We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An experience worth experiencing!

While staying for a few days in Wales we were told that we must visit Bessy's and try the Bass beer... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Anne-marie M
,
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Loved it!

Where do I start? No draft beers, just excellent pints of Bass poured from a jug through a serving... read more

Reviewed 4 January 2019
deanothebaggie
,
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
55
11
0
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
11
0
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bass the pub step back in time crisps beer garden well worth the visit living room serving hatch an institution jug barrel dyffryn landlady ale dog pembrokeshire draft
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If in this area of Pembrokeshire (Fishguard/Newport/Cardigan) a visit to 'Bessies' is a must. Nestling in the unspoilt beauty of the Gwaun Valley, this little pub is caught in a time warp of 17/18 th century. A front room bar with serving hatch to the cellar behind, where the barrels are racked and beer is brought straight from the barrel by jug. You are surrounded by early 20th century pictures and Bessy herself is a really charming lady, now over 80, who will come and sit on the customer side of the hatch and chat when time allows. A must to visit before time like all else bears it away.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Chrisandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Brilliant pub run by Bessie serving excellent Bass straight out of the keg - great start and/or end to stunning walks up and down the valley

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Andy1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Called in with my family on 19t July 2013. Entered into a narrow passage on one side was Bessie's living room which dated back to the forties. On the left was the Bar/Lounge with a hole in the wall through which drinks were served. Had to shout to get service which was provided by a very old lady Bessie. She drew our ale from barrels sited on the other side of the hole in the wall. She drew beer into a jug which was transferred to glasses. The beer was warm but drinkable. Bessie's welcome was very warm and she chatted with us for some time. Her conversation was wonderful with a keen sense of humour. You must visit this establishment .

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank Haydn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What a marvellous way to spend a couple of hours over the Bank Holiday weekend, sitting in the garden of this time warp establishment in the most tranquil, relaxing, beautiful spot, chewing the fat, listening to the birds sing, the echo in the valley and enjoying a couple of the nicest pints of Bass straight from the barrel that I can remember for a long time. Think basic house with serving hatch, sepia print photos, primitive outside WC, charming, old fashioned service. Forget any thought of fruit machines, canned music or gastro food. Really what I imagine rural pubs were once and there are few enough left. Go now while you can.

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This lady has helped me and will never forget, shes one of a kind, since I left Wales I never looked back, but will go back this year to see her. For her to see the new me, Love her and I hope she has a longer life. Go to Bessies, shes amazing, they have fun nights too, and if you ever in the area go to a big house up the hills for fresh soup and fresh hot bread. Love th place lived for over 6 months.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank Hayati2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews