We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“christening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We attended my grandsons christening in a suite at the hotel.the staff were super and looked after us brilliantly. We were staying overnight and eere checked in very quickly.(the hotel even gave my grandson ,1 year old as well a gift of £5. We had a meal 7n the restaraunt with the family, which was very nice. The rooms were very comfy and clean. The only niggle I had was later on we went for a drink in the bar, the staff kept dissapearing and you had to ask at reception to be served. The last drink we were going to have, we waited 15 mins for service , and decided to go to bed instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevebull2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Steve

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post your comments further to Benjamin's christening last Sunday .

I am very pleased that the day went so well and you also enjoyed the family meal and the quality of
your overnight stay

It was kind of you to mention the lack of bar service later on Sunday evening - we will pick this up with the individuals concerned

Many thanks again

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    174
    102
    23
    20
See reviews for
154
146
24
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked late for Xmas party night, Literally that day! The organization staff were amazing, made us feel welcome. We were a party of two, didn't feel out of place, fitted in great, bar staff so friendly, kitchen staff waitresses etc straight through to breakfast, were so efficient, had a great time, food, drink great. Room lovely and clean.

Nothing too much trouble so friendly we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ATST4

Thank you so much for being so complimentary about your visit to our Christmas Motown Party Night on the 21st December last year

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening so much and were so full of praise for all my staff

As an aside we have , today , started advising all our regular Christmas users as to this year's content and programme and I am happy to confirm that you will be included in this communication

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Many thanks again

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff were lovely, the room was clean and the bed was comfy. Hairdryer, iron, ironing board and other useful things were provided. The room did have a strong air-freshener perfume smell which gave me a bit of a headache so I had to open the window for a while. There were tea making facilities in the room but the inside of the kettle was lined with a dark brown substance which came off when rubbed gently (scale?), so we didn't use it. The decor was slightly dated (especially the bathroom) but certainly not dirty.

Room Tip: We noticed the lift makes a loud noise (like a doorbell) and were glad that our room wasn't righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Adele

Many thanks for your generous comments about our lovely team , the cleanliness of our guest rooms and the comfort of the bed

Your kindness in sharing your observations is very much appreciated

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a little dated but is clean and the beds are extremely comfortable with lovely clean linen. The staff were extremely friendly and interested in why we were visiting Deeside. Ideal location to access Deeside. Despite being next to the motorway it is very quiet. Easy to find.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tjsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We turned up late and tired - staff were friendly and helpful - our room was spacious and clean, but as soon as we settled for the night we were aware of a thundering noise outside. We looked out the window where we saw four large industrial fans in housings that turned all night. We hardly had any sleep and our daughter had an audition that day and Chester University. When I paid for the room, I was asked how it was and I said okay the room was good but we were kept awake all night by the fans. She just shrugged and said 'oh' and that was it. We definately would not stay here again. My advice is - the rooms are good but find out where your room is and have one the other side of the building.

Room Tip: Find out what side the fans are and choose a room the other side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Julia P

Thank you for your recent review further to your visit to my Hotel on Friday 17th January.

It was kind of you to comment upon the friendly staff that you met on your arrival just before midnight. I was delighted that you found your room to be spacious and clean.

However I am extremely sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the external air-conditioning unit below your room. The unit is scheduled to be switched off every evening and I will investigate as to why this did not happen on the evening of your stay.

I note that you are an IHG Rewards member and will be familiar with the standards provided by the company's hotels. With this in mind, may I trouble you to contact me personally should you be returning to Chester and I will be delighted to make the appropriate arrangements on your behalf.

Many thanks again.

Tony Horsfall
Owner Holiday Inn A55 Chester West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

It was a nice place to stay. Staff was helpfully and friendly. The reception was clean and tidy. Rooms were clean, had everything you need in their. It was nice and quiet. It was easy to find the hotel. would come back again and tell people about the hotel if they were staying in the area.

Room Tip: The hotel and rooms were clean. would say stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveyou l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channelislands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Chain hotels can be unremarkable but the staff here make a difference to this well priced holiday inn. Would recommend for business and as base for exploring the area. Small problem with room was immediately sorted with very good humour. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guernseyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
0.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
5.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Property: Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Address: Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing