We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel set in a real "middle of nowhere" place. if you want to get away from everything then this is just the place although it's not that far from the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline. Hotel was very comfortable and the staff were mainly young, enthusiatic and still learning. Banter with them and more experienced staff was great. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    129
    43
    20
    6
See reviews for
94
252
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a last minute basis and we had a fabulous two night stay. Stayed in a cottage with our dog and we had a great time. Enjoyed the walks from the hotel, the views were just stunning. Newport Beach is very near and also excellent for walking.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank downi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked this at the last minute, and on the way there, decided to read TA reviews.....many were pretty bad, and had us feeling a little nervous about our choice! In fact, we were laughing hard at one point, since the trip was a present to our nephew for his graduation and birthday, and it sounded like it was going to be the present from hell!

No need to worry though....other than the difficulty in finding it (we never would have found it with the GPS, but my nephew had the OS map for the area and did a great job of navigating), everything else was fine.

We drove up and fell in love with the location - surroundings and building. Our rooms were lovely, much better than expected. They were roomy and well decorated, and reasonably clean (not spotless, but I am picky). The bed though soft was quite comfortable. The only negative is that there wasn't much sound-proofing, so we heard our neighbors talking and watching TV, and the people above walking around. But it didn't detract from our experience or interrupt our sleep, since it was pretty quiet by the time we went to bed (you could always bring ear plugs if this bothers you).

We ate at the restaurant one evening, and the meal was decent if not outstanding. Breakfast was okay...we had the croissants and fruit and yogurt one morning and that was a huge disappointment. It was just a small dish of thin yogurt, a mass produced store bought croissant, and a "help yourself" to the bowl of over ripe fruit. Oh, well : )
The breakfast room itself is very nice, and the attached lounge/bar area is also very nice....we had a drink there one evening.

We went down to Newport Beach one evening to see the sunset - very beautiful. We did the coastal walk from St David's to Solva, and also spent a bit of time visiting St David town and the cathedral. Cwtch restaurant there is excellent. We also spent some time at Whitesands beach, and Stackpole Estates (beautiful beach and hikes, and AMAZING dinner at the pub), and also checked out Pentre Ifan - all highly recommended.

All in all, we thought it was a stunning area, and this place was good value, and a very charming place to spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel and were quite happy with the room...apparently the cottages can be hit or mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked in the week the new owners took control and selected this hotel basically for its excellent location and accessibility for St Davids, Fishguard, Newport eg. We took the cottage option to expand our flexibility and whilst well appointed it did require possibly a bit of TLC. It was disappointing that the free WFI didn't actually work or that the TV was circa 1995 and no DVD player. The cottage was clean but lacking in quantum re amenities. There were no instructions as to how to get hot water or heating, but a quick recce. soon sorted that. The shower, albeit electric, was adequate and the general furnishings were comfortable yet tired. During the "spontaneous" taking over party for which all were invited - I say all - it seems that all of mid Wales were there - the new owners assured us that a considerable investment was going to be made to upgrade and modernise not just the cottages, but the Hotel as well. The overall ambience was a mixture of modern and old fashioned epitomised by the Hotel itself with the restaurant being bright and modern yet the access to it 1960's. The quality of the food was superb if not limited in choice and the wine list might have been, more in-depth. All-in-all, overall, the pro's far outweighed the con's...........well recommended.

Gary and Susan..........Lincolnshire

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Unfortunately we booked in 2 days after the new owners took over. We had booked on line and had no idea of the change. We were made very welcome and the room we got was very comfortable and large with a lovely view of the front garden. The room needed updating as the furnishings were quite dated. The bed was excellent. The staff were extremely young and quite inexperienced but did try their best. They will need to get the food sorted out and the billing system needs to be in place, otherwise they will loose money. The ambiance is wonderful and I am sure when things are sorted out and everything settles down it will be wonderful. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and it is right in the country of winding roads and all that goes with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I wish the new owners all the best. On arrival the cottage was cold and no one knew how to work the heating system. Eventually the heating came on and we were soon warm. The cottage was tired and requires some tlc. Our main issue is what can only be described as the star of Bethlehem ! The huge flood light that fills the whole area with light pollution that the owners say they don't know how to switch off. It never gets dark there because of the lights and its so hard to sleep in this artificial day light. The staff are all lovely and very helpful and we will return again and we are looking forward to seeing the cottages being returned to their former glory.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

this is a beautiful venue and building in a remote, cosy, location with a comfortable bar, restaurant and function room where modern features blend nicely with the traditional feel.

the rooms will be a little tired for some tastes - flickering crt tv for example - and the staff, whilst friendly, seemed a little inexperienced. the kitchen produced lovely food in reasonable time and portions. this isnt the cheapest option locally, but just about worth the extra and under new owners it could well thrive

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
679 reviews
15.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing