We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully romantic and tranquil location”
Review of Hafod Elwy Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hafod Elwy Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denbigh
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully romantic and tranquil location”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and found a beautiful hotel in a picturesque setting. We stayed for four days and these were the most relaxing four days we have ever had on holiday. On arrival we were welcomed by Roger and Wendy, who immediately made us feel at home. The room was amazing, with a lovely four-poster bed, nice views and an amazing en-suite bathroom. The hotel was in a secluded area, whch provided tranquility and the opportuntity for peaceful walks in the countryside. The food was great and I well recommend the lamb, expecially as it is all local produce. Larger towns and Snowdon were a short drive away, allowing for shopping, eating out and further walking.

We would definitely stay here again and could not recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: The Bran is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
9
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, Devon
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I stayed at Hafod Elwy Hall a while ago and decided to go back alone this time. I cannot stress enough how wonderful my time is there. Wendy and Roger are the best hosts, Roger is a fantastic cook, Wendy is great to be with, fun, full of knowledge and both are extremely friendly.
The room I was in overlooked the front lawn with stunning views, I had my own bathroom with beautiful huge bath, shower, sink and toilet. The towels were gleaming white as were the sheet and duvet cover. Everyhere was so clean and tidy but not uninvitingly so.
Beautiful real log fire in the lounge at night. Extremely comfortable furniture, freedom to come and go during the day. The variety of tea, coffee, etc in the room was amazing.

I would reccommend Hafod to everyone who fancies a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We booked this hotel on the spur of the moment on a Friday afternoon. We managed to book into the last available room which was lucky as we had our dog. We arrived and were greated by the owner who was most welcoming and gave us a tour around the house. Our dog stayed in her crate downstairs where she was happy to curl up and sleep. Our room was a large room with bags of character and a large old four poster (extremely comfortable). This was complimented with a large en-suite bathroom which again was full of the character of the house.
Breakfast was with the other guests in the halls old dining room, this ranged from a full English of which was all locally produced to all the other options available. The option for dinner was given however we did not go but the menu looked very appetising. The views are second to none looking west towards Snowdonia ( Betws-y-coed is about 10 miles away) There were a number of walks available ranging from a short hike to 8 milers around the nearby lakes.
All in all we had a great stay at the hall, very easy going owners who looked after us and the other guests were very friendly. Great for a trip to snowdonia or just to get away for some rural luxury, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't forget your walking boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therealwith, Owner at Hafod Elwy Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
THank you for the kind review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for a weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was impeccably clean, very pleasantly furnished and extremely comfortable. The bedding and towels were of high quality, and the bathroom well appointed with useable toiletries.
Meals, cooked with organic produce from the Hall farm, were delicious and exactly what we needed after a couple of long walks.
The location of the Hall is fabulous - with big views over to the Snowdonia range and twinkling blue lakes within walking distance.
The weekend here far exceeded expectations, and we'd definitely return to Hafod Elwy for another weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingwithDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed here for one night - last minute.

Wendy and Roger the owners are both lovely people.. as for the Hotel - that was amazing, set in a very secluded location, with breathtaking views.

I would give this place 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Hafod is located in rural north wales, on a working farm providing great food, the only thing not from the farm is the chicken we had one evening for dinner. Lovely lounges with huge fires, very snug and homely. Roger and Wendy are inviting without being too intrusive, our room Bran was enormous with four poster bed. Would definately recommend for those looking for quiet relaxing break and enjoy walking.
It was very enjoyable coming back to Hafod after a long walk. Bring your own wine (booze) as no liquor license.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I have just stayed at Hafod Elwy Hall for 2 nights and I certainly agree with all of the other reviews; it was simply great! We wanted a base to trek up Snowdon and this was further than we wanted to be from Llanberis but I’m so glad we stayed there.

The rooms, location, food, ambience and overall hospitality were absolutely first class. Seldom have I been anywhere and felt so comfortable and at ease.

I would highly recommend this establishment and certainly intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denbigh
9.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
311 reviews
16.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
7.5 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
541 reviews
12.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafod Elwy Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafod Elwy Hall

Property: Hafod Elwy Hall
Address: Bylchau | Hiraethog, Denbigh LL16 5SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Denbigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denbigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hafod Elwy Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful scenery, exceptional comfort, food grown on our own land, 5 star quality at 4 star prices, space and tranquility are just some of the reasons why guests rate us '10 out of 10'. Multi award winning, spacious rooms, real log fires, truly starlit skies, and our welcome is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hafod Elwy Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafod Elwy Hall Denbigh, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing