We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint old pub and hotel”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint old pub and hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed one night here - the building is full of charm and creaky floorboards. Room was well decorated and comfortable, but not the hugest room or bathroom. However quite acceptable. We dined there, very nice dining room and very good food. Staff very attentive and polite. The swimming pool is now open again and was clean and warm. Would go again.

Room Tip: The front rooms may hear the nearby bells, though these don't go on all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    111
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
117
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrangbrook
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I Can't really review the hotel as we only saw the reception and the bar. The reception is not somewhere that you'd like to stand for three hours while they try to sort out double booking cock ups, so we adjourned to the bar. The receptionist was very helpful in trying to find alternative accommodation from a small list she had, completely avoiding our comments that we had already had a long day and didn't want to drive to Chester, nor did we want to drive back from Chester the next day. Our offer to bed down in the un-used function room was laughed off and finally at 10pm we were offered accommodation in an unfinished nearby guest house which was owned by one of the bar staff. We were blissfully happy and thankful when this was sorted out and retired immediately to bed.

Despite the hotel having an email with our booking on it, they continued to blame Booking.com for the cock up, and subsequently Booking.com have confirmed that our booking was made and would take this up with the hotel. I suppose it was the easy option to blame someone who could not be contacted to shout at on the night.

We were competing on a rally over the weekend and luckily it was an early finish Saturday and a late start Sunday, other rallies with less favourable start times would have been a completely different story.

In the hotel's defence, we were supplied with a couple of rounds of drinks and offered a "main course" wile we were waiting. (declined as we'd already eaten) Many thanks for that.

I am not sure whether this is a fair review of the hotel because of our situation but it is certainly a warning to not trust communications between hotel and booking agent. I think this one is down to the antiquated booking system being used by the hotel and the booking agent's inability to access or populate this system. Time may tell.

Room Tip: Check that you have a room first. A good room is a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave_hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is only a few miles from home for us but it has everything, superb food , a pool, clean tidy cosy rooms and brilliant service. I had spent weeks looking forward to our stay for valentines night a couple of weeks ago and Sarah and Sara went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time! Little added extras made it special and personal and I am very grateful for the time and thought these two lovely ladies went to. The dragon should be very pleased with the team they have working for them , everything was as you would expect and couldn't have asked for more . The indoor pool was such a nice treat too , the size and temperature just perfect, the building it is housed in is somewhat tired and damp but easily forgiven once you enjoy the actual pool and fun you can have in it. Sauna would have topped it off but we were very pleased with what we had and how our stay went . Will def book again for our next kid-free night away :) xx

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I went for a family meal in the restaurant and I'd like to say what lovely decor it has,relaxing and clean,the staff were very knowledgeable,professional and friendly,the food (steak) was cooked exactly how I like it (rare),went into bar after and the bar staff were again knowledgeable,professional and friendly :),went again next day to use the pool,wow,it had been renovated to a better standard and the water was warm,lovely,the sauna is yet to be renovated so wasn't able to use that but will be going back to use it when it is done!! Very happy with my visits :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms and service too poor for asked price. Internet connection makes you really crazy. Room cold and not clean. No food in the evening just a minute after 9PM. Not enough attention to long staing customers . Great for vacation people only with good beer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 519eug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragon M, Owner at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate all feedback - good or not so good!

We were disappointed to hear the comments regarding our rooms as we are proud of the standard of cleanliness (other reviewers and our own hotel questionnaires rate the room cleanliness highly). Some of our rooms are a bit old fashioned and quirky, mainly due to the age of our lovely old building, but they are definitely clean and warm.

Last orders in the kitchen are at 9pm but the chef and staff are always happy to provide sandwiches/soup, etc when the kitchen has been shut and cleaned. Also, advance notice of late arrival will ensure we can provide the best possible service "out of hours".

The age of the hotel and its position in the town can affect our free WiFi. We are in the process of installing boosters to improve the signal as much as possible and hope to have this new system in place very soon.

With best wishes from owners and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent the night here - beautiful location, excellent food, fantastic breakfast. worth another visit. Some outstanding local beer and very friendly staff. Bartenders even stayed very late as we were having a little too much fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The dragon was a pretty average hotel. There are very few in the area so your stuck for choice really. There isnt anything really bad with it but for the price we expected a bit more. The room was a select room however there wasnt much to show this was above the offering of a standard room other than being a little bigger but it still wasnt that big of a room. The decor could have been a little more updated and the bed unfortunately was probably one of the most uncomfortable and noisiest we have slept on. Even a slight turn would cause a big creak.

The bathroom had a bath with only a shower attachment which was a disappointment as it was hard to use the shower as there was no shower curtain or way of the shower head being held up so we could only have a bath.

It is right in the middle of the town and while there is not anything specifically wrong with the hotel, for the price paid (£210 for 3 nights) We expected a lot better but unfortunately were a bit let down.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing