We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed...staff were excellent, but smokers bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very mixed feelings about our one night stay at this hotel in the busy A55 into North Wales. On the positive side all the staff without exception were friendly, helpful and professional - and the facilities in theory were good. Breakfast was enjoyable and in a light, airy restaurant .

But our stay was spoiled by the fact we had to stay in a 'smokers bedroom' as all other rooms were already booked up ( we were there for a function at the hotel, which was very well organised). The room stank of cigarette smoke and gave me a bad headache and nausea all night .

I would stay there again, because of he excellent staff... But avoid smokers bedrooms!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GH-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear GH

Thank you so much for your time in posting this review

I was so delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed attending the naming ceremony of Thomas
- it was very generous of you to be so complimentary about so many aspects of your stay

I have looked into the allocation of your room which was one of the limited number that we provide in a separate corridor of the hotel . It is my understanding that we did confirm that this was the only room available at the time of your booking and I do assure you that we would have re-allocated you if it had been possible

i very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next you are in the area

Kind Regards

Tony Horsfall - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while travelling to the Wales Comic Con. I was surprised with the room, a decent size and had 2 double beds, although the second bed had no headboard whatsoever so it wasn't great for relaxing in.

The hotel was actually very hard to spot! Its's right on the motorway and doesn't have great signs, we nearly drove past the small road to turn in! It's right next to a McDonalds, which I spotted first.

I ate in the restaurant, which is like a big conservatory, the ceiling was completely covered with blinds and some were very dirty! Not exactly what you want to look at while eating! The food was okay, nothing to complain about, slightly overpriced but hotel food always is..

The bathtub was extremely small and shallow, I couldn't stretch my legs out and the water barely covered me!

I did find the room to be very warm and stuffy during the night and there's a lack of wall sockets, I couldn't plug in all of my accessories.

But there's nothing major to complain about, it's an average hotel. It's fine for 1 night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyrant_virus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear tyrant-virus

May I take this opportunity of thanking you for taking the time to post your recent review

Whilst I really appreciate you enjoyed staying , albeit only for one night , I am very conscious that there were certain aspects that require my attention . Please accept my assurance that I will be looking in detail at your observations without delay

I do hope that I may welcome you back to my hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Tony Horsfall - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

.Stopped here with my wife,daughter her husband and our two grand children,we had two family rooms We stayed for one night while we went to chester zoo.Although the hotel could do with a bit updating you can not fault the staff or the food which is served at the hotel.We had a meal on the night and breakfast and very nice it was.What we thought was a nice touch was that the children ate for free.Booked our tickets with the hotel and with a ten minute drive to the zoo all went well.Would definetly stay again..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladsarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear ladsarmy

I was so pleased to learn that had enjoyed all aspects of your stay in my hotel and that your grandchildren enjoyed their day at Chester Zoo

I find that the advantage with buying the tickets from my hotel , apart from saving on the prices charged at the door , is the time it saves when you get to the entrance

Many thanks again

Tony Horsfall - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night to break journey on way to Holyhead for a ferry. Hotel is tired and needs updating. The bedroom floors creak and unfortunately we were on ground floor and those in room above were moving about until after midnight. If staying ask for 2nd floor room. Those who smoke congregate outside main entrance so off putting when you have to go through them every time you go in and out. Food was average. Will look for alternatives when next in area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Robert W

Thank you for your recent review of my hotel

I was disappointed that you concluded that we only provided an average quality as our high scores on all independant websites would clearly indicate that our guests enjoy their experience here

As part of ongoing refurbishment new bedroom carpets are scheduled for delivery in June - you will appreciate that we have increased the specification of the acoustic underlay for all future fittings which will mitigate any exceptional noise . I am sincerely sorry that you were inconvenienced

I have looked at your orders for food on the evening of the 17th - the dishes of 10oz gammon and fish/chips that you chose are consistently popular and well received - there is no reference to any comments being made to my restaurant team or to reception that evening or the following morning and I therefore regret that I am unable to comment further

As you are an IHG Rewards member I do hope that you may re-consider staying here on your next stopover to Anglesey - please contact me personally when next you are planning your itinerary

Yours Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My family and I attended a Wedding reception at the hotel on Saturday 03rd May in the Vivaldi, WOW what at day, the food for the day and evening reception was fabulous the beef main course was so tender. The staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble. I would definatley be recommending this venue to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A bit of a strange location next to the service station. Check in and check out were smooth and efficient. Room was fine but there is some road noise - there is a reason it is called the Holiday Inn A55! The bar not the most welcoming room but the staff are very nice. I ate in the restaurant and the food was pretty dire. Suggest they try serving on warm plates as my meal was only just off cold. Was offered a free drink which was a nice gesture. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amberwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear amberwillow

Many thanks for your review of my hotel

I very much appreciate your complimentary comments about the quality of my reception , the standard of the bedrooms , friendliness of the team and , last but not least , the quality of our breakfasts

At the time of writing I have been unable to ascertain your date of stay - if I may trouble you to advise via gm@holidayinnchesterwest.co.uk I will ensure your further observations are looked into

Many thanks in anticipation

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived on a Saturday evening and found last place in a busy, but large and free, car park. The hotel is not near Chester but if you are on the way to North Wales it's convenient.
I had asked for a quiet room and was given it--fortunately, as there was a wedding on and presumably music in the function room. I heard none of that.

Room modern and clean, comfortable bedding, nice TV. The bathroom was compact and sitting on the loo and avoiding a bruised elbow from the toilet roll holder was a bit of an art form.However, there is little that the hotel can do about that due to original design fault. Similarly the bath is compact.

Breakfast adequate and good value at the special weekend rate.

Friendly and helpful staff. Not one of the best Holiday Inns but a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Davidius

Thank you so much for sparing the time to be so complimentary about the quality of your recent stay

I was delighted to learn that you had enjoyed the sound insulation of your bedroom and it was also pleasing to hear how you had found the room to be both modern and clean with comfortable bedding and a 26" flatscreen satellite tv

In addition I appreciated your compliments about the value of our breakfast and the friendliness of our team

I note that you last posted a review of my hotel back in January 2007 - please don't leave it another seven years to return !

Many thanks again

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Address: Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing