We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, food and experience !”
Review of Glass Onion Cafe

Glass Onion Cafe
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Denbigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Description: A small, friendly cafe offering a place to meet, relax, watch the world go by & enjoy tasty home cooked food using fresh locally sourced produce. We don't serve 'fast food', but we do serve tasty fresh food as fast as we can. Please be aware that during busy times there may be a wait. We offer vegetarian, gluten & dairy free options - please let us know of any dietary requirements - we'll do our best to cater for you. 'Younger Customers' - may enjoy a 'Picnic Plate' - with a sandwich filled with a choice of: ham, chicken, tuna, cheese, egg. With salad/vegetable pieces, fruit, crisps. A fruit juice, milk or milk shake & a sweet treat!! (highchair & booster seat available). Dogs are welcome in our outside eating area. Can't stay? Take it away! Telephone orders welcome. We use recyclable takeout containers, cups, straws. Outside Catering...From a platter of freshly made sandwiches to something more elaborate, we would love to assist you with any catering requirements you may have.
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Pre booked a table for 6 for three generations of family after visiting a local museum. Were made to feel so welcome and relaxed. Ordered a range of food, all freshly prepared and clearly using great quality ingredients and made with enthusiasm. Couldn't resist cakes to follow which were equally delicious including the 'experimental' dark chocolate and fresh cherry cake which everyone in the party sampled and enjoyed. Thank you for looking after us so well and for completing a lovely family day out !!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Trainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful with a personal touch.... open on a Saturday afternoon where many shops around it were shut. Lovely home baking and fresh sandwiches made to order.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Ina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We regularly visit the glass onion cafe. Always busy at lunch time, the menu is fresh and whomesome. Great soups, sandwiches, omelettes, frittatas and salads.
The salads have a good selection of salad veg and fruit and the frittata are filling with veggie and meat choices.
Coffee is great. The owner Sue is the friendliest cafe owner ever. It's a lovely, eclectic place to sit in or outside on a sunny day.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank digglediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We called in for a coffee before hairdressers as we were early. Lovely outside searing area with lovely little gardens. Coffee was lovely and before came with a free piece of toast. After the hairdressers I took my daughter and granddaughter for late lunch. My three year old granddaughter had a great children’s meal which was really healthy. We had toasties which were delicious. Staff were so friendly and so helpful and the cafe had a great atmosphere. It was really quirky too. Highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 140AngelaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My Guilty Pleasure in this gorgeous weather is a pot of tea and a bacon butty from Sue at The Glass Onion. Sitting outside vape in hand I can watch the world go by as I devour every last morsel of said bacon butty made with lovely bread and bacon and real butter. It is a gem in Denbigh and the best place in town on a summers day. In the winter we are also well catered for with delicious home made soups (the French Onion Soup is to die for). Have been too busy to visit recently but I will definitely return

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Nia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Onion Cafe also viewed

 
Llandyrnog, Denbigh
 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 

Been to Glass Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing