We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and we will be going back”
Review of Castle House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle House B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Denbigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Wales to celebrate our first anniversary. We were originally booked into another hotel in the town but our room had been double booked. Charlie and Angie put us up at their B&B. I have to say that it's the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Attention to detail was amazing. The room was perfect in every single way. We were treated like VIPS the entire time and were made to feel extremely welcome. You can tell that they have a real passion for what they do and that they have put their heart and soul into it. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and freshly cooked, not just left out for you to serve yourself. The grounds are very well kept and lovely to walk around. History buffs will love it. We had fresh milk left out for us in the morning and evening and enough port for a couple of glasses. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone i know. well worth the 200 mile drive

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

We decided to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary with three nights at the Castle House and how right we were! The owners achieve that rare balance between making you as welcome as old friends while looking after you as pampered VIPs. The building and gardens are beautiful and impressive while the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Our room was superb with great attention to detail: a powerful hair dryer, excellent lighting, jugs of fresh milk morning and evening etc. The breakfasts are delicious - I recommend the beautifully fresh scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The location is great, easy to walk into town for a meal and a drink and plenty going on in the local area. Angie and Charlie are a great source of local knowledge and very happy to help. We are definitely going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: The house is in a quiet location so noise and street lighting etc is no problem. We stayed in the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampopo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We've just spent a weeked being thouroughly spoilt at The Castle House B & B. The house itself is charming, well it is a grade II listed building, and secluded with the most amazing views. Our bedroom was light, airy and with a huge window overlooking the valley, absolute bliss and pampering all the way from a choice of teas with fresh milk, to the chocolates and port!

Breakfast was lovely, we went for the smoked salmon and scambled eggs - a real treat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but we loved the view from the Stanley room over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenLongsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Castle House innkeepers go beyond expectations on all counts. They are warm and welcoming and their place is a delicious respite from a day of trekking around. Denbigh is a charming town to explore and Castle House makes it a great place to visit. Their breakfast was delicious and fortifies you for the entire day. Little touches like tea and biscuits in your room are so welcome. Highly recommended by this traveler!

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

When my wife and i booked at this B & B we had no idea what we were in for. The Castle House is within the Denbigh medieval city walls sitting high above the town with a beautiful view looking down on the town and the lush Welsh farming valley. Our innkeepers were amazing, so knowledgable of the town, the Castle and all the surrounding history. The full Welsh breakfast they served was prepared perfectly as well as their recommendations for the local food. We were on a family ancestry adventure and they were extremely helpful in finding local resources. They have done a beautiful job restoring their home that is a few hundred years old, it has the old charm yet the modern upgrades you want when you travel such as Wi-Fi, shower and tub and excellent climate control, from a traveler who expects a lot they get 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here for a few nights to celebrate my partners birthday,and we are so glad we chose to stay here! The cottage was huge, airy, and beautifully decorated. The bed was massive and really comfortable, plus there is no passing traffic so silent at night time. The main house is beautiful, as are the gardens. Nothing was overlooked, Angie was so friendly and helpful, coming over with scones and fresh cream when we arrived, and a bottle of milk for tea, so thoughtful!
Breakfast was delicious, loads of choice, and you are left in peace to eat and enjoy the lovely views, knowing you are more than welcome to pop your head in the kitchen if you need anything.
The house and cottages are in an outstanding area with stunning views and walks from the doorstep, we can't wait to return!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank alg20387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at Castle House B&B for two nights in February 2012 for my birthday. Castle House is absolutely fantastic and it is surrounded by amazing views. Charlie & Angie were very welcoming and friendly hosts.
We really enjoyed Denbigh as an area - there was plenty to see/do (local shops, Castles to explore) and we found lovely places to eat of an evening.
Highly recommended. We will definitely return at some point (probably summer time) to better enjoy the lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwigletandPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
17.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
65 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House B&B

Address: Bull Lane, Denbigh LL16 3LY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range: £137 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House B&B, Indulgent. Luxurious. Different. Committed to quality, attention to detail, stunning décor and breathtaking views. Castle House offers three individually designed and magnificently appointed bedrooms, a romantic lounge and a graceful dining room, with an additional 2 cottages used as annexes. Castle House featuring as part of its own splendid gardens, a significant part of Denbigh’s ancient town walls, as well as the evocative ruins of a 16th-century Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Denbigh
Castle House Bed And Breakfast
Castle House B&B Denbigh, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing