We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Fairyhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairyhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Certificate of Excellence
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Visited Fairyhill Hotel for Sunday lunch on 8th December. The service from the moment we entered the hotel( the front door being opened for you by a member of staff. Nice touch) was excellent. We sat in a very comfortable lounge while we browsed the lunch menu which had very good choices. The lunch itself was very tasty. The wine list is also extensive. We finished our meal back in that very comfortable lounge in front of a lovely fire sipping coffee. A delightful day.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    61
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
217
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked last minute, which proved to be good value. We relaxed as soon as we walked through the front door, and saw and felt the lit log burner in Reception. We were welcomed and showed straight to our room. We had been upgraded which was a bonus. The room was beautiful, spacious and warm. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant and the service during our stay was excellent. A really enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful experience on our beautiful welsh coast.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We really needed a break. And this was exactly what the doctor ordered. Fairyhill is one of those special places, where you relax from the moment you arrive. As we drove down the narrow lane on the Friday night, a young heron strolled ahead of us. Our room No 6 was extremely spacious, clean and comfortable, and our Ren toiletries and Welsh bottled water and Welsh cakes lovely touches. All our dinners were excellent - the fish especially high quality, and the presentation of each dish beautiful. Breakfast was huge. We came away after four nights completely unwound. Perfect!

Room Tip: Room One has more light than Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Took my wife here for a meal on her birthday. Just a fantastic experience from the moment you put your feet through the door. The lounge area is lovely and you can enjoy a nice drink here whilst deciding what to eat. The food we had was outstanding with a nice interval between courses. Your table appears to be yours for the night so there was no sense of being rushed. Whilst some would say the food is on the expensive side I disagree. You get what you pay for and the portion sizes are perfect allowing you to enjoy all 3 courses! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Fairyhill for just one night to celebrate our anniversary. A beautiful Georgian mansion surrounded by 24 acres of park/ woodland, this hotel is situated close to Oxwich Bay on the Gower Peninsular. Service was exemplary- champagne was waiting for us on ice in our room. We sat on the terrace to enjoy our liquid treat and took in the autumnal splendour of our surroundings. Beautiful! A perfect bolt hole.
We explored the gardens and walked around the lake and kitchen garden too- all very impressive, although not as extensive as we'd expected 24 acres to be. It only took us 30-40 mins to cover the whole area.
Our room (room 1) was classically furnished with huge sash windows framing that fantastic view! The bed was huge and fantastically comfortable- although a little short for both of us. The bathroom was modern and spacious.
Food was outstanding in the restaurant. Both our evening meal and breakfast were well cooked and offered a good variety of choices. The fresh fruit salad and yoghurt was particularly good as was the full Welsh breakfast. Our first taste of laver bread was not so well received.
Would recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. If you want to stay for 1 night only, wait until a few days before to make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Fairyhill last week for 3 nights and contrary to a previous review about it needing more polish, we loved the relaxed atmosphere... please Fairyhill don't change anything it strikes the perfect balance for a restaurant with rooms. Food delicious, staff helpful, charming without being at one's elbow all the time. We loved it! We can't wait to return - the perfect retreat from the hurly burly of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joollew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our visit to Fairyhill restaurant started badly with a difficult approach including a reverse in the dark for on coming traffic down a lane with no passing spaces in a 4x4. The welcome was very friendly and the gin and tonic with Brecon Gin was excellent, this helped to calm the nerves. The service was efficient and whilst the food was first class the portions were modest for the price. The wine list was amazing and my only regret was having to drive.
Fairyhill had been recommended by friends and whilst it is an excellent restaurant we didn't feel we had really had value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynoldston
1.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
644 reviews
3.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
159 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
168 reviews
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyhill

Property: Fairyhill
Address: Reynoldston SA3 1BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Reynoldston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairyhill 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairyhill is the jewel in the crown of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. For those looking for fantastic food, great atmosphere and peaceful surroundings, you will find what others have talked about for years. Imaginative use of traditional ingredients restaurant, an award-winning wine list, eight luxury bedrooms, combine to create an unforgettable ambience that is "The Fairyhill Experience". Conveniently situated for Gower beaches, Mumbles and Swansea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairyhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyhill Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing