We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Accomodation in ideal setting”
Review of Castle House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Denbigh B&B and Inns
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Accomodation in ideal setting”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We have stayed in some top hotels worldwide & this is a little gem. Situated @ the end of a secluded if somewhat narrow driveway overlooking an expanse of country side our first impressions were good & we were not disappointed with what followed. A beautiful entrance hall & stairwell led us up to our tastefully decorated & spacious bedroom.
The enthusiasm energy & friendliness of Angie & Charlie is part of this great package ensuring that nothing is left to chance in their pursuit of excellence. The breakfasts were excellent & our only regret was that as we were primarily visiting our daughter the three night stay did not allow us time to sample the dinner.

A superb romantic venue visit it soon before it becomes too well known !!

Chris & John East Sussex

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
54
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Everything about Castle House is exceptional: the hosts, the building, the gardens and the town of Denbigh itself. Charlie and Angie have acquired a little corner of paradise and are happy to share with guests. Castle House is in a beautiful setting, perched on the old town walls, set in extensive gardens and woodland with ancient ruins and remarkable views all around. We had a truly memorable stay, stunning room, delicious breakfast and thoroughly lovely owners. The only downside was having to leave!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

"Much more than Bed and Breakfast".How very very true.Castle House is a fantastic house.It is so comfortable,inviting and has a real feeling of being a family home. Charlie and Angie are such great hosts who want one to enjoy every aspect of being looked after.
The location,the views,the school and the house which I thought I remembered so well when I boarded at Castle House when I was 11 years old were very familiar.The walls,the Clwyd range,the cathedral the long drive,the oarapet off top landing were the same but NOT the house.All these years later I walked up and down the main staircase,sat in Biddy Mac's room(lounge),ate in the silent rec(dining-room) and and admired the fireplaces and ceiling plasterwork.It is truly like no other B&B's.Tranquiliy,views and enormous luxurious bedrooms.
It was great to have my husband and daughter staying in my old boarding house.Where was the "White Lady"? Does she still appear.......?Breakfasts anddinners were superb.We enjoyed the Dudley room.So different! We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We received the warmest welcome from our friendly and delightful hosts Angie & Charlie during our recent three night stay. We found Castle House B&B situated in a truly unique position atop a hillside with grand views of the picturesque Vale of Clwyd and Denbigh township and surrounded by ancient city walls and castle ruins. We loved the way Angie and Charlie had restored this grade II listed former gentleman's residence especially the stylish comfortable oversized bedrooms and beautifully appointed ensuites. We really appreciated the instant powerful water pressure showers which we found to be quite rare in our UK travels. We marvelled at the attention to detail expressed in all the rooms including the magnificent dining room where we enjoyed many a fine meal during our stay. We felt just like part of the family with both Angie and Charlie and promised that we would return.
'When you come home again to Wales'...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyVroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Beautiful house, luxurious rooms, wonderfully peaceful location with spectacular views, warm and generous hosts who quickly become friends. Angie, your hostess is an excellent cook, if you are watching your weight, abandon all hope - you've no chance! This is a gem of a find - don't think about it, just book - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vista38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We stayed for 2 nights of 6 that we spent in North Wales and were greeted like members of the family . The buildings and decor need to be seen to be believed and the setting near the Castle walls with views over the Welsh countryside is outstanding. With large high quality rooms all themed the standard is very high.
The evening meals are out of this world and breakfast is excellent variety and quality.
Angie and Charlie are building up this new business and if the way we were treated is any indication, then they will make a big success. Just hope they can accept card payments soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindermereRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed at Castle House for 1 night - using it as a base to stay somewhere nice before walking up Snowdon the following day. Now we wish we'd stayed for longer and and spent more time at the house. The House is simply incredible and the hospitality offered by Angie and Charlie was lovely.

The House itself is a beautifully cared for Georgian manor house surrounded by the old Town walls which make up the boundary of the gardens. We walked along the walls and explored the old castle ruins which are all accessible only a short walk away. We stayed in the Dudley Room which was incredibly luxurious and very comfortable, with a great en-suit bathroom fitted with underfloor heating and an amazing free-standing bath giving views out the window over the mountains in the distance!

Charlie and Angie's hospitality was second to none! We were welcomed with Cream teas and left wanting for nothing! I have never felt so welcomed into a B&B before and cant recommend it enough for anyone wanting to get away for a relaxing break away in pure luxury.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
5.1 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
The Hawk & Buckle Inn
#1 of 6 in Denbigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guildhall Tavern Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House B&B

Property: Castle House B&B
Address: Bull Lane, Denbigh LL16 3LY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denbigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle House B&B, Indulgent. Luxurious. Different. Committed to quality, attention to detail, stunning décor and breathtaking views. Castle House offers three individually designed and magnificently appointed bedrooms, a romantic lounge and a graceful dining room, with an additional 2 cottages used as annexes. Castle House featuring as part of its own splendid gardens, a significant part of Denbigh’s ancient town walls, as well as the evocative ruins of a 16th-century Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Denbigh
Castle House Bed And Breakfast
Castle House B&B Denbigh, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing