We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to escape”
other travellers have booked this property
It is the perfect hideaway for up to two people.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
It is the perfect hideaway for up to two people.
Stunning views across the rolling hills of Mid-Wales and Shropshire The hut is situated in its own private field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
It is the perfect hideaway for up to two people.
Stunning views across the rolling hills of Mid-Wales and Shropshire
The hut is situated in its own private field
The hut has been furnished to make it into a comfortable space to relax, rest and sleep
Lots of cushions, pillows, bolsters and quilts transform the bed into a luxurious reading den.
The small but efficient woodburner will keep you warm and toasty.
You will have your own composting toilet and washbasin housed in 'Y Caban” just behind the hut.
Y Caban is a rustic and cosy space
Washbasin in the composting toilet
There is a basic outdoor-kitchenette in 'Y Caban” for making drinks and cooking light meals
Al fresco eating, drinking, writing, painting, drawing, reading... with a view!
Stunning sunsets from the hut
Included is a choice of either a cooked breakfast at our house (a short walk away)...
...or a basket of breakfast goodies delivered to the hut.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montgomery, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alexandra...
Houilles, France
1 review
“Great place to escape”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in the hut, it was such a peaceful weekend. The hut was so cosy and nicely decorated. We spend quite a lot of time outside as the weather was great. In the evening the stars all came out and it was beautiful to watch. The hosts are really nice and having the breakfast delivered to the hut I'm the morning was such a nice touch! I would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Thank you, Alex, for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Rural and Rustic Shepherd's Hut. You were certainly blessed with glorious weather all weekend. Stargazing is a truly wonderful experience that many of our guests enjoy. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
1 review
“Beautiful and Relaxing.”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed in the shepherds hut for 3 nights, well it was absolutely fantastic, it really was a lovely relaxing time. The hosts, Maryline and Peter were so lovely and welcoming, anything you needed Maryline was more than happy to help with. We have already recommeneded it to all our friends and family, some have already booked up. The pictures only capture a tiny amount of this little huts charm, when the door is first opened on arrival it explodes with character and colour.

The surrounding area is lovely and peaceful with Montgomery town only a few miles away there is plenty to see, although we didn't get out and do much, when we did, we was always met with the same kindness throughout, a truly nice area.

It is definitely worth experiencing!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, James, and for recommending us. We're so glad you and Paige had a fantastic time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Attention to detail everywhere you look, oh and a gorgeous view!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at Maryline and Peter's beautiful shepherds hut. They made us feel incredibly welcome, despite us arriving a lot later than planned. The hut is very cosy, and beautifully decorated with little finishing touches everywhere you look. The manual is informative, well written and of course has Maryline's artistic flair all the way through. We visited Powis Castle (National Trust) and in the evening walked down to the Nag's Head for an amazing meal. We walked back up the lane in the dark but took the torch from the hut with us just in case, but didn't meet a single car.

One highlight was the delivered continental breakfast - it was like opening up a Christmas hamper!

Thank you both for a wonderful stay. x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you, Becci, for your lovely review. So glad you had a great time and we are honoured you chose to spend your anniversary at our shepherd's hut. Hope you come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood2...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were lucky enough to stay in the idyllic Rural and Rustic Shepherds hut at the beginning of May this year.

Set in its own small field with panoramic views of the Welsh countryside it has been a wonderful find. For anyone who wants to step away from the hubbub of life and relax in the peace and quiet of this delightfulrural setting it is a must.

After meeting our hosts Maryline and Peter we walked the short distance to the hut which is just as cosy as the pictures suggest and the bed was so comfortable that we almost regretted ordering breakfast for 8:30.

The attention to detail is superb, the cooked breakfast in the farmhouse was delicious, or try the continental brought to the hut to enjoy whilst sitting outside listening to the birdsong taking in the glorious views.

If you want/need to step off grid, relax and regain a sense of tranquility and harmony then this is the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed staying in the shepherd''s hut. We loved meeting you both. Till next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennett20...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a wonderful stay in the shepherds hut, cosy, warm and inviting.
Everything provided with a lot of attention to the small details, just turn up and relax.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Wonderful to hear! Thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
1 review
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked at short notice to find some peace and a break away from frenetic activity.

The weather was kind, the hospitality was stupendous, views were stunning, the basic nature of the hut was a Godsend. After only three nights we were restored and found inner peace.

The five star hospitality was entirely natural and effortless in its delivery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely words, Graham and Dianne. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. Come again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked for one night on a warm weekend at the end of May. Check in was from 4pm and we decided to bring some food for the evening to make the most of our stay. We were lucky to be staying on the warmest night of the year so far and sat out with our food and a glass of wine until after dark looking at the stars. There was a selection of books in the hut and nice touches such as a stargazing chart, binoculars and some delicious homemade cake waiting for us. It was too warm to use the wood burning stove but it would be lovely on a cooler day.
The bed was incredibly comfortable with woollen mattress and duvet and very attractive soft furnishings. We had an amazing night's sleep which could have been down to all the fresh air we had that day or the lavender bags tucked under our pillows - another nice detail. We opted to have breakfast delivered to the hut and it didn't disappoint - a lovely fruit and yoghurt granola followed by croissants and pain-au-chocolate and a flask of tea. There was also tea and coffee in the cabin next door with fresh water provided.
Sadly we had to leave after one night, but would love to go back for a longer stay one day. The owners Maryline and Peter were helpful and friendly and lent us a wheelbarrow to get our belongings down to the hut. If you are looking to get away from it all this is the perfect place, the views are pretty amazing too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely words of appreciation, Philip. We're glad you and Helen enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing