We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed at the Farmhouse for 1 night before heading out to Herm and then Sark for a week. The location is very convenient for the airport (we actually walked round with our bags, which was quite easy) although it's then around 20 minutes into St Peter Port by bus. The buses are a great way to get around though as any single journey only costs 60p, even right round the island!
We arrived at around 8.30am after an early morning flight from the UK and were expecting to just drop our bags, thinking our room wouldn't be available until later in the day. Not a bit of it! We were offered breakfast first of all (which actually didn't appear on our bill when we left!) and the room was ready for us by 9.30 - having been up since 4.30 that morning, this was most welcome and a wonderful surprise! The breakfast was also easily the best we had for our entire 8 day holiday.
We booked for a meal in the restaurant that evening and opted for their seafood special at £25 per person, including a glass of champagne, starter with prawns, crab and lobster, sea bass main and a choice of puddings. Pretty good value and a good standard. The only slight blemish was the service, which was a little lacking - we had to ask twice for both some bread with the starter and a jug of tap water. This however was the only blemish on our stay - the room was wonderful with a bath in the room as well as a separate en-suite shower room. It was all very comfortable with large plasma TV, very large bed, and newly refurbished en-suite with lovely tiles and fittings.
Overall we would heartily recommend this as a romantic and convenient place to stay in Guernsey. It's so easy to get around by bus on Guernsey that it doesn't matter that it's out of town and the country setting is actually a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scratch113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for The Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

The Farmhouse is near the airport, but it didn't really affect our stay. There were no functions -- glad a prior reviewer mentioned that, for future reference -- so it was nice and quiet every one of the three nights we were there. Food was excellent, very nice setting, staff is terrific. We really enjoyed it. The room was lovely, we stayed in Room #2, which had plenty of room and a beautiful luxury bath.

The only thing that was a disappointment was that the pool was not heated. At first, when we spoke to the front desk about it, the young woman told us it was solar, and someone left the top off, so the heat leaked out. Well, then she told us it was, in fact, heated with a heater, but it was warming up. Forget it, I put my hand in every day, and it was never heated. Perhaps because it was cloudy, they figured no one would use the pool, and they didn't bother. That...or the Brit's have a stronger constitution than I do, because it was cold! The extra insurance or taxes or whatever for the car cost us a little money, but it didn't matter to us. We would stay again -- after checking about the functions!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellengloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at the Farmhouse for 3 nights during for our Honeymoon. We had read reviews that the 'free car' was not free because of hidden costs - we arrived at the airport and paid £45 for excess for the 3 days and it was well worth it. The car was brilliant on diesel and the ideal size to zip round the island.

We were not disappointed with the Farmhouse - nothing is too much for the staff to do for you. They recommended a beautiful walk along the cliff tops. The restuarant was brilliant -everything was fresh and tasty on their menu and the selection for breakfast is excellent. I've never seen such big mulberries!

Our room was tastifully decorated. The bed was big and comfortable - the room was spotless and the bathroom was gorgeous.

In the afternoon you can sit by the pool and have a dip (it's heated) - very relaxing.

All in all this was 10 out of 10 for us!! :o)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We have taken the family to the Farmhouse for the second Sunday in a row and would thoroughly recommend it. It is possible to book a table on the terrace/in the garden in good weather (although book early - they fill up quickly). We have 2 young children who are hard to keep amused during a lazy lunch out and the combination of the lovely grounds and the swimming pool which is open to those dining at the hotel means that they ask to come back every week! There is a set menu on a Sunday and the dishes change weekly. The standard of food is superb.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Latecomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

top marks very freindly polite clean good food for better than some of THE PRIDE OF BRITAIN HOTELS we have stayed in.would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notsosouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed for 5 nights, using Guernsey as a jumping off point to take the ferry to Sark and Herm (which are both stunning). The Farmhouse staff are extremely welcoming and helpful, the rooms are gorgeous - with amazing bathrooms - and the restaurant is charming, while serving lovely food at reasonable prices. All in all, a real winner!

We chose a boutique room - the smallest on offer - and this was larger than any other room we've ever had elsewhere. Complimentary fudge, chocs, fruit and bottle of fizzy was a nice touch, alongside nice biscuits with the tea making facilities.

Everything is good on the restaurant menu, but the salmon, scallops and cheese board were especially noteworthy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank avidtravellerDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My company use this hotel a lot and my staff all raved about it. Having tasted the food, what I really wanted to try were the rooms which were refurbished Winter 2007. I was not at all disappointed. We booked a room each and each was individual, quirky but elegant and the finish is really good. I will be booking one of the rooms with in-room bath next time. Service was excellent as always (best coffees on the island). Will be taking my husband for a night away as soon as the spa opens...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Saviour
3.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
607 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse Hotel

Address: Route des Bas Courtils, Saint Saviour GY7 9YF
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Saint Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Saviour
Price Range: £78 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse is a family-owned boutique hotel with a rare and wonderful mix of qualities - country house character blended seamlessly with the highest standards of contemporary comfort and design. Lovingly restored from a 15th century farm, the hotel combines the warmest of welcomes and exceptional service with award-winning cuisine and luxurious accommodation. Set in extensive grounds amongst the scenic Guernsey countryside, just minutes from beautiful sandy beaches, spectacular cliff walks and the island's busy capital, The Farmhouse provides the perfect destination for short breaks and walking holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Hotel Guernsey
The Farmhouse Hotel Guernsey/Saint Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing