We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This a really difficult one to review - On one hand the welcome was great, the room was comfortable and the little extras in and around the room were a real treat - Free wifi, newspaper, little carafe of port, jar of shortbread. On the other, the service at times was shoddy and lots of little things went wrong - Wrong order at breakfast, empty plates left on table for 10 minutes, wifi not working for 24 hours etc. While I'd be petty to get too worried about things in isolation, they start to nag as they stack up.

The room itself was pleasant and comfortable if a little small, the bathroom was excellent but slightly bizarrely, possibly as big as the room itself. The food we had was excellent - It's a quality restaurant - But you have to remember that the hotel is a little isolated and if you decide you want to eat something a bit different or do so in a different atmosphere, you're going to need a taxi. I think location is this hotels weakest point as it's really no near to anything other than the airport! (Do not worry about noise from the airport, it's infrequent and only during the day)

Overall I think we were just a little unlucky with some of the peripheral things, it IS a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShoreRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    74
    16
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
276
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked a night when the special offer was running, £220 for a suite, dinner with drinks and wine, champagne, flowers and breakfast. The room was outstanding, the food was lovely and the overall experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is not your average hotel. The value for money is quite apparent from the minute you set foot inside this gorgeous little boutique establishment. It is spotlessly clean with a set of staff who can't do enough for you no matter what time of day or night or how busy they are. The food is outstanding and incredibly reasonable, you can eat for just over £10.00 in the bar and you won't be disappointed or indulge yourself in the restaurant and you will be blown away for a mere £20.00 per head. The rooms are 5 star with the comfiest bed ever, comp drinks and luxury bathroom goodies. There are too many attention to detail touches to mention..... Breakfast is a feast for the eyes let alone the stomach. A really fabulous place to stay and I guarantee you will not regret booking here or be able to fault it in any way!

Room Tip: Go for the premium room with a balcony and enjoy sipping the free port or tea and fresh coffee with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrshughes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have just returned from a short break at The Farmhouse. We had the most fabulous time there. All the staff were great and the room was superb, very large and spotlessly clean. We are looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommend .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomf459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

In April last year we visited The Farmhouse for one of their 3 night breaks, loved it so much we booked again for this year, around Valentines Day. Our stay was better than last time, which is amazing seeing as last year we had such a fabulous time and didn't think it could be topped, but the hotel did. Our breakfasts in the morning were served by Christof, always with a lovely friendly smile and a helpful manner, he even made the effort to know all of the guests names and would wish us a good day at the end of our meal, our warmest thanks and appreciation for his attentiveness, it was a pleasure to see his smiling face in the morning. Must also make mention for the breakfasts, very yummy, in particular the cooked breakfast and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs can be highly recommended. It was also good to see Donna again, welcoming us with a warm smile, recognition from last year and a hug too, plus always willing to help with any questions, such a lovely friendly lady. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we were shown to the bar for a complimentary drink, which was much appreciated after a very early start that day. Once we checked in to room 12, the large suite shown in the hotels promotional pictures, we were very pleased with what we found, the room was gorgeous, had everything we needed and the bathroom was huge. Our welcome was a half bottle of verve cliquot champagne and strawberries, very nice. We also had a balcony, although it was a bit cold to use, had lovely views across to the next door farm and it's Guernsey cows. Can thoroughly recommend the yummy butterfly shaped shortbread biscuits on the tea/coffee tray, replenished daily. Although we didn't eat in the hotel for our 3 day break each day, we did have lunch on our arrival day, which was very good and I must admit we did try one of the afternoon teas on offer which was just divine, you really must try it, lovely finger sandwiches, four different types of small cakes plus 2 small scones with home made jam and cornish clotted cream, heaven! Another indulgence was trying room service, we ordered a Farmhouse burger with chips and side salad to share, the burger was so tasty and the chips just right, crisp outer and fluffy inside. All in all, must say to Rowen, please again thank your staff for another fabulous stay, we relaxed totally, did nothing other than lazy walks, drives around the island, just what the doctor ordered. As before, we have booked already for another visit and look forward to seeing you all again later this year. To anyone reading this review, please try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Suite Room 12, huge with fabulous bathroom, big bath and separate shower, loads of mirrors, toiletri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestSussexTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our friends and families regularly visit the island and have stayed in various hotels on the island, but everyone now books into the Farmhouse. The rooms are beautiful, it's reasonably priced and the staff are brilliant- really efficient but very friendly. They also arrange hire care-inclusive rates and shuttle bus front he airport.The food is also excellent and Sunday lunches are particularly wonderful. Lots of lovely finishing touches eg. complimentary drinks in the room, luxurious products and fantastic attention to detail in the decor. Super hotel thoroughly deserving of its tripadvisor status.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice big feature bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessybee_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We ended up staying in 2 different rooms during our stay due to the heating not working in room 4. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was so nice.
We were moved to the 'honetmoon suite' (12) which was again beautifully decorated and had a large bathroom with shower and bath, we were both catered for!!
Would definatly stay again.
All the staff were very helpful but the breakfast waiter was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road not that it is a busy one and say if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Saviour
1.9 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse Hotel

Property: The Farmhouse Hotel
Address: Route des Bas Courtils, Saint Saviour GY7 9YF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Saint Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse is a family-owned boutique hotel with a rare and wonderful mix of qualities - country house character blended seamlessly with the highest standards of contemporary comfort and design. Lovingly restored from a 15th century farm, the hotel combines the warmest of welcomes and exceptional service with award-winning cuisine and luxurious accommodation. Set in extensive grounds amongst the scenic Guernsey countryside, just minutes from beautiful sandy beaches, spectacular cliff walks and the island's busy capital, The Farmhouse provides the perfect destination for short breaks and walking holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Hotel Guernsey
The Farmhouse Hotel Guernsey/Saint Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing