We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a 1 bedroom cottage at this hotel as it had a great deal offer. When we arrived we were allocated a Newley refurbished 3 bedroom cottage which was lovely. You can park right outside the cottage which is great for un loading the car. The cottage was immaculate with plenty of towels, and with all the amenities for a holiday weather you want to stay in or use the restaurant at the hotel. There was plenty of hot water and central heating which you can control yourself.

We tried the restaurant for an evening meal, we wasn't going to as we had read a few negative reviews but I must say the meal was one of the best we have had in a while. The chef coming out several times to ensure everything was ok. There was a lovely young girl serving who was very attentive nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend. A two course meal was about £20 per person and worth every penny.

The cottages are a bit out of the way but it only takes about 10 minutes to get to newport about an hour to st David's and other areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torfaenwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Out in the center of the Pembroke park, this lovely old house with self catering cottages is great. We needed a break, get away for a weekend and rest, well I just want to stay here and write my book or contemplate the birth of the universe or just spend the rest of my days.
On arrival its a Nice looking old stone house with a pleasant greeting from the staff, then we were shown to our room, well the bed was a 6 ft. super king just like the one we have at home - except that it turned out to be more comfortable, I'm writing this while laying on it, cant figure out how to get it in the car but I'm working on that, - the bedroom itself is large and clean and well equipped, there is a tv that's bigger that we have at home - and a blue-tooth sound system. The view is over the quaint self catering cottages and the whole lot surrounded by trees. A lovely meal last night and a good breakfast this morning, very nice attentive staff that aren't overbearing!
I just had to tell everyone about this place, if you want peace and quiet in good quality surroundings with no outside pressures ( there is no mobile phone service - but free internet so you can be online when you want to be.) with good food and plenty of walks in stunning scenery, this is the place. Now if I can just get my back off this wonderful bed I'm off for one of those walks. Sorry to go on but I love this place, it's old but has been sympathetically modernized whilst keeping it;s character with quality fixtures and most mod-cons. oh it's nice. maybe I'll just stay here and start that Great Welsh novel that I can base in a lovely old house in Pembroke, I'll just lay here and contemplate that a bit longer, I can't get my misses off the bed anyway! they're going to have a hell of a job getting rid of us tomorrow.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main house for the B&B but there are self catering cottages, it doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaydnNelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the 1 bedroomed cottage called Felin Fach, with my 7 year old son and dog. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was soft and had lovely, crisp, duvet cover and pillows, very cosy indeed. Nice and warm. Lots of hot water so we could have a nice hot, deep bath. Shower was very powerful too. Lovely soft white fluffy towels Nice bright décor. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Andy and Mike. Hotel food was AMAZING. Top marks to the chef, especially the YUMMY Sunday Carvery. Short drive to the beach and town. Lovely long walk down by the river, which started just across the road from the cottage. Will DEFINATELY return in the summer. The ONLY down side was that we had someone in the cottage above us, who was very heavy footed!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A last minute quick getaway seeking peace and quiet and that's exactly what we got. Very attentive staff without being overbearing. Lovely room in the main hotel (room 3) with 4 poster bed - really comfortable. So, this is a country house, not some sterile hotel in the middle of a city - the decor was tasteful & in-keeping with this and we loved it.

We had booked an evening meal elsewhere, but on seeing the menu (3 courses for £25) we decided to eat at the hotel. It was the right move - the food was plentiful and excellent. The chef came and spoke to us after our meal which was a really nice touch. Breakfast was delicious - a full breakfast with a choice of eggs.

Lounge area really comfortable with a log burner - managed to sink a few beers whilst watching Wales beating Scotland at rugby - a more than thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Over the lane from the hotel there is a scenic walk along a river. Unfortunately it is really steep so if like me you have mobility issues it is impossible, but the views excellent nonetheless.
From room 3 we had a spectacular sunset through the large sash window - which is easy to open for fresh Welsh country air.

Plenty of towels and some toiletries enough for 1 night stay.

I will be visiting again, but next time I may consider a cottage hire - we were shown one on request - the only one not occupied. They even have a disabled friendly cottage - all on one level.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We loved room 3. A four poster and lovely view of sunset over hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in one of the one bed apartments and found it clean, warm and comfortable. Location is a bit out of the way but still a good place to explore Pembrokeshire. We ate in the hotel on the first evening, simply because after a long drive we couldn't face going out again and had a really good meal, £21 for 2 courses with a glass of wine per person - not bad at all for great food, a lovely cosy restaurant and very helpful staff. Overall we had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

on arrival after a long journey we were shown to a sleeps three cottage called Y Bwythyn, you get your own car parking space outside the cottage which is good, but o'h dear when we went in the first thing you notice is a very dirty stained carpet, the front door had mould and was broken at the bottom,a very small television attached to the ceiling which did not work very well ,peeling plaster around the windows and door,the same in the bedroom, mould and peeling plaster, on the plus side the bed was very comfortable and linen clean, and a visitor a slug !!!!. We were informed that the cottage was on the list to be re-furbished so why do they find it acceptable to put guests in it, to add insult to injury the charged us £10.00 for the dog.
We did not use the Hotel as the food was a bit exspensive. All in all would we go back again probably No..

Room Tip: until this cottage is re-furbished I would avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra Catherin... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just had a wonderfull weekend away (Friday/Saturday night) including a fabulous Valentine's dinner Friday evening. From the friendly and helpful staff (especially Blythe), to the relaxed atmosphere, wonderful food, cosy country cottage feel of the accommodation. The location is a bit out in the middle of nowhere,(but some times that's a bonus! - no mobile signal!), but well worth the trek, the surrounding scenery is amazing, within easy reach of Fishguard, Cardigan & St David's (loverly cathederal). We stayed in the hotel itself, but the cottages look just as inviting.
I would definitely recommend a stay here, & will be returning again myself!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameswaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
522 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,244 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
581 reviews
19.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,229 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range: £57 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing