We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines day 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Northop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highfield Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentines day 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My fiance and I booked in for dinner on Valentines day as we are getting married here later on in the year. The rooms was beautifully decorated and the lighting created a romantic atmosphere.
As for the food...OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! My fiance had the wild mushroom soup with truffle oil and I had the asparagus with hollandaise sauce for our starters. Both were tasty. This was then followed by a mango sorbet. For our mains my fiance had chicken in a port and stilton sauce and I had the 8oz sirloin steak. Again both cooked perfectly and full of flavour. For dessert, a cheesecake for the fiance and I enjoyed the pavlova and shock/horror they were both gorgeous as well. This was then followed by a cheese board and coffee and truffles. The chef at the Highfield hall is fantastic and a real asset to the hotel and the staff were all friendly and attentive. My fiance and I were really pleased with the meal. The portion sizes were perfect. The food was hot and tasted delicious and the price??? 6 courses for £29.95 each!! Bargain!! Really looking forward to showing this place off to our wedding guests in September. We just know that they are going to love the place as much as we do!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine_Earl, Owner at Highfield Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
It was a pleasure as always having you with us, and we are very much looking forward to your wedding later in the year.
Very best wishes to you both and thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a guest at a wedding party so hadn't looked at the reviews on here before booking. The downstairs areas used for the wedding were fine, and during the wedding reception the service and staff attitude and manner were all good and people were friendly and welcoming so the wedding part of the experience was fine.

However the quality of our our room (and the rooms of other guests) was a very different story and very was very poor. The decor was shabby, dated, mismatched and dirty. There were pictures and a mirror propped against the wall, a phone balanced on the side of an old sofa and the curtains weren't fully attached to the rail so wouldn't close properly. All of the furniture was dated, mismatched and stained - there was no handle on the wardrobe so it was un-usable, and the drawers in the chest of drawers were not properly fitting.

Health and safety seemed unconsidered: the bedside light was plugged into an extension lead that was run across the floor in front of the bathroom door, the phone that was balanced on the side of the sofa had the lead trailing and the random pictures propped against the wall were all trip hazards.

The door to the bathroom was stained and dirty as was the rim of the toilet when you lifted the seat, there was no bin and only one toilet roll was provided.

If there were just one or two things wrong with the room then we would not really have minded but almost everything about it was of a very poor standard and absolutely not worth the £80 we paid. I feel that there is a captive wedding audience that pay over an above for the rooms - we weren't the only guests who had a very bad quality room (though the bridal suite was slightly dated but absolutely fine). When I politely raised these issues with the person behind the desk she was quite brusque and I felt did not deal with this polite complaint well. I would really hope that the hotel take on board these constructive comments as the issues should be easy to sort out - there is really no excuse for such poor quality for the price paid. If changes were made to the rooms this would make a massive difference in the review given.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine_Earl, Owner at Highfield Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding experience. We are mainly a wedding venue and it is very good to hear you had a good day.
However, It is a of course a great shame to hear of your disappointment with your room.
It is such a pity that you did not mention your concerns to any of the staff at any point during your stay, rather than when you were paying upon departure as we would have been pleased to resolve the majority of these as soon as possible to make your stay as good as the rest of your experience. We could have either moved you to a different room or fixed the issues in your room and would of course have been happy to do this to make your stay as good as the rest of your experience as a wedding guest.
We are in the midst of a major refurbishment of the bedrooms and public areas making the most of the quieter winter season, but were very pleased to be part of the wedding and put our renovations on hold.. The majority of the public areas had been finished in the weeks prior to the wedding you were a guest at, although we are still completing some other areas - improving all the time.
In the weeks prior to your arrival the bedrooms had been fitted with new carpets, and the rooms were being painted. Unfortunately this required the paintings and other items to be removed from the walls and the wires pulled away from the walls although care was taken to ensure these were placed safely at the sides of the rooms . These of course should have been replaced prior to your stay, but your room must have been accidentally missed . We thank you for bringing this to our attention and ensured all issues were rectified immediately.
The bathrooms are also in the process of being updated and your room had only been finished earlier that week so it is very surprising and disappointing to hear of any issues and I can only apologise. We have a strict cleanliness regime and of course always ensure there are plenty of toilet rolls for example.
We are aiming to provide a traditional character throughout the hotel with the majority of the furniture and decor in the bedrooms and public areas of the hotel being solid wood / pine with decor in period or neutral colours. We are replacing all furniture and decor to match this style where not currently present and have indeed replaced some furniture in the room you stayed in.
We feel suits the period of the hotel rather than using modern furniture but thank you for your comments.
£80 including VAT for bed & breakfast in a period hotel we believe is a very reasonable price and contrary to charging extra for a captive audience breakfast is included for weddings guests meaning it is a lower price with the added benefit for the wedding party having exclusive use of the hotel including all the bedrooms.
Once again we thank you for your comments, and just wish you had brought it to the attention of any member of staff during your stay to allow us to improve your stay to make your experience as good as you experienced during the wedding breakfast & evening celebrations. We all had a great time and were very pleased to have been part of such a lovely couples wedding day.
If you are passing by next time you visit the happy couple you should pop in and we can show you the rest of the improvements and give you a drink to make up for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I had our wedding reception at Highfield Hall in April 2013. We really cannot thank Loraine, Richard, Kate et al enough for making our day so very special. They really did go above and beyond what we expected, and helped give us an amazing day, which all our families and friends are still buzzing about even now, some 8 months later.

We live and work in London, but my wife is from Chester, and we spent a number of weekends travelling up from London looking at various wedding venues. In pretty much all of them we met people who came across like glorified car-salesman (and clearly thought they were so clever that you wouldn't even know it) - I won't name any names of venues! What struck us about Highfield Hall from the very first time we visited was the warmth of Kate, who we met first, and Lorraine and Richard who bought Highfield Hall after we had booked our wedding there. Unlike all the other venues, we weren't simply being sold an off-the-shelf package, but rather, they helped us plan the wedding we wanted and was right for us, and helped us to overcome constraints on budget etc...

The food at our reception was absolutely amazing, and all our guests commented that they were offered second helpings of all the main course, including plenty more beef, which was the best I have ever tasted! The best thing of course, is that guests could choose on the day what food they wanted, which not many venues offer.

I have seen one or two ludicrous reviews on Trip Advisor - please ignore these, you always get some people on these forums who have totally unrealistic expectations for the money they pay, as well as some general nutters!

My honest review would be that if you want a wedding reception venue/hotel room that is shiny, modern, sparkly or corporate on the inside and out, then Highfield Hall is probably not for you. If, however, you want a hotel full of charm, atmosphere and warmth, with staff that really will go out of their way to give you a fantastic day, including all the little details on the day that you can't even plan for, then I really would pay Highfield Hall a visit.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollyrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine_Earl, Owner at Highfield Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry it has taken a while to get back to you to say so.
Your review covered all the things we try so hard to get right to make things special, and your review brought a tear to all of our eyes as we read it and remembered the wedding day fondly.

We thoroughly enjoyed being part of your wedding and are so happy to hear you were pleased.

Next time you are in the area please come in and see us so we can all catch up and you can let us know how married life is ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Visited here in October 2013 & had the most wonderful stay. Lorraine & Richard are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Stunning scenery & beautiful hotel. Have since recommended it to several friends. Wonderful place for a wedding. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My weddjng was held here Nov 2013 and I cant thank all the staff at Highfield Hall enough for everything they did to make the day run smoothly. Especially Lorraine, Richard and Kate. Although we were running late and had more then a few hiccups they were so accomodating and really made everything run smoothly. It was amazing and I eould recommed to use this as your function venue, food was amazing, great service, good value, accomodaying for little ones aswel. Thanks Highfield Hall for everything :) xx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Thank you to Lorraine, Richard, Kate and all the wonderful staff that made my sisters snowy wedding day fantastic, it will be a day that no one will ever forget.
Thanks for going above and beyond what was asked. From shovelling snow, not only so all the guest could make it up the drive but also so the bride could have a photo with all the guests outside, (even if most of the men had their trousers rolled up to their thighs) to playing reception with a "very sad to leave" 5 year old and putting up with some very tired children running around playing hide and seek this morning.
The food was amazing, extremely tasty, lovely and hot and well presented (even the midnight bacon baps and chips), and even though I didn't stay the night (which I regretted from the moment I walked through the doors yesterday) all the guests that did say have said the beds were lovely and comfy.
Thank you also for having us all back again this morning for a full breakfast.
From the moment Sam and Jamie started planning their wedding you made them feel like they were not only the 1st bride and groom to ever say I do, but you also made every guest feel like they were part of your family.
You will be recommended highly to everyone I know!!! I cannot express in words how grateful we all are!!
Love the proudest sister in the world
xxxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just celebrated my daughter Lisa's marriage to Kyle which took place at Highfield Hall. From the moment we arrived on the morning of the wedding, we were made to feel as though we were being looked after by old friends, nothing was too much trouble for the new owners Richard and Lorraine,and of course the unstoppable Kate. Our every need was attended to with a smile. The room looked like something from a Fairy Tale and was decorated beautifully to match the Fairy Tale dress of the bride. The service all through the day and the night was exceptional and always carried out with a smile. I can't thank Richard, Lorraine and Kate enough for everything they did and for making my daughter's wedding the dream wedding she had always wanted. Can't wait to go back and will definitely be booking a meal in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.2 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hall Hotel

Property: Highfield Hall Hotel
Address: Highfield Hall Hotel Chester Road, Northop CH7 6AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Highfield Hall Hotel Northop, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing