We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The best meal I have ever had. From start to finish perfection! Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    143
    60
    23
    10
See reviews for
289
1,466
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and did the Cookery Course, a birthday present for my wife.
This was the most wonderful experience as are all the Orient-Express Group Hotels.
From the Cleaner to the GM everyone feel privileged to work for Raymond, a gentleman with a great gift exceeding expectations.
Nothing was too much trouble, with the staff quickly remembering your names, and made you feel very special.
We were spoilt with the Eugnie suite, which was like being on holiday in a wonderful French farmhouse.
The gardens are amazing with each statue having a special story.
The food was the best I have tasted and the service without compare.

Room Tip: All the rooms are all special, choose the best you can afford as you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumquamCedimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was treated to a night here for my 40th birthday. I am a lucky person!

As soon as you leave your car your suitcases are whisked away from you and appear in your room later. By the time we had walked to the front door someone greets you with your names. This just makes you feel very important and that is exactly how this hotel makes you feel. The room was wonderful with a huge bathroom and fresh fruit left in your room. We had a delicious fig and plum, yum!

Then we went round the garden which is marvelous! You can pay to have a tour of the garden which was fascinating if you are gardener. The gardens are really beautiful and there are many different types of garden.

Then there was the evening food! Every course was tasty, the sorbets were incredibly smooth, the meat perfectly cooked, the combination of flavours exquisite, the choice of 10 different breads incredible. The service was impeccable not pushy and certainly not in your face. They seemed to time plate taking to perfection with such grace.

The breakfast was equally amazing, someone else mentioned the tiny poached eggs but they give you 2 and somehow they manage to cook them brilliant and put a few small slashes in the white part without breaking the yolk.. I still wonder how they did this! There are so many choices of compotes, fruit, bread, meat (including a full pig's leg) and cheese.

Clearly this place is really pricey and if I was a millionaire I would practically live here ;) Sadly I might have to wait another 40 years for a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ademander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was taken here as a surprise birthday present which could not have been surpassed. From the moment you step foot out of your car you are made to feel very welcome and very special. The actual property is just beautiful and the gardens are amazing, I have never seen anything like them. The room was old but modern in terms of the facilities and they think of everything from the maderia wine (not to my taste), the fruit, the flowers and the custom 'Manoir' CD playing quietly in the background. The food as you would expect was exceptional and the service impecible. We took some bikes (freely available at the front entrance) and cycled around the local village - all very picturesque and had a game of croquet. I normally like to stay in places with a gym, spa and pool as I am an activities person however as a one night special get away I cannot see how this could be beaten. For me a real experience but I hate to think of the bashing the wallet took.......

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel and restaurant and exceeds expectations in every way. It’s near impossible to call Le Manoir a hotel as you feel like royalty from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave.

The staff have impeccable manners and cater for your every need (or whim).
We stayed in the Snow Queen suite complete with a small a garden area. The design of the room is exquisite, from the silk wall paper to the cushions on the bed (which I must add where straightened when we left the room!) every detail and consideration has been given to the theme.

There even was a first edition book by Hans Christian Andersen open at the Snow Queen story placed on a podium. There were also Snow Queen pictures on the walls and quartz stones (which resemble snow) on the dressing and bedside tables. A truly beautiful room.
Despite the rain (umbrellas are provided in the lobbies) we toured the gardens. The vegetables are amazing, it inspires you to have your own plot but you know yours would never come anywhere close to Le Manoir’s. There are several garden “areas” and the Japanese garden has to be my favourite, it’s is like being transported (if you could forget the drizzle) to a foreign land. Again detail has been made to each and every area.

We opted for Raymond Blanc's five course Les Classiques du Manoir evening meal which was truly superb. We asked the sommelier to choose our wine which proved rewarding as it complimented the food brilliantly. We could fault nothing and remained in awe of each plate which was presented. Oh to be able to cook and eat like this every day!

I should add at this point I have attended a fish cookery day at Le Manoir’s which I don’t think I’ve ever bragging to people about even though it was over 8 years ago!

I can’t rave about the hotel enough, I wish I could return every month but maybe that’s what keeps this place unique as it is best saved for special occasions. Many might not be able to afford to stay but lunch is a good alternative, you can still visit the gardens and experience the charm and magic that makes Le Manoir one of the finest hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

From the minute we arrived in the car park until our departure some 24 hours later we were totally spoilt! We cannot say enough good things about our too short visit.

The staff are excellent, attentive and polite, the buildings and public rooms are well designed and bedroom was wonderfully fitted and decorated.

We had the 7 course dinner and all the courses were excellent in design, texture and flavour.

Can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We visited for dinner only , and had the tasting menu , around 7 courses. All were beautifully cooked, presented, with perfect balance of flavours, textures, and interesting pairings, too.

The house is simply stunning, too. Service was a little fussy at times, with, as with so many high end restaurants, simply too many waiters bustling around, but considering we were eating for over 2.5 hours, it was never intrusive, and always professional.

We'll be going back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethjmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
698 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,710 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing