We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful village”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
vavuniya
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful village”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

You need go to Montgomery a pretty village if you need visit memorable Bunners - the shop that has the nail in the haystack.It has an affordable antique shop that sells SMALL BUT BEAUTIFUL THINGS. Amidst all this is the Dragon Hotel which is mediocre at everything and provides a breakfast hastily prepared.Not to standards maintained in Wales.But probably the best place in a must visit village

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    107
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
114
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a mid week break at the Dragon Hotel.
Super time, nice room, caring staff, ample leasurly breakfast, splendid evening meal.
No complaints at all.
Live music on a Wednesday night was an unexpected treat.
The swiming pool is a hidden jem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Dragon Hotel changed hands last year, being taken over by a syndicate of locals to stop it falling into the hands of a conglomerate. It works well and the staff are happy and very helpful.

We stayed there for three nights as part of a group of twelve or so old Morgan car owners. My wife and I had asked for a quiet room on the first floor and Room 4 fitted the bill, despite being above the reception area. The room was “cosy”, i.e. small but it was clean and had everything we needed including a comfortable bed and lovely big bath towels. WiFi wasn’t good in the room but OK in the bar area. Some rooms on the second floor have restricted headroom so be careful if you’re tall. Room 16 looked lovely, new carpets fitted while we were there. It’s a premium room though so a bit pricey.

The bar has a good range of beers including the local “Monty’s” range. We had dinner in the restaurant on two nights. Pleasant food and a reasonable choice, at the top end of the price range for the area. Desserts were tasty but disappointingly small and certainly not value for money. Cooked breakfasts were good but short on fresh fruit; prunes were the only option I saw. On day three of our stay there were no cereals either. One of our group pronounced the vegetarian sausage to be very tasty and nice.

The swimming pool is housed in a rather uninviting timber building in the car park but don’t be put off. It’s a modern pool and worth a visit.

Montgomery is a great centre for touring and walking. Plenty of local shops and cafés. A visit to Bunners hardware shop is a “must”. If you’re staying in Montgomery, I’d recommend The Dragon.

I'd rate the hotel as "Good" but Tripadvisor doesn't have such a category.

Room Tip: If you're tall, ask for a room on the first floor. Many second floor rooms have restricted headr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We only stopped off for lunch but can say that we had an excellent lunch and the staff were really friendly. Montgomery is a delightful little town and well worth breaking a longer journey here for lunch and a look around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a lovely hotel in a picture perfect town. We stayed here for a walking weekend and enjoyed every minute. The friendly staff can't do enough to help, genuinely kind and helpful. The food in the bar was excellent and what a nice atmosphere, the hotel is a real hub for the community. Good hearty breakfast. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just had very enjoyable three day break in this gem of a hotel. Every body was so kind and helpful and the accommodation and food was excellent. I will certainly be telling evert Bobby about this lovely old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent an enjoyable couple of days walking the Offa's Dyke path and the Kerry ridgeway with my girlfriend. I knew of the Dragon Hotel only from having taken a meal there, some 10 years previously.
Was pleased to get a double room at quite late notice, and over Easter for what seemed a reasonable £49 room only
Checking in was friendly an unfussy, receptionist was quite happy to check with the chamber maid, to accommodate us a little earlier than the norm. Room was in keeping with the architecture of the building, charming and characterful, but spotlessly clean, and really comfy mattress on the bed.
Felt ravenous on our return, from an afternoon stroll on the ODP and booked a table for dinner. Bit of a mix up on the reservation time, but very well handled by the restaurant manager. Enjoyed a hearty evening meal, steak and ale pie being particularly enjoyable for myself, and my partners, lamb curry was wolfed down......:)
Most enjoyable stay, real gem of a building, friendly and attentive staff, what's not to like.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
567 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
378 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
316 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
123 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing