We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in beautiful surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Travel down quiet lanes with stunning views over Pembrokshire National Park scenery. Stunning. Hotel really nice. We stayed in one of the 2 person and dog cottages. Clean, quaint and plenty of room. If possible ask for one that does not have other accomodation above it. Can be very noisy from people above. Picnic tables and barbecue area a nice touch. Staff friendly and super helpful. Stayed for a few nights from a groupon offer. Bargain. Perfect accomodation and surroundings stunning! *****

Room Tip: If possible ask for one that does not have other accomodation above it. Can be very noisy from peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgs11186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages. We appreciate that unfortunately due to being older character properties they are not completely soundproof however we hope that this will be rectified soon and apologise for any disturbance during your stay. We take pride in our surroundings areas and are happy to hear that you appreciated this as much as we do. We hope to see you again soon at Gellifawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    129
    44
    20
    6
See reviews for
94
252
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Will keep short and sweet -

Living Social deal, stayed for the weekend in a one bed cottage, clean and comfortable, beautiful grounds and scenery!

The staff made it for us - so friendly and helpful! Praise especially to Sam the barman who couldn't help us enough and the lovely chef plus his sous chef whose food was yummy!

Loved the overall feeling of the place - so much so that we're hoping to book our wedding here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to hear that your stay with us was one to remember. We are proud of our staff and their commitment to making sure your experience here with us at Gellifawr is unforgettable. We hope that you received all the information that you required for your big day however if there is anything else that our team can assist you with then please do not hesitate to contact us or of course return to speak further with our wedding co-ordinator. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this two night stay through Travelzoo at £89 for B&B. The breakfast was delicious especially the local bacon. The chef was very accommodating with my husbands request for extra black pudding. All the staff were friendly and asked us if we had enjoyed our day out and about. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to answer our questions.
We stayed in room 3 which had a lovely four poster bed with a really comfortable mattress which was much appreciated after our 5 mile coastal walk on one of the hottest days this summer!
This was an excellent price for a graceful hotel in a stunning location.
Tip: Newport boat/ sailing club is open to non members and serves good priced food Thursday to Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages. Our chef takes pride in the food he serves, therefore we will ensure he is aware of your kind words as well as the staff which we are glad to hear made your stay memorable. We hope to see you again soon at Gellifawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As like many of the other reviewers we booked with the Travelzoo deal for a 2 night break. We booked some weeks before our planned stay which was to celebrate a special anniversary, so arranged via phone which cottage we were booking into.The night before travelling we received a phone call requesting us to change cottages, checking on the website whilst on the phone we were promised a particular cottage which looked nice, and told we would not be disappointed with. After a long journey we arrived to be shown to a completely different cottage, which was not at all special and in fact dark and uninviting, we requested a different cottage and were shown another which was the only other available this was better, but still not as good as the ones we had previously been promised. 'Welcome pack' was a small basket of uht milk cartons, and the usual sugar and teabag/coffee sachets. There were no books etc in the cottage in fact with the exception of the tv (large wall mounted) the cottage did need updating with new appliances. I have to say we were very disappointed and we did make this known to the staff, it didn't feel like a very special weekend. The area is lovely, only a 4 mile drive along narrow lanes into Newport and the whole of the coastline from there down to St David's and further is well worth visiting. We enjoyed a very full day out and returned late evening so purposely didn't spend too much time around the cottage .
If we had not experienced the disorganisation with our booking, we may have had a different view, but Gellifawr left us rather disappointed, so would not visit again which is a shame as we had been looking forward to a special weekend to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Firstly, may we apologise for the mix up with our booking system. We were very disappointed that we had let you down with the original cottage that you had booked.
Self catering cottages are not provided with any food, but we do offer a complimentary "Cuppa" for your arrival whilst you unpack your car.
We apologise that your cottage didn't have any books. All of our cottages have a small selection of books, but it seems that the ones in your cottage have gone and hadn't been replaced.
We clearly haven't met your needs on this occasion and sincerely apologise. We aim to meet our customer needs and hope you give us the opportunity to show this if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Found this deal on travel zoo.
We stated 2 nights in a 1 bed cottage. Firstly I wasn't entirely sure where this place was located other than in the middle of Pembrokeshire coastline national park. We are from a city/town environment so found the area was 'like being in the middle of nowhere' but didn't mind seeing as tho the views were stunning!! Cute country roads leading to the hotel, but very easy to get to just follow the signs.

After driving for 4 hours it was so nice to be greeted by very friendly staff, who showed us to our cottage.

The cottage was very clean! And so cute, and had everything we could want!
- the welcome pack was very! Everything was very thought out and customer friendly! - even down to the books on the shelf, and the local magazines left on the tables. Finishing touches such as cute bedding and modern furniture, and being able to park right outside our front door...made our stay even the more enjoyable.

I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway, couples, family or friends.the local town of Newport was cute, and had great places to eat! Although we had to get used to the windy country lanes surrounding the area, that was something we got used to in after a couple of trips!

Very enjoyable and would recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages and your kind words have been passed on to the team members as I know they will be pleased to hear that they have made your stay memorable. We pride ourselves on our beautiful location and surrounding areas and we are happy to see that you also appreciated these as much as we do. We hope that you will return again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked into the hotel for a two night break. Just had a nightmare 4 hours as our car had broken down. Rang ahead and informed the hotel, who were great. Once we eventually arrived Chef was able to get us something to eat even though the Kitchen had closed. The room we had was very good, but unfortunately the chain on the toilet was a bit dodgy, so informed Jane the manager straight away. We were given one of the cottages next day without any fuss at all. This is the hallmark of a great manager who problem solves without drama, and who would give Alex Polizzi a run for her money!!

The staff at the hotel are genuinely lovely. For a young staff to be so professional, and dedicated was a joy to see. From the moment we checked in nothing was too much trouble, and they could not do enough to make our stay worthy of a return visit. Because our trip had already hit problems with my car breaking down, even the chef was on hand to help out with his mechanic contacts should I need it. His cooking is also some of the best I've tasted, so anyone who reviews negatively on this site, clearly didn't have their food cooked by the same chef!!

This is a hotel that gives the 'personal touch'....which is so important these days! It has a young staff - all of whom have excellent interpersonal skills and are very well trained. Their interaction with guests makes them a credit to the hotel. I would highly recommend anyone visiting the area to stay at Gellifawr where you would receive a warm and generous welcome from an excellent manager, and an exceptionally pleasant and professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drthrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Apologies for the disruption with your stay following an issue with the toilet in your room. We are glad that we were able to accommodate and ensure that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope that the car situation was solved promptly. We hope to see you again at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a self catering cottage, which was really lovely. The hotel & cottages are set in beautiful, quiet countryside. We had out 3 dogs with us so the slate floor in cottage was so practical . Plenty of great walks around hotel. As we s/c we didn't eat in the hotel, but the staff we friendly and very helpful. Great place to unwind and relax, especially as there's no phone signal only wifi. Would deffinately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Was lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages and enjoyed the relaxing surroundings during your walks. We hope that we will see you again soon and hope that you will join us in our restaurant and bar to enjoy all that we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
475 reviews
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
681 reviews
15.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat Pontfaen, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing