We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

From the moment we drove up the mountain and into Gellifawr looking for a wedding venue we were blown away by its beauty and rustic feel.
On meeting the staff who were so friendly and accommodating, we knew this had to be our venue. The atmosphere of the whole place just relaxes you instantly.
The rooms in which we stayed were lovely, oozing with character and all of our guests who stayed in both the hotel and the cottages loved it.
What we particularly liked that the place is yours exclusively even to the point of decorating and personalising the grounds and inside too.
With all of our guests joining us on the Friday for the Saturday wedding , It led to a wonderful party atmosphere. So we were spoilt with a wedding weekend and not just a wedding day.
We couldn't fault the food, presentation was lovely and it all tasted really good.
The staff- Nigel, Aled, Stan , the barmen and the girls were all fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargii4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Recently got married at Gellifawr (May 18th 2013) and I was thoroughly impressed with how the day went. Aled did a fantastic job of looking after us and the food was excellent, so credit to Nigel and the rest of the team too. We were a little bit late back from having our photographs taken, but the food was still served hot and all of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the wedding meal.

In fact, all of our guests commented on how much they had enjoyed the whole weekend from start to finish. If you would like a wedding with about 65 - 80 guests, a relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful setting, I would defeinitely recommend Gellifawr. Thanks very much for a memorable day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here on 1st June 3013 for a family wedding,. Glorious weather, lovely food, friendly staff and such a peaceful setting!! We stayed in a 4 person cottage for 1 night on a bed and breakfast deal. The cottage had everything we needed plus the most amazingly comfortable 4 poster bed. Breakfast was good cereals, fruit , fruits juices and plenty of tea always good?? Then a full English breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for one night in one of the self-catering cottages. The location is beautiful and the cottages have been renovated and decorated very stylishly. The grounds are lovely and well-maintained. The breakfast at the restaurant was good. The only downbeat note I can add was that the dividing walls between the cottages are made of very thin, cheap wood and you can hear everything in the next door cottages. It seems such a shame to put so much time, money and effort into making them look so great and then spoil it by scrimping on the dividing walls. The people in the bedroom next door weren't being loud, they were keeping their voices down, but we heard everything and couldn't sleep until they did. It might help if the heads of the beds weren't both right up against the dividing wall. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We’d stayed at this hotel once previously (in the main building) and thought it was OK, so we decided to take them up on a great three day deal for one of the cottages.

As most reviewers state, this hotel is in an out of the way place. It’s easy to find if you drive from Newport, but it’s a bit trickier from other directions (we got lost). The location is very rural and pleasant. It’s just the place to get away from it all, if that’s your thing.

The apartment was spacious with a clean, well-equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge – if a bit dated. The weather turned chilly and it was quite cold in there, despite turning on the heating. We sat on their sofa in our fleeces.

The TV had only two channels – bizarrely, one of them Irish – so that was a disappointment on a cold evening. And as the wifi didn’t work we couldn’t use our iPads either. This may not bother many people, but we were frustrated.

The hotel restaurant is fine: we had a very nice meal there, and the young guy who multi-tasks is a charming and polite man. In fact, he was omnipresent: we never saw any other staff.

As the weather turned a bit grim, we didn’t manage to stay the three nights we booked – instead returning home where it was sunnier and warmer. On checking out I told them they hadn’t charged us for food – so I went through the menu to tell them what we’d had.

In summary: nice location in the countryside and not too far from the coast, with spacious accommodation. Downsides: surely it would be easy to sort out the TV and wifi issues. We would certainly consider staying again – at the right price and only in warmer weather.

Room Tip: For quality of accommodation choose the main hotel, for price it's the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at Gellifawr for three nights in April 2013 for a wedding. There were three of us booked into a self catering cottage (myself and my parents). The first cottage they brought us too was small and only had one bedroom. We then called back to reception and they said they would make up the sofa into a bed for me. I advised that there was not even a window blind in the little sitting room and that the sofa was extremely old and uncomfortable looking. They then decided they would move us to another cottage. Again, there was only one bedroom but by the time we walked over the housekeeper was making up the sofa in the living room into a bed. This cottage looked much nicer. I was not pleased at having to sleep on the sofa bed in the middle of the living/dining/kitchen room but I had three nights of great sleep.
As it was quite cold (due to the heating not being on as this cottage was not due to be used that day) they brought us over an electric heater and provided us more tea, biscuits and hot chocolate.
The kitchen was well kitted out and we were able to make hot drinks for ourselves any time of the day and keep drinks cool in the fridge.
The breakfast at the hotel was great. Normally in the self-catering cottages you have to pay extra for the breakfast but as we were part of a wedding party it was included. You could have had choice of continental foods (cereal/fruit) and then cooked breakfast of your choice also. We only ate dinner at the hotel on the day of the wedding but it was really good. As the evening dinner menu was quite restrictive we ate in Newport which was only a few miles away.
This hotel is in the middle of no where, no phone signal and limited wifi (was only available in main hotel building). The roads are very narrow all around but the scenery is beautiful. There is also a small scenic area at the back of the hotel with two small lakes which was great for pictures.
All the staff at the hotel were very approachable and helpful. I don't think I would return here if travelling back to Wales but overall was a reasonable hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage "Y Stordy" which was nice but not really suitable for three peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omi_Maj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

a very quite and comfortable hotel, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Very stunning scenery, lack of mobile signal help with the relaxing. Would recommend for a romantic break. restaurant menu a little limited, good pub food available in Newport, nothing in Fishguard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTonyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,228 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
455 reviews
15.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
19.8 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing