pre-order and left credit card details................all that for just afternoon tea!!. Come on, who are you kidding for sandwiches and cake, its afternoon tea not a Banquet.

We had called at the Hotel earlier in the week, collected the literature, which says afternoon tea Mon- Sat. 3.00pm to 5.00pm and seriously considered having an evening meal as the menu looked superb. However that one little and obviously insignificant afternoon tea incident really soured the milk and turned us away completely. Sorry to say it smacked of at least a lack of customer service skills on the phone to maybe explain the policy, flew in the face of the published information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M80KMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and experienced two fantastic dinners. A tremendous team of characters ll with a sense of humour and time to spend with their customers. This was one of our best ever UK experiences.The food was truly exceptional bravo chaps keep your hearts large and your quality high

Room Tip: There is not a swimming pool or fitness centre this is for relaxing and experiencing the true sereni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WineHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynoldston
3.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
628 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
163 reviews
11.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
974 reviews
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyhill

Property: Fairyhill
Address: Reynoldston SA3 1BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Reynoldston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairyhill 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairyhill is the jewel in the crown of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. For those looking for fantastic food, great atmosphere and peaceful surroundings, you will find what others have talked about for years. Imaginative use of traditional ingredients restaurant, an award-winning wine list, eight luxury bedrooms, combine to create an unforgettable ambience that is "The Fairyhill Experience". Conveniently situated for Gower beaches, Mumbles and Swansea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairyhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyhill Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing