We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stay in lots of hotels and this was a good 'un ”
Review of Fairyhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairyhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I stay in lots of hotels and this was a good 'un ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Good service, friendly but not obsequious. Food as good as any elsewhere - imaginative but not pretentious. Rooms were fine. Grounds very beautiful. Well done Andrew and Paul. Can't imagine that anyone but professional complainers could have much of a moan.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    58
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
56
212
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very friendly welcome and and canapes of laverbread quiche and olives excellent..My only complaint would be the Vegetarian main courses ---the portion of risotto was very very small and the other main course of arthichoke salad was just a bowl of leaves artichokes peas beans,,,extremely boring.It was a very pleasant afternoon and a great pity that the veggie main courses were so poor.The laverbread quiche would have been a much better option.A few of the party were still hungry when we left.An expensive lunch to feel hungry afterwards!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First class welcome by the staff on arrival for lunch - not having booked! We were found a table and offered drinks and nibbles then the menus. The orders were taken and served within twenty minutes and all plates well presented. As lunch progressed we found out that the restaurant was fully booked for lunch that day, so credit to the delightful waitresses who fitted us in,making us feel very welcome to enjoy our leisurely lunch which we certainly did.
The total bill for two including coffee and drinks came to £69 a little pricey but good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The good points; great location, pretty house and expansive (though poorly kept) grounds, an amazing wine list, relaxed service.
The bad points: a very small room, costing £190 per night, hard mattress and next door's TV meant we didn't sleep as well as expected. Towel rail in bathroom didn't work. Fruit in the room was 3 oranges (in July!) Having to take dinner on friday night (good enough food, but expensive for what it was) Nespresso coffee!
We can't really complain here about the price, as we knew what it would cost when we booked, BUT the inexplicable mistake on our bill when we checked out - somebody else's fault of course!- and the insistence initially that they were right and I was wrong, followed by an insincere apology, totally spoilt what should have been a very special treat. To add insult to injury, we left a couple of small items in the room(nobody does this on purpose) and they would only post them back after we made the £5 minimum charge (actual postage £2.84) The worst £800+ I have ever spent on a break away, paid less recently for 3 nights in a beautifully spacious room in The Savoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Delighted to have found Fairy Hill. My fiancé and I were looking for a relaxing weekend break - and we found it. A great setting, v friendly staff, good standard of room & dining. The Swedish massage, dinner, wine and welsh breakfast - v good indeed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlastairL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We didn't stay at Fairyhill but had booked dinner for a Saturady night whilst spending a long weekend in the Gower to attend a wedding the night before. We chose Fairyhill for our meal based on the good reviews and were really glad we did. The hotel is in a lovely setting and we enjoyed a drink and canapes on the terrace before our meal. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere; quite quiet and formal but also welcoming. The service was very good and we both really enjoyed our meals; goats cheese courgette flowers and pork belly to start followed by rump of lamb and duck breast. All were imaginatively cooked to a very high standard. Our desserts - panna cotta and white chocolate mousse - were equally as enjoyable. Really lovely meal and I would highly recommend it. The food was of an excellent standard, on a par with London restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhunt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

For the Mr's birthday treat I decided to go west and try Fairyhill on the Gower Peninsula. Neither of us had been here before although when Dilys was very small, I took her to Oxwich Bay and Castle. We booked for 12noon and before we went though, we sat in the lounge for 10-15 minutes having a drink. We were shown to our table right next to another couple in a corner which to be honest was a bit closer than I would have liked - he spoke very loudly on his phone and she kept jumping out of her seat to take selfies with him.

Anyway, our food began to arrive and it was all lovely. Rob had the chicken liver parfait for starters and I had the cured salmon which were just the right size. The wine Rob chose as he's not a big daytime drinker was a half bottle of Dr Loosen Riesling which he said was very good. For mains I chose the pork shoulder with potato gratin and Rob had the hake which came with what looked like a beautiful beetroot sauce and salad. Both meals were wonderful and really well cooked.

Desserts were also lovely and I had the dark chocolate brownie with cream and raspberries and Rob had the white chocolate and raspberry mousses with chilli jelly - he said the chilli jelly had quite a kick to it!

Coffees were served back in the lounge with a small selection of petit fours. We had a great lunch for a special occasion - it was a shame that as soon as we arrived it started raining so we couldn't enjoy the fabulous looking gardens. We'll definitely come back to Fairyhill, maybe in the winter for my birthday meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynoldston
3.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
12.0 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
11.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyhill

Property: Fairyhill
Address: Reynoldston SA3 1BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Reynoldston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairyhill 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairyhill is the jewel in the crown of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. For those looking for fantastic food, great atmosphere and peaceful surroundings, you will find what others have talked about for years. Imaginative use of traditional ingredients restaurant, an award-winning wine list, eight luxury bedrooms, combine to create an unforgettable ambience that is "The Fairyhill Experience". Conveniently situated for Gower beaches, Mumbles and Swansea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairyhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyhill Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing