We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful venue, warm welcome, work to do on detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful venue, warm welcome, work to do on detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

this is a beautiful venue and building in a remote, cosy, location with a comfortable bar, restaurant and function room where modern features blend nicely with the traditional feel.

the rooms will be a little tired for some tastes - flickering crt tv for example - and the staff, whilst friendly, seemed a little inexperienced. the kitchen produced lovely food in reasonable time and portions. this isnt the cheapest option locally, but just about worth the extra and under new owners it could well thrive

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    126
    41
    20
    6
See reviews for
93
245
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this b&b on the strength of the trip advisor reviews. However, new owners took over two weeks before we arrived. Our first problem arose one arrival when they had no record of our booking, even though we had an online confirmation. They sorted this quickly and we were upgraded. Sadly, a once lovely room had problems like lifting wallpaper, loose electric sockets, dirty fittings, no glasses, flickering TV, and strangest of all no bath plug (a problem they never resolved). While the staff were friendly and helpful, they seem confused, and we never seemed to see the same face twice. The views from the window were wonderful, but I am not sure the journey along very narrow lanes was worth it.
While the breakfasts were very good, the same was sadly not true about the restaurant. We booked for 7pm, but had to wait until the menu was ready, but it had not been fully priced! Our meal eventually arrived after an hour (there had been a problem in the kitchen). We were lucky that the wine we ordered was the only one in stock - we were told that the new owners were running stocks down. Guest who were staying for the week remarked that the menu options got fewer each day.
Hopefully, the new owners will sort these problems and the b&b will restore its reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneandArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Here is one of Wales's best kept secrets. Exceptional quality in perfect surroundings.
Restaurant worthy of any great City of the world, set in the magnificent tranquility of west Wales. This is Welsh luxury in a picture post card setting - the accommodation was of the highest quality. Not a single .......... "but".
Well done
Thank you

Room Tip: The Coach House is breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDebIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is the middle of nowhere but it a beautiful nowhere. The cottage we stayed in was fine with loads of room and a huge wet room. Kitchen was ok but struggled with cooker and oven. Ate out instead loads of great places to eat in Newport. Overall, this suited our needs and we put up with some minor maintenance issues. Access was great and the hotel food was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashurstwoodfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 4 nights in a self catering cottage at Gellifawr. The cottage was compact but perfectly adequate set in a beautiful area with many walks from the door. To be able to self cater whilst having the option of eating in the hotel was great. The cottage was supplied with everything for two except it only had one cereal bowl. We were very pleased to find it had a bath as well as a shower. The bed was comfy. The only down side was the TV was set very high in the wall so slightly uncomfortable to watch for long periods of time. We ate in the hotel once - the food was delicious although the service was very slow and the waitress seemed a little confused about whether vegetables were supplied with our main course. Overall a good place to stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossie52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

wedding....... the main house is fab and they put on a great wedding, the food and service no complaints there, and the location (on a sunny day which we were very lucky with) is fantastic.

cottage.... Felin Fach (think that's how to spell it)........ really in need of a revamp they charged £150 for the night, for a one bed cottage, that dosent look like its been decorated in the last 30 years, not a bar of soap and only cutlery for two people... when it is classed as sleeping four.
It was clean.
if invited to a wedding again we would drive or taxi it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaztorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

As owner of swansea queen of hearts mobile fun casino we were hired to entertain a wedding at this venue.
Apart from it being the most idealic gorgeous place i have seen with very friendly helpful staff i woud recommend this place for any occasion and the manager Aled is more than accommodating for your every needs..
Excellent location very romantic...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing