We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total peace and quiet”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A last minute quick getaway seeking peace and quiet and that's exactly what we got. Very attentive staff without being overbearing. Lovely room in the main hotel (room 3) with 4 poster bed - really comfortable. So, this is a country house, not some sterile hotel in the middle of a city - the decor was tasteful & in-keeping with this and we loved it.

We had booked an evening meal elsewhere, but on seeing the menu (3 courses for £25) we decided to eat at the hotel. It was the right move - the food was plentiful and excellent. The chef came and spoke to us after our meal which was a really nice touch. Breakfast was delicious - a full breakfast with a choice of eggs.

Lounge area really comfortable with a log burner - managed to sink a few beers whilst watching Wales beating Scotland at rugby - a more than thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Over the lane from the hotel there is a scenic walk along a river. Unfortunately it is really steep so if like me you have mobility issues it is impossible, but the views excellent nonetheless.
From room 3 we had a spectacular sunset through the large sash window - which is easy to open for fresh Welsh country air.

Plenty of towels and some toiletries enough for 1 night stay.

I will be visiting again, but next time I may consider a cottage hire - we were shown one on request - the only one not occupied. They even have a disabled friendly cottage - all on one level.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We loved room 3. A four poster and lovely view of sunset over hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    129
    44
    20
    6
See reviews for
94
253
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in one of the one bed apartments and found it clean, warm and comfortable. Location is a bit out of the way but still a good place to explore Pembrokeshire. We ate in the hotel on the first evening, simply because after a long drive we couldn't face going out again and had a really good meal, £21 for 2 courses with a glass of wine per person - not bad at all for great food, a lovely cosy restaurant and very helpful staff. Overall we had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

on arrival after a long journey we were shown to a sleeps three cottage called Y Bwythyn, you get your own car parking space outside the cottage which is good, but o'h dear when we went in the first thing you notice is a very dirty stained carpet, the front door had mould and was broken at the bottom,a very small television attached to the ceiling which did not work very well ,peeling plaster around the windows and door,the same in the bedroom, mould and peeling plaster, on the plus side the bed was very comfortable and linen clean, and a visitor a slug !!!!. We were informed that the cottage was on the list to be re-furbished so why do they find it acceptable to put guests in it, to add insult to injury the charged us £10.00 for the dog.
We did not use the Hotel as the food was a bit exspensive. All in all would we go back again probably No..

Room Tip: until this cottage is re-furbished I would avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra Catherin... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just had a wonderfull weekend away (Friday/Saturday night) including a fabulous Valentine's dinner Friday evening. From the friendly and helpful staff (especially Blythe), to the relaxed atmosphere, wonderful food, cosy country cottage feel of the accommodation. The location is a bit out in the middle of nowhere,(but some times that's a bonus! - no mobile signal!), but well worth the trek, the surrounding scenery is amazing, within easy reach of Fishguard, Cardigan & St David's (loverly cathederal). We stayed in the hotel itself, but the cottages look just as inviting.
I would definitely recommend a stay here, & will be returning again myself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I went to Gellifawr for our Valentine dinner. The food, the service and the setting are amazing. My wife had Duck and I had Lamb and I can't wait to go back again. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have never had a bad word to say about this place even had our honeymoon here.There are great walks around the site one even goes through a farm yard ( we had to check we were still on the path).We have never stayed in the hotel but have stayed in 5 of the cottages.They are always very clean and if we ever have any issues they are solved straight away.Don't go here if you want perfect wifi and phone signal you won't get it!! ( part of the charm).The staff are lovely and the local area is beautiful.I love this place and am so happy we found it by chance I would recommend it to anyone (as long as it does not get so fully booked I can't go)

Room Tip: felin fach is a lovely cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abzidoo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a discount deal for two nights. We got there following a long journey and were not disappointed. The cottage which was one of the smaller ones was lovely! Bags of character and plenty of room. It was well equipped and comfortable. The only thing missing is a log fire but hey that's just me being picky and by no means a fault.
The downsides were that there was no information packs in the cottage outlining check out times and local amenities etc. not the end of the world but would be very helpful. The other issue is that there are some characterful slit windows which have no coverings and can make you feel a bit exposed when getting changed even though I'm sure there aren't many people passing.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was ok. I had a vegetarian option which in all honesty was tasteless and lacked any imagination. My husband had the streak which he felt was over done. That said the service was very good and the surroundings lovely.
I would definitely recommend the self catering cottages. You'll need a car as there doesn't seem to be much around within a reasonable walk. Having said that if there was an information booklet we'd know for sure!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,172 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
427 reviews
15.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
551 reviews
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing