We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very adequate stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Very adequate stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2007

This hotel is comparable with a Holiday Inn Express or Premier Travel Inn except that it has a restaurant. It's design and facilities are not really up to the standards of a Holiday Inn. That said, there is nothing seriously wrong and it is a more than adequate place to stay. The rooms are modern but compact. As a platinum Priority Club member we were not upgraded and I suspect there is nothing to upgrade to...however, we were presented with a very acceptable half bottle of Chilean merlot and that was well meant and accepted!

Check-in was efficient, quick and friendly.

The room was initially very cold and we struggled with the air con system. After a call to reception, we mastered the drop down controls--why not post the instructions clearly in the handbook or on the wall mounted unit? Once the room warmed up and this took a while----this was a winter Monday and the room had not been occupied at the weekend----we were cosy and the Air con unit was quiet and efficient.

The restaurant is well staffed and the main courses were excellent--the rice pudding desert which I had, less so. Breakfast was not as varied as some of the best Holiday Inns but it was pleasant nevertheless.

Chester is about ten miles away and there is a good park and ride service about 8 miles away. Reception staff will provide you with helpful written instructions. The hotel is situated on the westbound side of the A55 dual carriageway so you have to drive 2 miles west and then head back east towards Chester, but the instructions are clear and easy to follow.

The staff are very helpful and friendly but this is not a top-of the-range Holiday Inn. It is a reasonable overnight stop.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — cold room at first
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    172
    101
    24
    20
See reviews for
150
142
24
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2006

A Holiday Inn with character.Helpful ,cheery staff.Good quality food in a bar or restaurant setting.Free parking also.You can be shopping in the Cheshire Oaks discount outlets in less than twenty minutes.Liverpool or Manchester within an hour.I urge you to stay here !!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Just go !
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2006

Stayed here for one night over Easter after reading the reviews and went for the B&B rate of £54 and was a little disappointed. The staff were super and did their best to make you feel welcome and the beds and linen were clean but the rest of the room and corridors left something to be desired. Rubbish from the previous guests were by the bed, old soap was in the bathroom cloth container. The A/C did not work properly and the carpet was stained. The corridors were dark and felt grimy. Breakfast was a good selection although the fruit looked past its best. Would only stay again if Travel Inns in the area were full.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank screen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2006

We bravely selected this hotel after scanning the Trip Advisor web site and opting for this location in favour of one that cost over double the amount per night and based on only one review at the time of booking.

It's always nice to find more than one review singing a hotel's praises and I have to say this hotel is a real bargain. The building is modern and in a small services park with McDonalds, an OK Diner and petrol station right next to the A55.

The room and bathroom were both large and clean and of a very high standard and the room had it's own air conditioning unit. For dinner there was a restaurant with prices of around £10-£16, bar meals with prices around £6 or room service if required.We opted for the bar meal and were very impressed. The drinks prices were also very reasonable. Every member of staff we spoke to was polite and seemed genuinely happy to help.

Overall this is a great place to stay. The only negative points would be that it is quite a long way from Chester city centre (about 10 miles) and on a main road with lorries going past 24-7 but if these two things don't bother you then it's well worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sabsharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Chester West hotel for a weekend break after reading the earlier review. I have to say i agree with everything mentioned.

I wasn't expecting much due to it's location, (a service area on the A55) however i was pleasantly suprised. Our room was very nicely decorated, very clean and of a decent size.

When we arrived there was a wedding reception being held at the hotel so unfortunately non-wedding party guests were not allowed full use of the bar facilities and the usual restuarant. However a temporary restuarant was setup in one of the smaller function rooms to cater for us, which was fine. The food served was of a very high standard and i would highly recommend it.

The usual restuarant (also used for breakfast) is a lovely conservatory area that felt really bright and airy.

An excellent hotel and great value for money. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, Derbys UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2005

Only stayed 1 night but took advantage of the bed and breakfast deal (on the Holiday Inn website).
The room was 'very nice' - the usual good Holiday Inn standard, with all expected facilities, coffee/tea in room, extra pillows, quilts, hairdryer etc.
The room was a smoking room (we spotted an ashtray!), but it smelt and looked clean and aired out.
The bathroom was a real joy to use as the soaps/showergel were branded -(Dove and Lux).
The breakfast was superb ( a good choice, full English and pastries, fruit, cereals etc) and 'hot' toast and even though the place was very busy with a wedding party, my husband and I did not have to wait for any service.
The hotel is right next to the A55 and admittedly the traffic could be heard while we had the windows open (we were overlooking the A55), but once the windows were closed we used the aircon and all was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mrspaulaoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
0.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
6.8 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Property: Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Address: Holiday Inn 55 Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing