We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty average hotel”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pretty average hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The dragon was a pretty average hotel. There are very few in the area so your stuck for choice really. There isnt anything really bad with it but for the price we expected a bit more. The room was a select room however there wasnt much to show this was above the offering of a standard room other than being a little bigger but it still wasnt that big of a room. The decor could have been a little more updated and the bed unfortunately was probably one of the most uncomfortable and noisiest we have slept on. Even a slight turn would cause a big creak.

The bathroom had a bath with only a shower attachment which was a disappointment as it was hard to use the shower as there was no shower curtain or way of the shower head being held up so we could only have a bath.

It is right in the middle of the town and while there is not anything specifically wrong with the hotel, for the price paid (£210 for 3 nights) We expected a lot better but unfortunately were a bit let down.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    110
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
117
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Bit pricey considering the very tired pool & pool changing rooms had cobwebs in. good location for beautiful countryside walks.

Great breakfast. Nice friendly staff & reasonable room.

needs better outdoor area at rear - maybe grass / small trees / wooden or slate tables or benches?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoFarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked this hotel, because we were going to do some walking in the Mid Wales Borders and the thought of a Swimming Pool and Sauna, appealed, plus there were mentions of Food awards etc. It was my wife's birthday so we thought we would treat ourselves.
The location and exterior of the hotel were very good, in the town square at the foot of the castle.
parking is a bit hit and miss with the car park being out front of the hotel and open to guests and the public.
The biggest disappointment was learning on checking in that the leisure facilities were closed for refurbishment. No mention was made of this fact was made on a couple of the web sites I had checked, and used to make a booking. I did not check directly with the hotel, I would strongly advise people to do so if this is one of the reasons you are selecting this hotel. The receptionist told me the refurbishments had overrun and it would be ready in Dec (2013)

The room was ok, had plenty of character, with sloping, floors, ceilings and walls. The four poster bed was of more modern design and did not really fit into the room, form a décor point and physically as they had to bodge the top of it to fit under the beam. The room was of a good size, but the layout could have been a little better, and the same could be said for the en-suite, big room, nice bath, ludicrously small shower.
The bed was comfortable and we did get a good nights sleep.

The evening meal was a little of a let down in terms of quality. The staff were pleasant, but the evening service was a little slow. We both had gammon and egg, unfortunately, both were very over cooked, and there were no vegetables with it, only chips. The Baily's cheesecake for desert was nice. I think the place is under new ownership, so I hope they make a success of it and quickly sort out the place, as it could be really nice.

The breakfast was very good, nice cooked breakfast plus cereals etc.

It is in a lovely area and should be considered, however the price is a little high for what is basically a pub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon M, Owner at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We,the new owners took over the hotel in the summer of 2013 and since then, a major exercise has been carried out putting in a new swimming pool which is now up and running and available for hotel guests.

The head chef we initially inherited was unfortunately too inexperienced and he has now moved on and we are very pleased with our new head chef Matt and his new weekly menus began during January 2014 and we have had a very positive response to date.

Wi-Fi is now free in all bedrooms, although in our part of the world the signal can still be patchy at times, and we have now re-categorised some of the smaller bedrooms and reduced the prices for these rooms.

The dining room, kitchen and bar have all now been refurbished.

The previous owners had a four star AA rating as an Inn rather than a hotel. This has caused some confusion. Historically the hotel had a two star AA hotel rating, but improvements have since been made, and our own unauthorised rating would be for 3 stars.

We apologise for any issues that may have faced through our initial period of ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed for a function. So room was only to sleep. Room was tired with blankets rather than duvets. I believe this has been updated. Hostess was a lovely lady very welcoming. Didnt have breakfast but the dining area and menu did look very good. A nice quirky hotel would stay again if it has had a revamp.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I needed to stay in Montgomery at short notice and the Dragon was the only place with availability. I remember staying here years ago but hadn't been back in a long while. The exterior is the typical black and white of this area and the Dragon is described as an old coaching inn. It's obviously a very old building and the layout reflects that - a rabbit warren of corridors with no lift leading to rooms of varying sizes. My room was a shoe box with the tiniest shower room I've ever seen - the proverbial cat would have had no chance of being swung here. It's clean and functional with all the basics (TV, kettle, hairdryer) but the decor is distinctly dated, with uncomfortable foam pillows and mattress and a shower door that leaked. It was fine for one night, but the smallness of the room wouldn't have worked for anything longer. OK if you don't mind small rooms and dated décor at a reasonable price (£70 for a double with single occupancy) but if you prefer something more spacious and modern, this is probably not for you. Evidently the hotel is under new ownership so it will be interesting to see what improvements they make.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I booked our 2-night stay before the change of ownership in July and I admit that I did become a bit concerned after reading some TripAdvisor reviews before staying there.

But, I needn’t have worried at all as we thoroughly enjoyed “The Dragon” experience. It’s a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

We enjoyed excellent evening meals on both nights, plus tasty cooked breakfasts (they use locally sourced produce in all their meals, which is what we like to see). Bar prices for drinks are reasonable too.

ROOM 5 (twin beds) at the front of the hotel overlooking the Town Hall was spacious, comfy and quiet during our weekend stay. The Town Hall clock doesn’t chime through the night, thankfully. Room 5 has a good-sized en-suite bath/shower room, but the shower wasn’t all that powerful (low water pressure?).

The new owners have ambitious plans to “improve” the hotel, and we’ve said that we’ll go back there in a year or two to see what’s changed, as Montgomery is such a lovely historic town.

YES, we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreweAlexForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romiley, Stockport, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Room was very good. Food was overall very good, particularly breakfast, but dinner menu needs to vary a bit more when staying for 3 nights. Service was exceptional and any queries or problems were dealt with straight away. Attractive-looking hotel in a lovely small town.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems mention this when booking - this is a really lovely old hotel but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing