We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the middle of no-where”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the middle of no-where”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely hotel with nothing around it. However, still quite easy to find a well sign posted locally. Location is definitely the strongest part of the hotel, but if you want any local facilities then this isn't for you!

We stayed in 'Swallow Cottage' which was about the size of a small one bedroom flat, so pretty decent. Well stocked kitchen and everything clean.

Only problems with the room was the lack of soap in the bathroom. Which just seems a bit unhygienic to me! Other problem was that there was no way to close the skylight in the bedroom making the room very bright early in the morning.

Didn't eat in the hotel as the restaurant was quite expensive. Only the set menu was available and just not what we were looking for. £10 for breakfast also seemed excessive so we left it a lone. Did have a couple of drinks in the bar which was nice, including some ales brewed down the road (literally down the road, you drive past the brewery on the way to Newport).

Most of the staff very helpful, but did have one problem when checking out and the girl on reception saw my other half walking towards reception so wondered off into the bar.

Only other criticism is that we wanted to be able to see the stars but all the cottages had extremely bright lights outside them so this made it difficult.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    127
    41
    20
    6
See reviews for
93
249
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

spent two nights with my wife and grand-daughter, the room we had was very well appointed with everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable and large, our grand-daughter slept in a put up bed which was also very comfortable and we still had ample space. each evening we ate in the restaurant, I had the lamb both nights when usually I would pick something different on a second night so I think that says it all about the lamb. on the first night my wife had the pork and the second night chicken she enjoyed both meals, the childrens portions where quite large all the food was cooked very well. I must say the staff were all excellent and we felt like they could not do enough for us. the setting is away from it all in a beautiful countryside area a short drive to Newport and not far from all Pembrokeshire has to offer, a good base for visiting this beautiful part of wales.

Room Tip: not much in the hotel for children but plenty to entertain kids in the area,little ones are welcomed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULBLUEBIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I bought a deal on LivingSocial for this hotel and we stayed in one of the small cottages called Y Stody. For the price that we paid it was an exceptional place to stay; so my review may have been less positive if we had paid more.

We found the hotel easy to find (with the postcode and a SatNav) and our cottage was ideal for our needs: a place to sleep and cook a meal.

We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food was delicious (though being very tired and hungry might have helped!) - £25 for three courses.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Our cottage was equipped with a hairdryer, ironing board, dishwasher, oven (the knobs were falling off), a kettle, towels, a landline phone and a TV. The bed was comfortable and clean.

We loved the place - it was an escape. The only thing I will say is that being a terraced cottage the experience may depend on your neighbours - fortunately the crying toddler didn't keep us from our sleep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRealMcKees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here recently with my two daughters for Mothers Day Weekend.As we arrived in the dark we did wonder as we were travelling through numerous country lanes would we ever arrive,but did so eventually and found a beautiful Country Hotel and Cottages.The staff were welcoming and showed us to our converted barn that we were to stay in for the next couple of days.We were kindly upgraded to larger accommodation and were extremely pleased with the accommodation.We ate in the dining room on the second night and our meals were very good.It was a perfect mini break to travel around the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park.Hope to come again. Thankyou to the management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a two night Groupon recently. It was a little tricky to find, but that was down to us failing to trust the road signs to Gelli Fawr!

The apartments are in converted farm buildings and have been finished to a high standard. The floors are tiled. Kitchen and bathroom were well equipped. The living room was reasonably comfortable with large flat screen (could have benefitted from more lamps). Because it was an old stone farm building there was no large window, just a glass door and an outlook onto a pleasant garden area. The bed was a little on the hard side, but this is a matter of personal preference, and the bedroom had just one small skylight with a blind.

We were able to park easily and close by, but I imagine that at busy times it could become difficult to park nearby and the overspill is a short walk away.

We didn't eat there so cannot comment

The location is remote and there is a shortage of things to do in bad weather. You don't come to this part of the world for theme parks! In good weather (and we were lucky for most of our stay) the surroundings are gorgeous and there are superb walks, not least on the beautiful Newport estuary and beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areanynamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It took me a while to find it, but I have enjoyed stay there very much, very nice small cottages, and helpfull service. Really not much to complain about. If you are looking for a nice secluded place for romantic weekend it is your place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great deal, perfect location for peace & quiet - we know the area which helped. Warm welcome at reception & the staff were helpful BUT some disappointment -

I'd avoid this cottage until it has been refurbished - very 'tired', stained carpet as you came in. The front double bedroom was smelly & damp and there was mould growing on the sides of the windows the dehumidifier we found filled a bottle of water very quickly. The rear double did not have a blind on the velux window though reception did offer us some pins so we used one of the sitting room curtains - not ideal. There was not enough comfortable seating for a 6 bed cottage & the sofa was old, saggy & stained. I'd rather a smaller TV (it was huge) & more seats - it would be comfortable for 4 but cramped for 6 persons.

The kitchen was adequate but the equipment (pans etc) need upgrading, the chef in the adjoining hotel kindly lent us a bigger saucepan! It is designed for wheelchair users so the surfaces are too low for able bodied people.

The bathroom is a windowless wet room - the fan was not working and there was black mildew on the floor and tiles. the water tank is small & did not cope with 6 showers in the morning.

We ate in the restaurant on one evening - the food was good & plentiful but even though I had said in advance that one of our party was gluten & dairy free some negotiation still had to be made as there was a slight problem adapting the food on the menu for her.

We did let the management know the problems we encountered via the feedback card & understood that they recently taken the complex over.

Overall - the area is beautiful, the complex perfectly placed for peace & quiet - we adapted & enjoyed our stay & I would consider going back but not until full refurbishment had taken place.

Room Tip: Choose one of the smaller refurbished cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipsychicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing